We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend. Stayed in a suite and NO hot water. Certainly not Hilton standards. will not stay there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Would not recommend. Stayed in a suite and NO hot water. Certainly not Hilton standards. will not stay there again.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stay at this hotel monthly, in 2013 probably stayed there 15 weeks during the year. In the last 6 months I have notice the maintenance of the hotel going down. While they have remodeled the hotel and yes, it looks very nice, the upkeep of the hotel is poor. This past week was the last straw...no hot water! I don't know if they turn the water off to save money or what, but it is not acceptable to stay in the hotel, wake up and have NO hot water..not lukewarm, just cold water. I checked out and stayed next door the rest of the week.

Room Tip: stay next door at the doubletree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank mariuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3180, Manager at Hilton Akron / Fairlawn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I did want to take this opportunity to apologize in regards to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I totally regret there was no hot water while you stayed with us. Our guests comfort is our main priority and I assure you that I will let our maintenance crew know about your comments. Your feedback is very important to us and I do appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention.

Once again, I do apologize for any inconveniences you may have had and I hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    135
    47
    24
    14
See reviews for
129
86
38
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed here a few times while on business in the area. It is o.k., but probably not as nice as most other Hiltons. The personnel are excellent and always go the extra mile. Be sure to try the restaurant, it really is what tis property is known for.

The whole hotel is past due for a remodel but is fine. There are lots of other choices in the area, including a lot of alternatives in the Hilton family of properties (e.g., Doubletree, Hampton, etc.)

Room Tip: the rooms in the very back of the hotel are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dshepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I chose the Hilton over 3 other hotels. Due to the location we tried several restaurants (which all had over an hour wait) only to eat at a great Thai restaurant. When we ate breakfast the next morning we realized that we could have stayed and eaten at Beau's Grille as the food was excellent. I typically can't sleep in a hotel room, but this time it was a great nights sleep. My only problem was the bathroom light. It never fully turned off. Not sure if it was intended as a night light, but it was simply fixed by closing the door. Thankfully the door was a good fit and no light escaped through! All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio USA
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

There are not a lot of high end hotels in the Akron area, but this is a nice choice. The rooms are nice and spacious and clean. Things seem to be update nicely and it is in a nice location, close to the mall and just a few minutes drive to downtown Akron if you have an event or something there. Nice resturant in the hotel as well great breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group - request connecting rooms they do have then and it is very nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinatralis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here two nights. Because we have a toddler, we opted to pay for the more expensive suite so that we would be able to put the baby to sleep in the living portion of the room, since she goes to sleep several hours before we do. The suite we were originally given, which ended in 61, was a complete disappointment. First of all, there was a large window between the living room and bedroom area of the suite. This window was covered only with a translucent shade. As a result, when the lights were on in the bedroom, they illuminated the living area of the suite to a degree that the lights kept our daughter awake. Recognizing this might be a problem, I called the front desk and asked if all suites were configured in this way. I was told they were -- which ended up not being true.

The bedroom portion of our suite also had a door adjoining another room. This door apparently was not very solid, because starting at 11:30 at night we were able to clearly hear the discussions being held in the next room. Overall, our original suite was gloomy (the living area had no window of its own, which is probably why they had to add the window between it and the living room) and felt dated.

Based on the sound from the next room and the poor night's sleep we received as a result, I we moved to a different suite the next morning. The suite we were moved to was MUCH nicer. No window between the two rooms of the suite. The bathroom of this suite was much more spacious, and the suite overall had a newer feel, was brighter/airier, and was more attractive. We were here for a wedding, and all of our friends in suites had this type of suite -- as a result, it seems the suites ending in -61 are the least desirable suites in the inventory.

Front desk staff were all very friendly. We ate several meals at the on-site restaurant, Beau's Grille, and found the food to be quite tasty (much better than on-site restaurants typically are!). Room service is from the restaurant and reasonably priced. Fitness room is spacious and has what appears to be new equipment -- 1 recumbent bike, 2 ellipticals, and three treadmills, along with free weights.

Room Tip: Don't accept a suite that ends in 61!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This was my third stay at this hotel, and I was amazed by the much needed remodel! Very clean, spacious, and comfy. The internet was lightning fast which made work at night easy, and the bed was just right for a good night's sleep. The bathroom was updated but still small, and the iron left something to be desired.

Overall a good stay and a place to which I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in the center of it all. To the left there is a slew of restaurants as well as on the right. Not to mention that there is a mall across the street. Parking is free and there is plenty.

Check in: front desk was helpful and cooperative. Easy to work with.

Rooms: apperantly the rooms where renovated but i noticed that some of the power outlets where a bit flimsy and sketchy so be careful. The rooms where clean and decent. No real complaints.

Room service: the brochure stated that doom service available from 11 - 11 for lunch dinner etc. but for some reason they close up at 9pm on sundays. I was a little dissapointed since i was in the mood for a late night snack.

Great hotel and staff just watch for the dinning its really OVER PRICED.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wj2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
7.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Akron / Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Akron / Fairlawn

Property: Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Address: 3180 W Market St, Fairlawn, OH 44333-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Fairlawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Akron / Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Suburban Hotel situated opposite Summit Mall & 45 miles from Cleveland's Hopkins Int'l Airport. Enjoy spacious, stylishly appointed guest rooms and suites that overflow with distinctive amenities for the utmost in comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Akron / Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn Hotel Fairlawn
Hilton Hotel Akron
Akron Hilton
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing