We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barbeque Rib Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of C Tavern Smokehouse Grille - CLOSED

C Tavern Smokehouse Grille
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub
Restaurant details
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
459 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Barbeque Rib Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had the 1/2 rack of barbeque ribs ($10) served with a generous portion of fries and baked beans and a salad, served with garlic rolls in oil. Ribs were very good. 1/2 of a rack for dinner was an ample portion. There was only one server , and he was very nice , but seemed new at what he was doing. Restaurant is furnished sparingly but was very clean. Waiter stated that they would be getting a wood fire oven to make pizza soon. Spoke to another couple who stated the spaghetti and calamari were both very good. All meals were moderately priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAT_AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Happened to see the chalkboard out front for a Sunday Brunch so thought we would give it a try. The Hostess told us that they have been serving Sunday Brunch since Mother’s Day. The brunch appears to be the only item available on Sunday since we were not given the opportunity to even look at a regular menu. Would have been nice to at least see what we were missing and decide if we would like to go again some other time to try some other items. This family oriented smokehouse and grill has a nice atmosphere. The restaurant was clean and decorated nicely. Service was very good even though not a lot for a server to do when the only meal available is a self serve brunch buffet. Our hostess was, however, very attentive. She seated us, brought our drinks, and then went to the Brunch table to hold the lids of the chaffing dishes as we served ourselves. Menu items included: Beef Brisket, carved ham, bacon, sausage, eggs benedict, pancakes, scrambled eggs, corn fritters, home fried potatoes, fresh fruit, tiramisu, sticky buns, smoked salmon, assorted cold salads, and pasta with marinara sauce.
The facebook page for the Grille quotes the price as $17.00 per person, although I believe we were charged $15.00 per person plus drinks. The Sunday Brunch is served 11am-3pm. Not sure I would return for a Sunday brunch but the next time I am in the area I would like to give their menu items a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cuddaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this establishment many times and have always good food and service! Last week was no different. High quality food at good prices!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lordstown, oh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

recently went to C tavern and was delightfully surprised. The new owners have done it right. The food was very tasty and the service couldn't be better. The french fries were hand cut and serviced hot and crispy with a flaky inside. perfect. I had a veggie flatbread sandwich and it was great! The veggies were well done and grilled in the flatbread. Yum. My husband prides himself on being an onion ring connoisseur and he said they were the best he has had! If you are in the area, be sure to stop in for a great meal served by wonderful staff. Also check out the sketches on the wall. The Stevie Ray Vaughn one is mine next time!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greentearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C Tavern Smokehouse Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing