We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Mill Winery

Old Mill Winery
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were on our way to Geneva-on-the-Lake and saw Old Mill Winery. We were looking for a place to eat outside so we stopped since they had an outdoor patio. I ordered a beer which came fairly quickly. My friend ordered a glass of wine that didn't come until after our food was served. But then when it came there were food crumbs in it. She returned it and they brought her a new one, but still charged her for it. She liked the Geneva Blanc wine. The food was not very good and was over priced. I ordered a burger, but it seemed like a pre-frozen hamburger patty. It cost $10 and came with chips. My friend ordered $12.99 tilapia that was just ok and came with a 1/2 ear of corn and 4 pieces of potatoes. Definitely not worth the price. I would not go back to this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cute rustic winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are in the Geneva are and checking out the wineries, add this place to your list. It is very rustic inside, especially in the winter. They have great wines to select from, whether it's red or white or sweet or dry. We didn't have any of the food, so I can't say anything about it. But definitely try the wine!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude and tacky.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stopped in while visiting local wineries. When we said there were 6 of us, the bartender immediately scoffed at us. We requested to sit outside (the inside is dark and dingy). The bartender stormed off and came back muttering "outside just isn't going to happen, not gonna happen" even though there were several open tables outside. No offer to wait at the bar, nothing. Not an ounce of hospitality from this place, I would NOT recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

After visiting covered bridges and a few wineries on a very rainy day, we were anxious to get inside out of the weather and have a casual, relaxing meal. The Old Mill Winery was exactly what we were looking for. The menu is not extensive by any means, but the food was delicious and the service very good. Many menu items are cooked outside on a charcoal grill. There was also a wide selection of beer, cocktails and their own wine. The atmosphere is rustic, but fun - everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awblenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We recently had lunch at the Old Mill Winery. It was a cute place with a fun atmosphere. The service and food were both excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaburSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mill Winery also viewed

 

Been to Old Mill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing