We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Great. Service Rude.”
Review of Skyway Drive-In

Skyway Drive-In
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Fairlawn
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Medina, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food Great. Service Rude.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The food at Skyway is always great. Their burgers and fried mushrooms are my personal favorites. Try the California cooler to drink. Just know that the staff isn't always thrilled about their work. I don't recommend going close to closing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ssbrubaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“nostalgia does not get a healthy improved menu in all cases”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I discovered that after too many questions about the preparation of fish sandwiches that these sandwiches are deep fried when they should be broiled instead for healthy eating habits. I reqested that they be broiled but the answer was no. When I said that I could not eat deep fried fish sandwiches the answer was the same. Take it fried or leave it! More flexibility is needed fo satisfy customers with diatery restrictions. I was disappointed.with the attitude about this matter. This type of experience ordering food to be eaten in one'se car can be an impersonal eating experience despite what you think about returning to an earlier era of this type of dining in yout car, Nostalgia does not bring about nealthy eating habits. It would be a nice gesture if the owner would come out to speak with customers. A new menu I am told does contain some new items. I have not sampled much of the new menu. Bring your two for one coupons and get a sizeable nutritional meal with chicken sandwiches which I like very much.. Nostalgia tries to make an appearance in many forms of recalling earlier days. I am not sure if this is the best way for serving food for today's crowd of dinner guests. I have eaten one or two salads and they are worth your time as prices are affordable especially with a two for one coupon. The grilled chicken sandwich can offer a good meal depending on how hot the chicken is cooked for safety. Add onions peppers, pickles black olives, lettuce, tomatoes mushrooom and mustard. I am not sure how much nostalgia can be wrapped up in this style of eating food in one car. How clean is the car fo eating food? Many years ago last centure this was popullar style of eaitng when adolescents flocded to this place for lunch and dinner. Today that tradition has be repaced with lunch for people working in the area.I am not sure how nutritional the food is for daily consumption. Ask for details about the preparation of the food you order - especially the level of heat for cooking or broiling chicken.. Service adds up to two employees coming to your car for taking orders and for delivering food. Not terribly elaborate but it is basic for this type of restaurant that has some good qualities to make a stop here worth your time if the short time spent for ordering and eating the food is not a problem.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GiudoLocattelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fairlawn icon.”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Love all the food. Great value and service. No need to pay for "upscale" burgers somewhere else--Sky-Way is the best!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Drive up, pig out!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

One of the very first drive-up burger joints in the US. Double cheezeburg, hand-cut and hand-dipped onion rings and a chocolate shake to wash it down. All served on a window tray. It's sickeningly GOOD food.

Helpful?
Thank theotherdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Onion Rings”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Love the cheeseburgers. Get onion rings and add them to your burger. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank AnyExcuse2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skyway Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing