We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sushi - left without dinner”

Big Eye Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar
Ranked #18 of 58 Restaurants in Fairlawn
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No sushi - left without dinner”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Although the sushi is great, the service and wait is not. My husband and I went there for dinner. After waiting 90 minutes, we told them that we would just pay for our soups because we had to leave. The server told us that the owner and sushi chef do not make the sushi tickets in order. That makes sense since we counted four tables that came in after us that were served sushi. Then they tried to charge us for the sushi that we ordered, even though they still had not made it. The sushi at Big Eye may be good, but beyond disappointing. House of Hunan is right down the road. Beyond disappointed in Big Eye.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy8B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sushi with class”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband took me there when we first began dating. I'm critical of atmosphere and wasn't disappointed. The sushi presentation is great.
Of course it is bona fide; the chefs eat their own creations!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabbith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Akron - Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Sushi is excellent and beautifully presented. Been here twice for lunch and it's never crowded. I don't think the sushi is overpriced like a previous review. Get a lunch or dinner special and you get the miso soup and salad along with your sushi for a decent price... We got 7 rolls, 5 regular and 2 speciality rolls for about $44 with the lunch special. We probably went overboard on the sushi but it was worth it! :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SGOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi But One Problem”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fresh, tasty, artfully-presented sushi and sushi rolls. Best in Akron area as far as we can tell based on trying at least 5 others. However, we are frustrated by one item. Big Eye must have changed sources for their pickled ginger in late 2012. The current version is repulsive. The smell and taste is strongly chemical in nature and can spoil an otherwise excellent dining experience. We have commented to the staff but there has been no response so far.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank triplebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Full Japanese menu however we just ate sushi. Best sushi we ever ate and the rolls were huge!!! We normally order 7 rolls for 3 people and why couldn't finish a roll and a half because these were so big. Excellent atmosphere and great service. Highly recommend for sushi lovers

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mswartzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Eye Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Big Eye Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing