We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton Akron”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hilton Akron”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located across from the mall and several resturants. The room was clean and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to someone visiting the Akron area. The fitness center was nicely equipped.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ddcline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    125
    46
    21
    12
See reviews for
113
83
37
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

To start, we ordered lunch at Beau's Grille where my daughter ordered a tuna wrap. While eating the wrap she bit into a large metal object, which ended up being a large, sharp spring from the ice-cream scoop used dish out the tuna. Luckily, she noticed this before swallowing the object. We asked for a manager and it was her second day on the job. She wasn't quite sure how to handle the situation and said she would get back to us. She later came back and asked to take down my name and contact information. She then offered a beverage and I requested she comp the meal instead. She was genuinely apologetic for the mishap and our day went on.

Later that evening, I took my son to the mall across the street to pick out a pair of swim trunks. He had been looking forward to the hot tub and swimming in the pool all day. When we returned, there was a sign on the door that read "Indoor pool temporarily closed." We went to the front desk and they said there was an issue with the chemicals. Apparently, there were other guests who came out with blood-shot eyes and rash-like skin. We were told the pool would be open in a couple hours once they stabilized the chemicals. My son decided to check every 15 minutes and was disappointed after two hours had passed. At that time, they were offering for guests to use the pool next door at the Doubletree. We made our way across the parking lot to a pool that was filled with screaming girls and where two large families were eating dinner. My son was getting irritated with all the yelling and screaming and asked if we could go back to the Hilton. We made our way back, wet and cold.

Once we returned, I stopped by the front desk and shared my displeasure. The gentleman at the front desk said that the Front Desk Manager may issue some points for the inconvenience, since I paid for the stay with points. A few days went by and I had yet to see the points post. I called the hotel and spoke with a lady at the front desk. She informed me the pool is not a guaranteed amenity and the hotel does not compensate for it being out of order. I was told different and asked for the Front Desk Manager. She later called me back and offered a $35 credit to my card for the issues experienced - I found this to be insulting. Even though the website lists the pool as an amenity, you may wish to call and ask if it's in working order, as this is not a GUARANTEED amenity. Maintenance needs training in this area to avoid a chemical spike.

In terms of the rooms, they're in need of TLC and updating. We were upgraded to a large suite, which was appreciated. However, the ceiling was stained (water damage), wallpaper was peeling from the walls, there were several gross stains on the walls, the curtains were worn and soiled with nasty stains, spider webs in the windows, and the furniture was old and stained. This was the last disappointment. Hilton hotels are normally a sound choice when traveling, but this experience proved otherwise.

Room Tip: Make sure all non-guaranteed amenities are in working order before checking-in. Otherwise, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3180, Manager at Hilton Akron / Fairlawn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
GDJM, thank you for choosing the Hilton Akron/Fairlawn and for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your recent stay. I'd like to sincerely apologize for the disappointment you and your family had in your visit. I have discussed your comments with our General Manager, Food and Beverage Manager, Chief Engineer, and Executive Housekeeper. They are embarrassed that the issues you encountered during your stay were not immediately resolved to your satisfaction. Your stay certainly does not reflect the Hilton standards we hold our staff and property to. GDJM, it is through comments such as yours that we are able to continually improve our facility and I thank you for bring these issues to our attention. If you wish to discuss your stay further, I invite you to contact our General Manager, Timothy Winter at timothy.winter@hilton.com or (330) 867-5000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The staff were outstanding and made every effort to provide a superior experience for the wedding guests. The wedding reception food, drinks, and service was excellent. All of our out-of-town guests had a great time at this hotel. Centrally located to shopping as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Amazing facility. Very well maintained and groomed. You never have to leave, they have it all. We frequent this location at least 3-4 times yearly. Anniversaries, Birthdays, Graduations, and a great area for shopping. Many surrounding restaurants, entertainment, and things to do. We live only over an hr. away, and use this location as our "go to" to come to the city. Would highly recommend this area for a long weekend. A nice couples getaway as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Rooms incredibly clean, bed clean top to bottem, bathroom spotless, staff wonderful, smiling all around, my first time staying there. My brother recommend this hotel, I truly understand why
would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3180, Manager at Hilton Akron / Fairlawn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Paula, thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Akron/Fairlawn. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our rooms and staff. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in the Northeast Ohio area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is so focused on their restaurant patrons that all of the parking in front of the hotel is reserved for people just dining. (This is even when the restaurant isn't open!) Most of the parking on the side is reserved as well until 10pm. So I park down a dark poorly lit stretch of parking spots and haul my stuff inside in the rain.

Front desk staff was nice enough and the room itself was very nice. I was in a king suite. Bed was nice and comfy.

I review the in room dining menu - I'm in luck, service until 11pm! I call and it just rings and rings and rings. So I call they front desk. They inform me that room service ends at 10 they've just never changed out the menus. I am then told I can walk to the Doubletree and get room service there. Um....the whole point of room service is that it is brought to your ROOM!

They did provide my two bottles of water but they were put into a fridge that wasn't turned on so nice warm water for me!

Leave this place to the restaurant crowd. I'd suggest the Doubletree next door but it is owned by the same people as the Hilton and these owners are clearly not guest oriented.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalisa46410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3180, Manager at Hilton Akron / Fairlawn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Lisa, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Akron/Fairlawn. I sincerely apologize for any disappointment you had in your visit. We highly value all of our guests and only provide a handful of Beau’s Grille reserved parking spots on the side and corner of the building during the hours of 12pm-10pm, however, these spots are open to all of our guests when parking is limited. I have spoken to the General Manager regarding the room service menus and he extends his apologies for the misprint and would like to assure you that we are looking into options to correct this situation. Lisa, although we cannot change the previous experience, we do hope for a future opportunity to serve you. Upon returning to our area, I invite you to contact our Front Office Manager, Jennifer Anderson at Jennifer.Anderson@hilton.com or (330) 867-5000 so we can ensure your stay is pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had several of our basketball team members staying in Akron for a tournament. The Hilton was conveniently located and the staff was available to help 24 hours. Very friendly and efficient. We were able to check in quickly and get enough rest for our 8 AM game the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
7.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Akron / Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Akron / Fairlawn

Property: Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Address: 3180 W Market St, Fairlawn, OH 44333-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Fairlawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Akron / Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Suburban Hotel situated opposite Summit Mall & 45 miles from Cleveland's Hopkins Int'l Airport. Enjoy spacious, stylishly appointed guest rooms and suites that overflow with distinctive amenities for the utmost in comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Akron / Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn Hotel Fairlawn
Hilton Hotel Akron
Akron Hilton
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing