We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
54
68
26
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
68
26
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool both dinner and breakfast family reunion nice lake hiking trails beautiful resort hot tub rented cabins fitness room rooms are nice pools woods ohio ponytail refrigerator dryer retreat
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 174 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2018

This year was the 2nd Annual golf trip for my friends and I. It's so nice to golf all day and come back to the lodge, eat supper, and relax on the balcony with drinks. This lodge is perfect for romantic getaways, family trips, group, and work trips! The decor gives the true lodge experience of being in the wilderness but with the great amenities of the lodge you can stay in the modern day. Love how there is so much to do at the lodge and the surrounding park area.

Room Tip: If you like private, quiet, outdoor balcony sitting outisde your room, request a wood view room instead of the parking lot view.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank cricketsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for your review of our lodge and golf course! We are happy to have you visit us for your 2nd annual golf trip and look forward to being a part of your annual outing for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

I stayed at the lodge for 2 nights with a birdwatching tour. The rooms were large, comfortable, clean and well appointed. There was no wifi in the rooms but it was available in the lobby. The decor of the place is sort of retro American Indian, which is cute. The setting is just lovely. The food in the restaurant was pretty good and our waitress was great. We needed to get going early in the morning so pre-ordered breakfast and it was ready for us at the appointed time.
I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff were. One of our group had a medical emergency and the staff on duty were great.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njmotmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our beautiful lodge and awesome staff! We look forward to seeing your group again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

We came for a weekend getaway and fell in love with the Lodge and the area. The retro Native American themed lodge decor centers on the SE Ohio’s long love affair with the Shawnee Indians. Beautiful murals, both in the hotel and inNearby Portsmouth, are a must-see.

The Lodge is in the middle of well-earned renovations and they are nicely done.

The staff is down-home friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming to travelers.

The Smokehouse Restaurant is top-notch, by State Park Lodge standards. The smoked brisket and Sat night prime rib are delicious. Incredibly reasonable prices.

Highly recommend, a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful part of Ohio.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank OhioG1RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

After reading other reviews we were concerned with issues described. Upon staying overnight mid-week in late September, we found everything just fine, clean room, very pleasant common areas with nice views out back of the lake, in a picturesque rustic style lodge with many amenities. Especially enjoyed Steve Free's music during our dinner in the main restaurant. Well worth a return trip. Thanks to the helpful staff.

Room Tip: Check the website and talk to desk to express your needs
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lawrence0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful visit at your lodge. Very friendly people and great customer service. Kudos to Terry the Manager (felt like I knew him my entire life), Debbie from the restaurant(I hope that's her name. Very nice lady with a long ponytail) The food was delicious!!! Connie our maid from room 307 was so sweet and helpful. It was nice to getaway from the hustle and bustle in a city and come to a very peaceful and serene atmosphere. We look forward to our next visit. Thank you for making our weekend enjoyable.
Summer and Keenan Mazion

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank summermazion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews