We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They actually read the special requests on your reservation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend with our one-year-old son for a wedding. We have traveled quite a bit with our son since his birth, and have stayed in 8 different hotels - every time, I put a special request on our reservation asking for a crib to be placed in our room. And every time, I end up calling the front desk to have one brought up. Not a big deal, and it's never bothered me. But I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to our room after check in at the Doubletree, and a pack n play had already been set up! It's the first time any hotel has paid attention to our requests! The little things like this left a great impression on us.

Other positives of our stay - the staff was very courteous, room was spotless and quiet (we were in a room on the first floor and I was a little worried about the noise factor, but we had no issues), and the room service was excellent. They were also very accommodating when it came to early check-in; the wedding we were attending was on a Friday night at 5pm, normal check-in is 4pm. We contacted the hotel several days in advance and they were able to have our room ready by 1pm so we could get clean up and get dressed after a long drive.

My only complaint - and a minimal one at that - is the temperature of the indoor pool. It was 96 degrees outside that day and we were hoping to cool off, but it was VERY warm. Not just the water, but the air inside the pool area was slightly steamy. Understandable to have a heated pool in Akron, Ohio, but it would have been nice to have it turned down a little for the summer. We still enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ucas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3180, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Traveler: We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn. Our staff reviews all reservations to make sure we do our very best to accommodate special requests. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Please know that we'll monitor the pool temperature to keep it more seasonal. Thank you for posting this review!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great rooms, nice place. Very clean. My only problem was that the hotel had two wedding groups there each evening of my stay and so did the Hilton next door. There was no parking after dinner either night and I had to park across the street. In the morning, the lots were just over half full. Parking should be for room guests, wedding attendees should be valet parked across the street.

A concern. The backdoor to the property was not secure my entire stay. The wiring was not even in place to operate the rear door lock. Direct access to the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Arrived at this hotel and entered the lobby area. It was small, clean, neat and tastefully decorated. This hotel has architecture of an older property but clearly the interior is new and modern. The front desk clerk was friendly and check-in was quick and efficient. I also received a wrapped, fresh baked cookie with my room key. I proceeded down the corridor to my room and opened the door, what a pleasant surprise. The room was large and beautifully decorated.

I immediately inspected the bed and found the sheets crisp, white and clean. The bed duvet also smelled and felt freshly laundered. The bed was also adorned with 7 pillows all of great comfort.

I proceed to the large bathroom and began my inspection. The vanity was clean as was the commode and shower. This room had a Jacuzzi tub for 2. The room was well stocked with white, soft, clean towels and amenities. The face and body soap clearly were of a higher quality than other hotel brands as was the shampoo and conditioner. A very nice touch. The shower head pressure was strong and the water was hot and plentiful.

The desk/work area was large and completely met all my business needs. The wireless internet was of DSL speed and again met my expectations. The television was 37” but had a limited channel selection with many pay-per-view choices. The room also had a coffee service cart, again, a very nice touch.

The room was modern and had great wall textures and colors. This hotel just had a comfortable, homey feel. The carpet was colorful as were the walls and the room had actual art. The pictures were very nice and interesting and I found myself admiring all the wall hangings.

I then proceeded to the indoor pool which was clean, warm and inviting. Inspection of the workout area revealed larger than most room with high quality equipment.

The hotel also has a restaurant and bar. Although I did not eat dinner I did have breakfast and it was very reasonably priced and of a higher quality than most. It was not free but definitely tasted good and was fresh.

The HVAC quickly cooled the room and is controlled by a wall thermostat. It was quiet and unobtrusive and did not interfere with my sleep. The bed was excellent, firm and soft and I slept well. I did hear some noise from the room next door, a crying baby but other than that the hotel was quiet. The only issue I had was the room did not have a refrigerator.

This hotel exceeded my expectations, I was expecting quiet and comfortable but this Double Tree took it to a new level. The bar has been set high and I hope it can remain consistent. I have found my new hotel for business travel in Akron, Ohio. There are many chain restaurants and sole proprietorship restaurants within a short drive of this hotel. It also sits directly across the street from a mall and a large retail property.

Would I return, Yes, would I recommended, DEFINETLY. Thursday Night in May, 2011: $129.00 (Guest Room) + $8.39 (State Tax) + $3.87 (City Occupancy tax) + $7.10 (County Occupancy Tax) = $148.36.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Muskywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May 2011. I was using Hilton Points and only chose it for the fact it was lower on the points scale then in Cleveland. I have to say, I was very impressed. The rooms were lovely and clean. The restaurant was very good, the breakfast VERY resonable. It was easy to get to and had free parking. The only bad thing I could think of is that it did not have a hot tub with the pool, not that I use one all the time but it would have been nice. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauraleigh9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3180, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our accommodations and restaurant. On behalf of the team members of the Doubletree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn, we look forward to serving you during your next visit to the Akron area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Spend one night on a road trip in this hotel in Akron. Room was very upscale, with an incredibly comfortable and plush king bed and down pillows, sofa, flat panel tv, coffee maker, but no refrigerator. Staff was very professional.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BowtieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3180, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Dear Guest:
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed the amenities found in our guestrooms and I appreciate your note on our staff - they truly enjoy being of service to our guests! I hope that you've found a home with us during your travels to the Akron area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Franck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#2 of 5 in Fairlawn
551 reviews
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn

Address: 3150 W Market St, Fairlawn, OH 44333-3314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Fairlawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Price Range: $133 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upscale suburb of Fairlawn just a few miles west of downtown Akron and only 30 minutes south of downtown Cleveland. First-class accommodations and a wealth of services including Cafe Bricco, indoor heated pool, state-of-the-art Fitness by Precor, flexible meeting space and 24-hour business center. Our guestrooms are spacious and tastefully appointed and feature premium bedding, large work areas, 32" LCD TV and complimentary high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing