We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain drenched visit”

Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums is dedicated to 19th U.S. President Rutherford B. Hayes and First Lady Lucy Hayes. The site houses their 25-acre wooded estate, known as Spiegel Grove; their 31-room Victorian mansion; the presidential library; a museum that was completely renovated in 2016; the tomb; and a mile of paved walking trails. There are fees to tour the museum and the home. Use of the presidential library, which has a massive genealogy and local history collections, is free. The first floor and and part of the second floor were restored in 2012 to look as it did when Rutherford and Lucy lived there. Nearly all of the furniture, paintings and artifacts in the home belonged to and were used by the couple and their family. The museum was renovated in early 2016 and includes interactive exhibits that tell the story of Rutherford and Lucy, the issues they faced and what they thought about those issues. Sit at a replica of the Resolute Desk - the original was given to President Hayes and still sits in the Oval Office of the White House - try on a Civil War soldier's haversack and more. The Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums is America's first presidential library and the forerunner for the federal presidential library system. The facility is celebrating its centennial in 2016. The site is open seven days a week most of the year. From January through March, it is closed on Mondays. It is also closed on Christmas, New Year's, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Easter and Thanksgiving. Hours on federal holidays are noon to 5 p.m.
Brookville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rain drenched visit”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We came here for the reenactment and to visit the grave/house. We were lucky enough to see 1:00 battle but the 3:00 program was cancelled due to the rain, so we lucked out. The house was beautiful and it was disappointing that you couldn't take pictures. Museum was also very informative.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    41
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful and informative!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was a particularly beautiful house with so much Hayes memorabilia. We thoroughly enjoyed the house tour and the museum. We stopped at 6 president's houses on this trip and this was definitely one of the top tours. No photos allowed in the house, which was a disappointment, but we did take pix in the museum. We learned a lot about Rutherford & Lucy and enjoyed seeing their beautiful home. A memorable experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eloumush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Education and character make a good man”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Hayes Presidential Center gives you a feel for the family life of the 19th President of the United States. Hayes was an orphan, a Harvard educated lawyer, he rose from Major to Brigadier General during the civil war. You get a sense that he was a leader who wanted national unity. Unfortunately, the museum doesn't really help us understand the issues of the day, how Hayes tried to shape the nation, and what we see today of those efforts. Are we to judge a President by his good heart and attempts to reconcile disparate factions in the nation, or by the effects upon the Black-Americans that lasted for nearly another century.

Speigel Grove is a wonderous home with a great many family relics, and the tour is a great insight into Hayes and his family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Left this place with a new appreciation of Hayes tenure. A wounded Civil War veteran who opposed slavery. Kept his word by not running for a second term. Tried to limit a Presidential term to one 6 year 'visit' so the officeholder wouldn't have to be concerned about re-election and campaigning. That along with trying to curtail political patronage jumped him up on my list. Knowledgeable guide made home tour enjoyable and informative. Grounds are free to roam and were worth walking.
Go and enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Maybe the Best Presidential Site in Ohio (and there are lots of them)”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It may interest you to know that this excellent house was once featured on an episode of the A&E architectural series "America's Castles". That places it in the company of homes of people named Jefferson, Rockefeller, Vanderbilt, Hearst, etc.

So I had wanted to see this masterpiece for some time. Unfortunately, my first visit happened to be about 20 minutes after a terrible storm had passed through town. When I arrived, the power was out, several nearby streets were closed, and a huge tree had just smashed several cars in the parking lot when it fell on them! In spite of all this chaos, the ladies in the museum were friendly and calm and even welcoming; though understandably there could be no further tours that day. So I just walked around the grounds, trying to stay out of the way of the guys with chainsaws, and left shortly thereafter.

I returned about a month later to find the town of Fremont STILL cleaning up after that storm! But thankfully it was business as usual at the Hayes center, and I got to tour both the home and the museum. The house is an absolute gem and it has been carefully maintained and restored. They skillfully present the way the house evolved over time into its present 38 magnificent rooms. The guides are knowledgeable, the tour is extensive, and the museum is well done and quite interesting.

Hayes may not be the most well known president, but I have learned that every president has had an extraordinary story, and most, including Hayes, were extraordinary men. Much can be learned about him and his life and family just by seeing where he lived. He was known for taking daily long walks up and down the long, wide veranda on the house. I took a few laps up and down the porch myself, literally walking in his footsteps, admiring his magnificent house and grounds, and thoroughly enjoyed my visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums also viewed

 

Been to Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing