We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local spot with good food”
Review of Tackle Box II

Tackle Box II
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local spot with good food”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We try to avoid the chain restaurants whenever we travel, and came across this gem right along the river. It was only a few minutes drive from the main strip with all the chain restaurants, but totally worth the effort. We had the Friday night fish fry, which was good. We ate outside and had great service. The decor is cool, and much more interesting that what you get at a chain restaurant.

We highly recommend checking this place out and will do so again next time we pass through town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JensenDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    58
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“WOW! Best Perch we have ever had!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

WOW is all i can say about this place...We had visited Pres Hayes home and decided to stop here for lunch..When we ordered the perch...we were shocked at the amount we received..The light breading compliments the fish perfectly.! Paired with fries and coleslaw..you definitely won't go home hungry! Nice patio if you wish to eat outside or casual bar scene with tables if you would rather stay in.. Can't wait to visit this one again...We live 30+ minutes away but we will find a reason to head back over again soon...just for the meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblehead, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's true...best perch!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Dined at this quaint river front venue last night. Not fancy but the decor held interest, th perch was th best coming from th finicky fish eater that I am. Pricing was quite fair. Large portions... Good & hot. Great service. Owner & staff very personable. Looking forward to repeated visits!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tccarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bug Tussle
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Walleye night at Tackle Box Two”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Imagine our surprise when we went to the Tackle Box 2 and found out it was WALLEYE SPECIAL TONIGHT. For $9.95, they served me a platter of walleye, fries and slaw that was AT LEAST six inches high and as big as a loaf of bread. I waddled out of there [watch your step on the ramp and river bank] and carried home a FULL go box. Good grief! Here is ONE GOOD REASON to live near the north coast. Service was a little slow because the place was packed for the Wednesday night special, but we left smiling and full. I will be back next year during the National Matches Junior Smallbore Camp [and I may sneak over there again on Friday night for Perch night] . . . but now I have to deal with that Go Box on Thursday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyCamper409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch with the family here and since we don't have the option of eating perch and walleye where we are from we felt the need to give it a try. Its seemingly located in a residential area and initially thought my GPS was giving us the run around but eventually find this place located adjacent the river. If you are in Fremont this place is a must go. The food did not disappoint and next time we visit northern Ohio we will make every attempt to return to the tackle box.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tackle Box II also viewed

 

Been to Tackle Box II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing