We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth half of the room rate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairborn Hotel and Inn
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Fairborn
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I will first start by a brief explanation of my accommodation needs for this visit. I was traveling with a group of 10+ adults and 28 students. Not the easiest of reservations but simple enough if you are versed in the acumen of your business.

I DO NOT like giving one star reviews but, in this situation I feel it deserving. Do not be fooled by the "change management" responses below... the situation here is still dire and must receive attention or certainly this business will not exist in it's current form much longer.

Two adult rooms and one student room had to be moved because of insect remnants/live bugs. At the point when I helped one of the adult rooms change, we had an ant physically in our hand and the hotel operator denied that his hotel has bugs... His suggestion why, "we use a high heat dryer." Dead bugs are still bugs.

The facility is set up in a compound style with adjoining but still mostly separate buildings. Dimly lit hallways, and stale cigarette smells are prevalent in most. There is a bar attached to the building with little to no separation to create sound barriers. Not wise to reserve on the main level if noise is an issue.

Our room received no attention the first night, not even fresh towels. The second, we got new towels. One room in our party reported the maid folded her dirty towels and placed them as new... additionally, in the same room the restroom was used and not... attended to...?

The things you will for sure find at the Fairborn (good and bad);

*ice machine
*pool
*microwave (ONE, microwave... for the whole hotel)
*insects
*stained carpets and linens
*cable televison
*two banquet rooms
*bar
*mattresses in disrepair
*unplugged soda machine
*vending machine well stocked with shaving cream, razors, and condoms

I was not pleased with the stay, while the couple running the hotel were both nice, our visit was not.

Do yourself due diligence and investigate this property for yourself before making up your mind.

Room Tip: At this point, after communicating with people in more than 15 rooms, I am not sure there are any &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shaun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our room was very clean. The hotel staff was friendly, and was able to direct us to where we needed to go. We were in town for a family reunion. The bathroom was clean and it was quiet and cozy we thought.

The cleaning lady did a wonderful job on our room and we think it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaeljohnson60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily Z, Manager at Fairborn Hotel and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you Michaeljohnson60898 , for staying at The Fairborn Hotel & for the nice review. We welcome you to come back & stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Didnt thinkI would like it but actually the stay wasnt bad at all. Could tell the property was kind of old but was well kept. Everything worked plus I slept like a baby. The hotel staff was very friendly so it made up for anything that the place may have lacked. Very reasonable prices!

Room Tip: Be sure to use your AAA or military ID for discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank angelo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily Z, Manager at Fairborn Hotel and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

ANGELO T. Thank you for the nice review about out hotel & staff, also we want to thank you for staying The Fairborn Hotel & we welcome you to come back. We have done some more updates to the property , we now have a cocktail lounge open and the ( outside ) swimming pool was repaired and updated as well this past summer. We also had new carpet layed in the hotel in July. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed here one Friday night so that we could see our daughter run a cross-country meet at nearby John Bryan State Park the next morning. We arrived at night, and I noticed the space we had parked in had broken glass from a beer bottle. Not a good first impression. The outside of the property is in dire need of landscaping, cleanup and some new paint. The interior is average, and the lobby is pretty nice. The hallway carpets need to be replaced completely. They look terrible, dirty, stained. When we first checked into our room, the smell of cigarette smoke fouled the room. The nice lady at the front desk gave us a new room quickly with no hassle. She was very nice and accommodating. The room and the bed was roomy, but average. It was clean, bathroom was nice and clean. Internet service was poor to average, and not secure, so be careful. In the morning I noticed that the hotel had a very nice banquet room and restaurant that looked like it hadn't been used in awhile. Shame. It's a great location for families visiting loved ones at Wright-Patterson AFB. Fairborn is a nice little town with plenty of restaurants and other services. I would stay there again but would hope they would heed some of my advice here first. Don't let the needy appearance deter you, it's a good value for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor and close to front desk. The parking lot is not well-lit. Some of the back entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohiopapatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at Fairborn Hotel and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thanks for the review. The ownership has been changed in September, 2011 and we have tried hard to make improvement.

You and your family are welcome to stay in our hotel and you should see the positive changes.

Thanks,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The good--motel staff friendly and helpful, hot water for shower, cable good, refrigerator worked, quiet for the most part, close to Air Force Museum, pet friendly.

The bad--carpets dirty with stains, towels and bed linen worn and stained. Water pressure not good. Big spiders found in room (the meaty, furry kind) truckers out front picking up girls, broken glass in hallway, staples embedded in carpet, gaps under doors. The hallways are very dimly lit. Bring a flashlight! The water pressure was not good, sink dripped, trashcans had no liners and were dirty. The bed felt like the springs were coming through the mattress.

This was the most depressing place I have ever stayed. I felt dirty just being in the room. If you have a choice do not stay here.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and check out reviews before staying anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewer60439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at Fairborn Hotel and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

The ownership has been changed in September, 2011 and we have tried hard to make improvement.

You and your family are welcome to stay in our hotel.

Thanks,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I've stayed at several Motel 6s, so I know what to expect. This is an older property. The halls needs cleaning. The rooms were not clean. The tub was dirty, had hair all over. The rest of the bath was also dirty. Since we were there during Air Force Marathon weekend, we paid a premium for the room. My husband complained to the front desk and they did give us a credit of $30, which then brought the price down to a normal Motel 6 price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is an older motel and the interior corridors are badly in need of carpet cleaning , but for a very reasonable price if you just want a decent room to sleep for a night , this is your hotel. The beds were newer and it was very conveinent to the Airforce Museum , only about a mile away. There were gas stations and a quaint little family restaurant nearby. It was easy to find and close to the interstate. All in all , a good stay, at a good price. If you are finicky, look elsewhere, but bargain shoppers will love this one. One bad point , pool was out of order in August.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laffyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairborn hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Fairborn
Rodeway Inn - Fairborn
#13 of 15 in Fairborn
49 reviews
4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton - Fairborn / Nutter Center
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fairborn Wright Patterson AFB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fairborn South
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Dayton - Fairborn
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairborn Wright-Patterson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairborn Hotel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairborn Hotel and Inn

Address: 800 N Broad St, Fairborn, OH 45324-5245 (Formerly Motel 6 Fairborn)
Location: United States > Ohio > Fairborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Fairborn
Price Range: $47 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairborn Hotel and Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Fairborn Hotel and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairborn Best Western
Fairborn Hotel And Inn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing