We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Favorite - Riverside Ambience”
Review of Tackle Box II

Tackle Box II
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Local Favorite - Riverside Ambience”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

As other reviewers have written, determine your route before heading out, because the Tackle Box II is not on a main road, and we didn't notice any signs until we reached the restaurant. It is located right along the river, and there is fishing going on along the dock and an occasional small fishing boat will pass by. The restaurant is well named, as it is chock-full of fishing related paraphernalia, and other objects too diverse to summarize.
Our party chose the walleye and perch sandwiches and a side of cole slaw, having heard that the dinners are really too voluminous for midday. We thoroughly enjoyed the fish sandwiches, which arrived with 3 medium size fried fillets on a large bun, with lettuce and tomato. Afterwards we went out onto the deck overlooking the water, and enjoyed the Spring sunshine.
We found the Tackle Box II a delightful stop for lunch - interesting decor, friendly and attentive service, and good fish. When we are in the area again we'll definitely stop by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RiBrown74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a drive for most of us but it was a central point. The restaurant is easy to find, if you just look at a map. Definitely a bar-type restaurant with lots of fishing gear decor. However, the food makes it a cut above what one might expect from this remote little location. There were 14 of us for dinner, ranging in age from 8 to 68. The kids went for the burgers, which were huge. The rest of us went for the fish dinners. Almost everyone had lake perch, which was REAL Lake perch - Lake Erie lake perch. I decided to go for the Lake Erie walleye. Well, the walleye was excellent. You can never tell with walleye but this was so good. The perch was excellent too. All plates, more like platters, were heaped with fish and good fries. Walleye platter, $12.95. Pound of perch, $17.95...also available in 1/2 pound for $10.95. We will definitely be back. I had leftovers for breakfast Saturday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianeoh1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lake Erie Perch is the best around!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Tackle Box is the place to go for great perch, and very reasonably priced for the area. We went on a Friday night, when perch is the special, but even on other days it's priced the lowest around. Casual atmosphere, great service....I'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shalibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
2 reviews
“Good fresh Lake Erie Perch”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Tackle Box is not easy to find but it is well worth the effort to find it if you enjoy fresh perch. We enjoyed our first experience so well that we went back with the whole family (about 20 of us) for another meal two days later. Don't expect fancy surroundings -- just as the name implies, it is a fish-lovers paradise. Think fishing and tackle box! But -- you will love the food. The first time I enjoyed the perch sandwich with a side salad -- four beautiful fillets of perch on a bun with a large salad of mixed greens and sliced hard-boiled egg. Uhm, uhm, good! The second time I got the one half pound of perch with fries (I should have ordered the side salad-- the fries were way too much to eat). No one in the family had any complaints and the service with friendly and quick. If you get a chance, give it a try -- a unique experience of good food and interesting ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilfalco60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossford, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place for Lake Erie Perch”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We make the 30 minute drive to Tackle Box 11 about every month. The Lake Erie Perch is great and more reasonably priced than any other restaurant that we have found. The coleslaw is creamy, the way we like it.The onion rings are great, and can be substituted for the fries, for an additional charge. The fries can occasionally be overfried, but if they are cooked correctly, are delicious and plentiful. The beer is cold and the service is friendly. The atmosphere is very casual and ok for families. There is an inside seating area, a breezeway area with a wall of windows and an outside deck with seating with a view of the river. The only complaint is that we wish that there was an outside deck area with no smoking. The decorations are unique. The driveway slopes, but we have been there even in the winter, and encountered no problems. The restaurant visitors also include boaters, as there is a dock nearby. They have daily specials, but we always get the perch. They have half and whole pound portions. We find that a half pound dinner per person is always enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruisingrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tackle Box II also viewed

 

Been to Tackle Box II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing