We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RiverView B&B Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin Furnace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverView B&B Inn
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Complete Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stopped here during our trip to St. Louis from Pittsburgh. We arrived around 5:30pm. The owners came over from the house next door where they live. We were warmly greeted and they showed us around the property. The house is immaculate to say the least. A big comfy bed and we also had a rollaway bed for a child as well. A great bathroom and free snacks in the fridge. Books, magazines and video's to watch if you want. This place was spotless. The breakfast in the AM was awesome. I cannot say enough good about this property. We will be back. We visited with our two children ages 8 and 10.

Room Tip: Get the Riverview room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeBobbie, Owner at RiverView B&B Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn and our service. We enjoyed your visit with us, and we hope that all went well with the medical procedures that you were enroute to when you visited.

We hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had an outstanding stay at this very well maintained B&B right on the banks of the Ohio River, in Franklin Furnace, Ohio. I stayed in the CreekView room and loved sitting on the balcony for hours watching boats and barges cruise along the historic Ohio River, as well as the occasional train on the Kentucky side of the River. This large house is an ideal place for individuals, couples, and families with 4 different rooms (note: the MarinaView Room is not pictured in my video). The large dining room, other first floor rooms, and enormous deck with a very large hot tub is an ideal setting for weddings and receptions. The lower level also has a meeting room that can accommodate 20 persons. The refrigerator was full of complimentary snacks and beverages the night I arrived and breakfast the next morning was substantial and delicious. George and Bobbie Sich are gracious, hospitable hosts, and and very knowledgeable about places all along the Ohio River. They live in a house on the other side of the street, so renters have lots of privacy. I do a lot of research when I travel and am convinced that this is one of the best places to stay any where on the Ohio River. It was overcast and rainy the next morning when I prepared this brief video of RiverView B&B http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vMNHNRvP-4

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeBobbie, Owner at RiverView B&B Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We know that we responded to you via email after your visit, but we wanted to thank you again for your great review and photo spread...and youtube video.

Our words from a previous email are still valid, "We hope that you’re getting some rest from your travels…or, maybe, the travel energizes you. Either way, thanks again for your kind words."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Inn is a stately two story Inn with a large deck overlooking the Ohio river. The word 'scenic' does not begin to do justice to the place. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and spotless. The homemade, cooked from scratch breakfasts are wonderful. I felt relaxed the moment I stepped foot on the grounds. I'd love to go back. Hope it's not booked solid (because of this review) when I next head to the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turingtest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were due in Ohio from the UK to settle our son into a local university. Having found the RiverView on the Internet we booked immediately and would recommend it to anyone for a short break, business trip or even an extended stay. The facilities and location were outstanding, matched by the welcome given by George and Bobbie who could have done nothing more for us. If you have any reason to be in the Franklin Furnace or Portsmouth area then look no further. In addition to a great room and view, spacious bathroom and beautiful location overlooking the Ohio river, Bobbie's breakfasts are amazing, you can keep in touch with the world using the free wi-fi whilst relaxing on the sun desk and oh, that hot tub!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IanPulsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I am neither a reviewer nor a Bed and Breakfast fan. My travel preference would be a suite at a modern hotel in an urban area. When travelling to Southern Ohio to visit family the options are limited. The Riverview Inn is one of my favorite places to stay. The Inn is comfortable, spacious, and clean. Ask for the river view suite which has three large bay windows to watch the river slowly amble by. The view is equally relaxing in all seasons. The house has everything a traveller needs from drinks (including wine and beer) in the fridge to hair dryers to a huge selection of DVD's to watch and much more. The proprieters are warm and thoughtful. The service is attentive and individualized. On my third visit I was pleasantly surprised to learn that they record what is served for breakfast so they can prepare it for you on the next stay. Bottom line: I can relax here as easily as I can relax in a suite at the W. Big thumbs up for George and Bobbie.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had to make an urgent unplanned trip to Southern Ohio. Having grown up in this region, I was well aware of the lack of quality lodging. I did a quick Google search and found this B&B which I had not previously known about. I called and was able to book two rooms on last minute notice on a holiday weekend. The innkeepers were wonderful in getting us set up and took wonderful care of us during our stay. We stayed two nights.

The location is breathtaking right on the Ohio River. One of my favorite things was standing on the deck at night and watching boats and barges go by. It was especially relaxing when sitting in the hot tub on the deck. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. We stayed in the RiverView room. It was very large and comfortable. We felt it was worth the higher rate for this room as it was so large and had a wonderful view of the river.

A friend stayed in the Marietta room and loved it. The rooms have private bathrooms (although the Marietta bathroom is not attached but across the hall). There is a workout facility and meeting room in the basement. The kitchen is stocked with snacks and drinks. There is ample space for entertaining in the kitchen and family room areas. We hosted several of our family members while we were guests. The breakfasts were wonderful with delicious food. The innkeepers go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant but are not intrusive. The rates are the least we have ever paid for a B&B and competitive with the hotels in the area.

My wife and I have begun to stay in more B&B’s as chain hotels are often a roll of the dice, even higher end chains at times. I was impressed with the quality of this B&B especially in light of the alternatives in this area. I highly recommend this property if staying in gorgeous Southern Ohio.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I decided to surprise our granddaughter who was performing for the first time in a praise and worship band in Portsmouth. The trip was planned at the last minute and we opted to avoid the hotel chains and find a B & B. After checking the Riverview out on TripAdvisor we decided to give it a try. What an unexpected surprise. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by our host, George, who showed us around and encouraged us to make ourselves at home, right down to encouraging us to help ourselves to snacks and refreshments in the kitchen. The home is beautiful and is located right on the shore of the Ohio River. Our room was spotless, nicely decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. In the morning Bobbi prepared a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, homemade granola and yogurt, assorted breads, and a delicious egg and sausage casserole (best coffee ever)! Our hosts, George and Bobbi, were so gracious and hospitable and made us feel so welcome. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in a beautiful setting on the Ohio River.

Room Tip: Since we booked at the last minute we weren't able to get a room with a river view but would sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeBobbie, Owner at RiverView B&B Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for TripAdvisor.com. We are very pleased that you found your stay with us pleasant. The surprise for your family and the quality time that you spent with them is the best memory for you to take home with you. We're just happy to have provided you a comfortable place to stay while you were away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin Furnace
0.6 mi away
Franklin Furnace Inn & RV Park
Franklin Furnace Inn & RV Park
#2 of 2 in Franklin Furnace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
20.7 mi away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverView B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverView B&B Inn

Property: RiverView B&B Inn
Address: 91 Riverview Dr, Franklin Furnace, OH 45629-8821
Location: United States > Ohio > Franklin Furnace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin Furnace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RiverView Bed and Breakfast Inn is a modern, California-style building with an elevated wrap-around deck on four acres of grounds on the Ohio River across from Holiday Point Marina in Franklin Furnace, Ohio. It is decorated with one-of-a-kind hand pieced quilts, creating a relaxed, intimate atmosphere. The open, airy kitchen invites relaxed conversation around the serving island before breakfast. The dining room and great room offer panoramic views of the Ohio River and Holiday Point Marina on Ginat Creek. In addition to the amenities listed elsewhere, the RiverView Room, CreekView Room, MarinaView Room, and HealthView Suite have private bathrooms, wireless internet, satellite television, comfortable seating, wall-to-wall carpeting, and a writing desk. The exercise room in the HealthView suite is equipped with a stationary bike, home gym, ski machine, and television. The large, carpeted meeting room is perfect for small conferences, business meetings, seminars, retreats, negotiations, round tables, etc. It is equipped to handle any kind of function with full computer, Internet, and audio/visual support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
RiverView B&B Inn Franklin Furnace, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing