We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, better options in area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gahanna
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Okay, better options in area”
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Very reasonably priced, but very much in need of a facelift. Beds, furniture and fixtures were very worn. Electrical wires on a couple of outlets were showing.

Staff wasn't very attentive to our concerns. Only stayed one night and it worked but next time will look at other options.

  • Liked — Kitchenette
  • Disliked — Service and quality of accomodations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFreqTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
27
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

The hotel room itself was great. The bed was comfortable and there was a lovely bathroom. I slept well in the very clean room.

However, there were two problems. First, a problem with the front desk. It closes between 11pm and 7am. I had to leave at 6am to catch my plane. The front desk worker said that my receipt would be left at the front desk in a holder next to the locked box in which to place my key.

The next morning, there were several envelopes waiting in the holder with the FULL tenant name. Mine was not there, but I feel using the full name was a security risk. I did drop off my key but I couldn't wait for the attendant in order to get my receipt.

The second issue is a parking lot and drive way that is full of pot holes. Right in front of the check in area outside were cones and yellow tape around a very deep pot hole. I had to park a bit away and drag my luggage toward the hotel because I couldn't get my car any closer.

I would only stay here again if I were checking out after the front desk was opened.

  • Liked — Closeness to airport and price
  • Disliked — Front desk hours
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioEeyorefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Got a very good rate to stay one night in late November. Very quiet suburban location, in a seemingly safe area. Beds were outstanding- I believe they had recently been upgraded. Several upscale and fast food
restaurants within half mile of the hotel. Common areas were clean and
well cared for. We did have a problem with the heating unit in our initial room, and within five minutes we were moved to a new room where everything was fine. I will say that the rooms themselves could use a little updating, but really, everything was acceptable. All in all, a positive experience-quiet, clean, and responsive associates.

  • Liked — location, price, very quiet
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RML-OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

I stayed in hotels about 20 nights in 2005 and this is the only time I've felt compelled to post a negative review. Front desk staff was not unprofessional but not friendly either. The room was not clean - hair all over the bathroom!! The internet was not hooked up correctly and I spent 1/2 hour on the phone with tech support getting the cables properly connected. The toilet ran all night and the kitchen sink leaked. To add insult to injury, they did not even give me priority club points for a room booked on Candlewood's own website. I have stayed at four different Candlewood Suites this year and will not be back to this one.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoTraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 2, 2003

This hotel was the BEST one I've ever been in. It had free phone calls, EVERYTHING was nice and clean!! There was a room to get pop and snacks and it was on the honor system (that you'd pay before you left)!! The rooms had a small kitchenette complete w/ plates etc...The staff were ALL pleasant and helpful. You've got to stay there if your in that area. I was impressed!!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gahanna
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus Airport Gahanna
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
#26 of 143 in Columbus
436 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites East Broad at 270
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport
Address: 590 Taylor Rd, Gahanna, OH 43230-6269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Gahanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gahanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites Hotel-Columbus Airport. Our Studio and One Bedroom suites have a fully equipped kitchen with amenities such as a full-size refrigerator with an ice maker, 2 burner range, dishwasher, and cooking and eating utensils. Relax in an overstuffed recliner, pop in a movie or listen to your favorite music from our complimentary video and CD library (a VCR/DVD Combo & CD player are provided in your room). Enjoy other complimentary services such as free local calls and high speed Internet access. Visit our on-site 24 hour convenience store, or work off some stress in our Fitness Center while you do your laundry in our complimentary laundry facility. Please don't forget your pet-we are a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). We are located near the city's major expressways and just minutes from Port Columbus International Airport, Easton, Downtown Business District, Lucent Technologies, AEP, Ohio State University, Limited Inc., DFAS, DSCC, Ohio State Fairgrounds and German Village. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are also within minutes. Sign up for our Priority Club Rewards Program during your stay-earn miles or points while you sleep! Whether you are traveling on business or just for fun-we are the hotel for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport Hotel Gahanna
Candlewood Gahanna
Candlewood Suites Gahanna
Gahanna Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport Gahanna, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing