We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Everything you would expect from a Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Certificate of Excellence
La Palma, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Everything you would expect from a Hilton”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed here two nights for a business meeting. It was nothing spectacular by any means, but was everything you would expect from a Hilton property. The rooms were clean and spacious. Absolutely no complaints but nothing really stood out as spectacular either. The hotel had decent meeting facilities if you are going there for a business function. Internet access (both hard wired and wifi) is included in the room rate which is a nice feature. There is a restaurant/bar in the lobby and the food is pretty good and reasonably priced. Location-wise it is fairly easily reached from Canton-Akron airport (about 30 minutes driving time). There is a small outdoor shopping center across the street with a couple of restaurants and a Doubletree Hotel right next door, also with its own restaurants. So the location is convenient and there's no shortage of places to eat in the area.

I arrived at about 10 PM after traveling all day from the west coast. By the time I checked in and got to my room it was about 10:15, and I was hungry for dinner. The restaurant is only open until 10, but when I walked in at 10:15 they were still willing/able to accommodate me, which I appreciated considering it was quite cold outside and I didn't want to walk across the street looking for a restaurant that was open.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandrfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    130
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
120
85
37
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
346 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Last time I was here this place just flat sucked. I vowed never to return. Here's the thing - there aren't many other options in the area. So I returned again. This time I got a suite. That was a huge improvement. If you are going to spend more than a few hours there get a suite. Don't misunderstand - the suite isn't super nice - but the regular rooms are awful so the suite is worth the extra cost. The suite is 2 separate rooms. The suite bathroom is actually nice - it looks to have been remodeled (the hotel and the rooms are several years overdue for a face-lift). The food is OK - you won't make a special trip but you won't refuse to ever return. There is a mall across the street with a P.F. Changs - much better option.

The hotel still hasn't figured out how to make a vending machine work. If you want warm off-brand drinks from a vending machine with a 50/50 chance of working you will love it. If not, stop at one of the gas stations nearby and stock up before you arrive.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Level Contributor
178 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton 3 nights for a family function.
Paid about $100 per night plus tax and fees.
Very clean and well maintained.
Nice lobby, large comfortable rooms, great beds, nice bathroom and great shower.
Excellent location accross from the Summit Mall, near shopping and many restaurants.
Although we did no eat there, Beau's Grille located in the hotel has an excellent reputation.
The staff was efficient and pleasant.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I will be fair, but as a background I am a HHonors Gold VIP member so I have experience with hiltons across the globe.

Room: The room was fine. It was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable. The workspace is large and the office chair very comfortable. The bathroom needs a lot of improvement, the water temperature variates from too hot to too cold making the shower difficult and the shower head sucks. There was no stopper in the tub in the event that you wanted to take a bath. You can tell the room has been updated, but some key improvements in the bathroom should have been made.

Staff: The check-in staff was very nice and helpful. Accommodated my late checkout request.

Internet/Services: The internet was slow for modern standards. It wasn't as slow as dial-up, but it was difficult to watch videos and webcasts without continuous buffering. Parking is free and the internet was free. Didn't try the restaurant or room service.

Location: The location is convenient to shopping/restaurants. If you are trying to get downtown it is on a major road that does a decent job getting you there. There are probably better locations in Akron, but it is also very convenient to the interstate to get to Cleveland. It is about 20 min from the airport.

Problems that I encountered: The housekeepers are so annoying. My first morning at the hotel I was awakened by the knocks at the door, I ignored it because the dead bolt was locked and the stopper was on. She attempted to come in anyway, then the stopper caught the door and she closed it...and then what does she do? Keeps knocking...so I got up and told her I didn't need anything and put the do not disturb sign on the door. 20 minutes later she's knocking on the door again! So I was annoyed with that. But the elevators were TERRIBLE. there are two and they are SO SLOW. There's only four floors but it takes a good while for the elevator to get to the ground floor.

Overall the stay was okay. The value is good I suppose, but only because there aren't any better choices in Akron. If I return to Akron I probably will not stay there again, I will opt for the doubletree or another property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton during New Years and were very satisfied with our stay. Our room was a two room suite with a very large spa-like bathroom. The suite was rather well equipped, three tv's (bedroom, large one in living room, small one in bathroom), nice size mini-fridge, microwave, individual cup (two cups at once) coffee maker, real nice cabinet furniture.

The room's environmental controls were simple, just set the temperature and you were set, no getting used to the AC/heating element settings. The room wasn't spotless, a small stain on the carpet, a few spotted stains on the curtains (possibly from the same source), but neither stood out and I barely noticed them. The bathroom is really nice, though the water pressure was a little low. The shower is open and therefore could be a little cooler than your normal shower which is completely enclosed. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotel itself looked real nice inside. There is a decent size indoor pool, a very small hot tub, and the exercise room seemed rather impressive with the equipment it had. The location is good for restaurants, as the Summit Mall has a few nice places to eat at, Vaccaro's Trattoria is just down the road as well. In addition, more "common fare" places like Red Lobster, Olive Garden, pretty much you name it, is located down on Market Street, about two miles west.

Our stay was very quiet and there were no outstanding issues. It is relatively pricey, but we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yespage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have stayed and held conferences at the hotel a few times. The conference facilities are very good and the staff well rehearsed for these events. Most of the people I met were helpful, polite and on hand. The conference rooms are what you would expect - large, well appointed and in good order.

Rooms - the rooms are fine but nothing specially. You really only want to sleep in them and nothing more. Bathroom was fine but in need of updating.

Food - Breakfast and dinner were good and very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoysun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because a soccer tournament required us to stay in certain hotels. The tournament assigned our team to this hotel. It must be said that the hotel is nice, clean and well kept. However, if they did not want to deal with tons of kids and families they should not have agreed to book soccer teams into the hotel. Suffice to say-- restaurant manager was so rude and did not attempt any efforts to please the customers. Of course this manager did not think that families are tired and may not want venture out (one restaurant at hotel) to eat somewhere else. Security made it impossible for soccer players trick or treat (in early eve.) from teammate door to door. I understand if you do not want to tolerate children-- however-- do not take the booking/and our money and become unreasonable when kids want to leave their rooms. Boo-- won't return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobgsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
7.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Akron / Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Akron / Fairlawn

Property: Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Address: 3180 W Market St, Fairlawn, OH 44333-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Fairlawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Akron / Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Suburban Hotel situated opposite Summit Mall & 45 miles from Cleveland's Hopkins Int'l Airport. Enjoy spacious, stylishly appointed guest rooms and suites that overflow with distinctive amenities for the utmost in comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Akron / Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn Hotel Fairlawn
Hilton Hotel Akron
Akron Hilton
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing