We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of Fairlawn Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Review of Fairlawn Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was very presentable however the price paid for the overnight stay was ridiculous because of events that were taking place in the area of which we were not participating in. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    78
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
94
52
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family travels every weekend in the summer for baseball tournaments. We stay at many hotels in Ohio, VA, NJ etc.
I usually choose Hamptons because they are clean, helpful and nice hotels. This hotel was clean and on average an ok hotel. However we were promised a refridgerator and when we arrived their was not one in our room. I asked the front desk if they could put on in my room and they could not. Many of the rooms did not have them.

A bigger issue for us, and the 12 rooms we book was they would not give us a late check out. WIth baseball teams this is very important because you may not be playing till late and you have a bunch of kids to entertain for hours. On Sunday morning we had 3 teams in the hotel and 2 had already left. We had 6 rooms ask for late check outs and the management staff would not grant any to us. We only need an hour or 2 after regular check out. It was very disspointing becuase of all the business we give this hotel and the Hampton.

They told us we could stay in the lobby but is was 100 degress.

So for your future travels if you are looking for a flexiable hotel and a hotel that will accomadate your needs I would go else where.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburghminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkonHI_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the negative experience you had at our hotel. It is our goal for every guest to feel at home while they are with us. I am very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your party’s requests for late check outs. We do consider every request we receive on an individual basis but because of availability it was just not possible. I hate that this experience left you with an unfavorable view of our hotel. I do hope that if you find yourself in the area for another tournament you may reconsider and give us another chance to change your mind.

Sincerely,
Jenilee Grabenhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn for the second time. I chose this Hampton Inn because of its location. It is close to the freeways and there are many nearby restaurants. Downtown Akron is a short drive away. This is a clean and comfortable hotel with good customer service. When we arrived, we were once again greeted by Terrance, who is always so up-beat. There was a mix-up with my reservation. I had reserved a king bedroom with a study and was initially placed in a queen bedroom. It was a sold out weekend due to a lot of local activities. Even so, Terrance and his team rectified the problem and were extremely apologetic. I have already booked my reservations for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedradc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service provided by this Hampton Inn went above and beyond. Every time we passed the front desk, we were cheerfully greeted with a hello and a smile. Although we were staying at this location for a sad event (family funeral), the attitude of the staff helped make our stay that much easier.

We wanted to have some kind of refreshments for family after the funeral but not being residents of the area, we weren't sure what to do. We asked about using the breakfast area the afternoon of the funeral and without hesitation, the answer was Yes!! Not only to use the tables and chairs but also any of the plates, cups, coffee, and other items that we needed. We truly appreciate the hospitality of the Hampton Inn Akron/Fairlawn. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room was very quiet, and we had no problems. Check-in was painless, and the staff made sure we were aware of the hotel schedule and amenities. The room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The included breakfast had hot and cold items, including hot waffles, sausage, and scrambled eggs. I'm not accustomed to eating greasy foods, but for some reason I thought I would try some sausage versus eating the enticing pastries. Oh did I regret my decision. I got incredibly ill mere minutes after consuming it. It tasted a little sweet, but I honestly thought I just got sick because I'm not used to eating a heavy breakfast. I spent the morning VERY sick, and as I watched the hours tick-tock away, I was very fearful I would not be on my feet again by the time of checkout. I called down to the front desk to ask if the kitchen happened to have any saltines. They said no but that they would get me some in fifteen minutes. The young lady literally ran to the nearby gas station and purchased some ginger ale & saltines and brought it to my room! I was blown away by her kindness and display of genuine concern. I wish she would have been available when I checked out bc I didn't get to thank her again for her kindness. It meant so much! I will definitely stay here again when in the area to visit family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leasher901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Delightful place made excellent by the outstanding front desk staff. The quality of the Inn was very good and it served our needs very well. I would surely go back there if I needed to go to Akron again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank C Parker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Hampton Inn Akron Fairlawn is located conveniently to I77, and only three miles from the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, where nesting great blue herons can be seen from the roadside and hiking and biking trails abound. But you have to drive there, and everywhere else.

There are no sidewalks on the street leading to the hotel, and no pedestrian crosswalk across busy Medina Road. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but all on the wrong side of Medina Road.

The desk staff are courteous and helpful. I checked in on a Sunday afternoon, apparently shortly after one of the housekeeping staff had unexpectedly walked off the job. My room wasn't ready, and I took a drive, which led to my discovery of the heronry. On my return, the room still wasn't ready, and after a second trip abroad, I was given a different room. This one was a handicap-accessible room, with a walk-in shower. Very nice.

The standard complimentary Hampton Inn breakfast was offered, and staff graciously allowed me to check out late, giving me the opportunity to shed my suit and tie after a morning business meeting before driving on.

All in all, a very nice hotel, but out of the way as many Hamptons are. Plan on driving to dine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlawn
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
1.6 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Akron Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn

Property: Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn
Address: 80 Springside Drive, Fairlawn, OH 44333-2429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Fairlawn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even if you're in Akron/Fairlawn to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors at the Hampton Inn Akron/Fairlawn as well. That's why we offer a full range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay with us exceptional. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. Just 15 miles from the University of Akron, our hotel is conveniently located to many local businesses and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akron Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing