We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gallipolis
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in June 2013. Hotel is dirty and outdated. Price was $75 per night,which I felt was expensive for the level of cleanliness. Front desk staff not overly helpful. I will not stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank TerrBerr1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsuper8gallipolis, General Manager at Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

I do apologize if you werent happy at our location. However, to be honest I am not sure you stayed at our location. Our rooms have just been upgraded with new fixtures, furniture and beddings. And I have the friendliest staff of any hotel in the area. And we recently were inspected by our home office and the rooms were found clean with no dust even. But everyone has their views thats what makes life interesting. Thank you for your time, I apologize if this is harsh but I take exception to views that are not accurate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 529 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Have avoided Motel 8 and similar value brands for over 20 years. Was nicely surprised by our room, 200 was unexpectedly large, and included a jacuzzi tub, well furnished. The a/c didn't blow cold and the windows are so filthy you can't see out. There appears to be new carpet though out the motel. Better than I expected.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazmwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renea h, General Manager at Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for the review. I appreciate the note on the ac unit. It has been replaced, sometimes we don't know those things if not reported. The windows however are tinted a slight brown to keep sun out in that room, that might be why there was trouble seeing. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
renea h, General Manager at Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was the first hotel I have stayed in that hard wood floors!! Super clean and sleek looking. Room was clean and comfortable. The only thing I didn't care for was the springy texture of the bed (not unbearable...but could be a lil more comfy) and the shower head was a little low but then again I'm kinda tall haha. I would totally stay here again! Clean, quiet, nice staff, and great price. I was even allowed to have my dog (for an extra fee of course) but still, her cage fit perfectly under the sink :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renea h, General Manager at Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and as far as the mattresses, those are new mattresses pillow top. Its hard to find a mattress that fits everyones likes but hopefully it wasnt too bad. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
renea h, General Manager at Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here June 12 for one night on way from NC to Iowa. The area felt like middle of nowhere. There is a Roy Rogers next door and maybe a few other places around but otherwise not much.

The hotel looks dated at first but rooms have been redone and we're pretty nice. They had hardwood floors and we're pretty clean. The colors were a bit dated but the room worked fine for one night.

The room had a small microwave and fridge. We didn't use them but they seemed okay.

The sink area is separate from the bathroom. It had only one sink. The bathroom was okay and worked fine. The tub was a little slow to drain when running the shower but the water pressure was okay and hot water okay.

There was a safe right by the door for you to lock valuables in. We didn't use it.

The room had a hair dryer that worked fine. Also had iron and ironing board but e didn't use it.

The TV was flat screen and worked okay. The picture quality not great but it purpose sad to rest and not watch TV.

The AC worked fine. Since this is an older hotel the room didn't have extra electrical outlets. You had to unplug lamps and stuff to plug in your phone to charge.

The queen beds in our room were not the most comfortable. My wife's back was hurting by the time we got up. It was manageable for one night but if you have back problems you might want to find a better bed. This was really our only complaint.

The room was nonsmoking and did not smell of smoke.

Check in and out was fine and service desk people were nice. We arrived around 3:30am and the young lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful.

At checkout we requested extra time and they accommodated so people were great to work with you.

Since we eat organic we didn't partake of the breakfast so can't comment on that.

The Internet worked okay when we first got there but next morning we had issues. It would connect but not work. This happened on my laptop and my wife's tablet so I don't think it was our equipment.

Parking was ample and overall we had no issues here. For one night it should be okay for most people.





  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renea h, General Manager at Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. Although it left me confused, one because our location is not dated, we just renovated 60% of the hotel and 2) we do not have a Roy Rogers anywhere close. We also have several shopping opportunities just across the street from our hotel. But if you did stay at our location I apologize it wasn't to your liking. Our staff work hard to maintain the cleanliness and hospitality so that all of our guests feel at home. But again, thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
renea h, General Manager at Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallipolis
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gallipolis
Quality Inn Gallipolis
#4 of 7 in Gallipolis
115 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
Hampton Inn Gallipolis
#1 of 7 in Gallipolis
354 reviews
4.8 mi away
Knights Inn Gallipolis
Knights Inn Gallipolis
#3 of 7 in Gallipolis
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Super 8 Ripley
Super 8 Ripley
#1 of 3 in Ripley
433 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area

Address: 321 Upper River Rd, Gallipolis, OH 45631-1840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Gallipolis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gallipolis
Price Range: $83 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have renovated 46 of our original rooms which are available NOW. We have an outstanding new staff, clean rooms and a better, newly revamped Super Breakfast Bar. We do have a Hot Tub and an indoor pool, as well as a fitness room. Close to several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel or we NOW offer room service from Bob Evans Restaurant next door and right off the highway for easy access. We are the only "locally owned" chain hotel in town. For your convenience we have added refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as a free safe for your personal items. Please stop and check out the improvements and I am sure you will make this your new Hotel choice in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gallipolis PT Pleasant Area Ohio
Super Eight Gallipolis
Gallipolis Super Eight
Gallipolis Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing