We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Best Perch we have ever had!”
Review of Tackle Box II

Tackle Box II
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“WOW! Best Perch we have ever had!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

WOW is all i can say about this place...We had visited Pres Hayes home and decided to stop here for lunch..When we ordered the perch...we were shocked at the amount we received..The light breading compliments the fish perfectly.! Paired with fries and coleslaw..you definitely won't go home hungry! Nice patio if you wish to eat outside or casual bar scene with tables if you would rather stay in.. Can't wait to visit this one again...We live 30+ minutes away but we will find a reason to head back over again soon...just for the meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
marblehead, ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's true...best perch!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Dined at this quaint river front venue last night. Not fancy but the decor held interest, th perch was th best coming from th finicky fish eater that I am. Pricing was quite fair. Large portions... Good & hot. Great service. Owner & staff very personable. Looking forward to repeated visits!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tccarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bug Tussle
Level Contributor
229 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Walleye night at Tackle Box Two”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Imagine our surprise when we went to the Tackle Box 2 and found out it was WALLEYE SPECIAL TONIGHT. For $9.95, they served me a platter of walleye, fries and slaw that was AT LEAST six inches high and as big as a loaf of bread. I waddled out of there [watch your step on the ramp and river bank] and carried home a FULL go box. Good grief! Here is ONE GOOD REASON to live near the north coast. Service was a little slow because the place was packed for the Wednesday night special, but we left smiling and full. I will be back next year during the National Matches Junior Smallbore Camp [and I may sneak over there again on Friday night for Perch night] . . . but now I have to deal with that Go Box on Thursday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyCamper409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch with the family here and since we don't have the option of eating perch and walleye where we are from we felt the need to give it a try. Its seemingly located in a residential area and initially thought my GPS was giving us the run around but eventually find this place located adjacent the river. If you are in Fremont this place is a must go. The food did not disappoint and next time we visit northern Ohio we will make every attempt to return to the tackle box.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risingsun, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

If Lake Erie perch or walleye is on your tasty treat menu then this is the place to go. Tackle Box II sits right on the river on Sandusky Street. For 1st timers it's a bit hard to spot as you drive down an embankment to the bar/restaurant but it's worth the trip. This restaurant's perch dinners aren't the 4 or 5 piece variety of other restaurants. Here you have a choice of 1/2 or 1 pound dinners at a very affordable price + all their fries are hand cut just like carnival fries. When the urge for fish hits then try this place. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tackle Box II also viewed

 

Been to Tackle Box II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing