We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendship
Liberty Township, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the lodge while he biked the TOSRV (Tour of Scioto River Valley.) The lodge is an interesting place with wood and native American décor. While it is dated, it is also unique. The room we stayed in had a high A frame ceiling and was very clean. I would like to return for a longer trip to explore the hiking trails.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cjbjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Shawnee as your destination during the TOSRV tour. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    62
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
76
40
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center is located in Shawnee State Park. The lodge is rustic and the rooms need some upgrading. The restaurant at the lodge is the only place to eat within a 20 mile radius. The meals were mostly acceptable, however a serving of catfish, on an all your could eat night, was slightly raw and not edible, which was disturbing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit. I would like you to know that we take these issues seriously and have added additional training for our kitchen staff. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went with my husband for an overnighter. It was so relaxing; wish we could have spent more time there. The place was very clean, staff friendly and accommodating. . Huge lodge to walk around in with lots of areas to sit and look at nature, read, talk or play games. My husband got an Ohio fishing license and did some fishing. There are lots of hiking trails. Indoor pool and hot tub were well maintained. (there is also a large one outside too) Had a delicious meal in the dining room. Our room was excellent with comfortable bed and large lodge furniture to relax in.

Room Tip: our room looked out on the parking lot; we didn't really use our patio as there were so many oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Maybe you can stay longer the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in a room with two double beds and a balcony with woods view. The room was clean enough, and the beds were comfortable. It was a nice room. We were surprised to find a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room; these were not mentioned on their web site. Because we stayed mid-week we had a "senior rate" of $65. The restaurant was a bit expensive and tried to be innovative, but it was still good. We arrived after the restaurant closed at 1:30 and wouldn't open again until 5:00. They were so nice to serve us anyway and were very cordial about it. Otherwise we would have eaten peanut butter crackers from the vending machine! We were also surprised to find a continental breakfast included with our room, which we weren't even told about at check-in. The people at the front desk were cheery and cordial, maybe that was because of the very low number of guests mid-week in March. The pool was OK, and it was fun to swim looking out at the snow outside. My only peeve was that with so few guests and 50 rooms, we would have been spaced out. We had neighbors upstairs, downstairs, and to the side. The place was not too sound-proof. I would ask for a room on the 3rd floor further down the hall. We were the first room on the second floor (main floor), and everyone had to walk past our room coming and going down the hall and stairs. It did get quiet at night, but might have been unpleasant if the lodge were full.

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor down the hall would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyHein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your visit to Shawnee and for the feedback of your stay. The addition of the mini-fridge has been a hit with all of our guest. We offer great rates such as the Savvy Senior rate through out the year. When planning your next visit check out our website for all specials and information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just visited Shawnee Lodge & Conference Center as they were kicking off a rededication of the 40 year old resort. What a surprise, US Hotels is now in charge a what wonderful difference!! Total refurb with new paint, carpet, roof, cabins totally remodeled and it looks great. The food was wonderful & Chef Dave is a treat. All of the staff had smiles on their face, were very friendly & helpful. If you are looking for a place for a girls getaway, family reunion, wedding reception or office retreat, check out Shawnee..It's easy to get to and just minutes from downtown Portsmouth, Ohio if you need to do a little antique shopping or see the Portsmouth Floodwall Murals.

Room Tip: Spring & Fall time is beautiful. Not much cell service which sometimes is a plus..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissKim74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am thrilled to know that you have a great time and would thank you so much for being a part of our 40th anniversary celebration! It was a wonderful evening seeing the lodge filled with hundreds of guest laughing, chatting and enjoying the wonderful food and the tours of our beautifully renovated guest rooms and cabins. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Middletown Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in a cabin at Shawnee for a weekend getaway. The cabin was clean, modern, and comfortable. The fireplace made it super cozy. We ate in the dining room where the service was friendly and fast. Dinner was delicious.I had the prime rib. We also attended a 40th anniversary party the lodge was having while we were there. I can't remember the last time we had such a blast! They had live music, appetizers, and dancing. Everything was wonderful, and the price was right. We're already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vevay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am happy to hear of the wonderful time you had while visiting Shawnee. I must agree with your comment regarding the coziness of the fire place inside our newly renovated cabin (my personal favorite). I hope you are making plans for another visit to enjoy Shawnee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently took our children to the lodge to stay the night and swim in the pool and play games in the game room, the kids had fun although the rooms are not very clean they had been recently redone but still lack cleanliness overall it was a fun stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethMcGraw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of Shawnee Lodge. We appreciate the feedback and have re-evaluated the process and standards when cleaning our rooms and hope to have you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Seaman
Comfort Inn - Seaman
#1 of 1 in Seaman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
24.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
12.3 mi away
Super 8 Portsmouth
Super 8 Portsmouth
#3 of 6 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 4404B State Route 125, Friendship, OH 45663
Location: United States > Ohio > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, surrounded by the 63,000 acres of Shawnee Forest, is just two hours from either Columbus or Cincinnati. We offer 50 lodge guestrooms, each with a private balcony, perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. Our 25 two-bedroom cottages each come with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. The O-Hee-Yuh Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner year-round. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other activities you’ll find here include: boating, fishing, hiking, picnicking and camping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Hotel Friendship
Shawnee Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing