We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fremont's main attraction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutherford B. Hayes Library

Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Fremont
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Hayes mansion, this library is now a research cener for Gilded Age American history.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fremont's main attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in Fremont, and when ever we have visitors we always take them out to see the Presidential Center. If you are near in October they have a wonderful reenactment with a battle and also a shopping area like it was in Civil War time. They also have many people in period costume camping out. When I was a child they had the best sledding hill in the area. I spent many a day here in the winter. The house is awesome. It is being restored the way it was when the president lived here. At Christmas time they decorate like they did in the 1800's , In the museum they have a wonderful genealogy research center also. Closed on Mondays.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A history nerd's delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We are on a dead presidents kick & did not know much about President Hayes. We took the house & library tour $13 per adult. The house is awesome! Excellent guided tour of beautifully preserved gothic mansion- much of the family's items are there. The library is the first presidential library in the country and has a small but interesting collection. The grounds are lovely and include president Hayes' grave. Close by is the battlefield of Fall Timbers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank York476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hayes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hayes is over all a great place to vist always.I know on Presdent Hayes many visits around the world,he would bring back Beautiful trees.You can se the differnt ones ,as you walk through the grounds.Very anazeing & very prettty area.His faithful horses burid there also.Old whittey & Ned.Alot of things to see ! in all that Hayes as in their home & musem.Alot fun we enjoy it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TeriD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelleys Island, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Visit with family from Arizona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our out of towners certainly enjoyed the history and the beauty of the Library and surroundings of this nearby historical landmark. It was a refreshing change of pace from the boating and beaches on the Lake, but it was fun to get back to the Lake after the touring of the excellent Library.

Helpful?
1 Thank watersedg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

For any history buff, this is a wonderful research library. Lots of primary documents, old newspapers and periodicals, and ephemeral material. Mostly related to Fremont, the Hayes Family, and the Civil War and Reconstruction era.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rutherford B. Hayes Library also viewed

 

Been to Rutherford B. Hayes Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing