We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Impromptu Lunch Find in Fairborn OH” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saya Korean & Japanese Restaurant

Saya Korean & Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 85 Restaurants in Fairborn
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Impromptu Lunch Find in Fairborn OH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Visiting Fairborn for an event near the Air Force Museum, we ducked out for lunch and encountered Saya because it was in plain view of the main drag, Kauffman Avenue. We were concerned about the lack of cars in the parking lot. However, we had a terrific lunch--mine was Korean spicy chicken. The hostess/proprietor/waitress was very convivial, and talked me into the chicken rather than the pork, because she liked her chicken source and the quality of the meat. Also explained how she arrived at the "right" chef in the kitchen to render what she thought was authentic Korean food. Noted the chopsticks only (you would have had to ask for knives and forks) and found that interesting. A thoroughly satisfying experience that taught me to get beyond how many cars are parked at a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ragrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Too Much Rice in the Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to a group of us who were traveling for business in Dayton. I was largely unimpressed with both the salad and the sushi I had. I ordered a spicy tuna roll with a starter salad. The salad was very over-dressed and sour, and the sushi was much more rice than filling. The two people I dined with ordered Korean style dishes and were both pleased with their meals. Based on my dining experience here, I would say that it’s worth trying the Korean dishes, but get your Japanese fix elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome fried sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were staying in town at the B&B and came to Saya. EXCELLENT SUSHI and we highly recommend the fried Air Force Roll.

The only thing I didn't like about the restaurant was they charged 1.50 or more per glass of iced tea...with no free refills, and didn't tell us that- so we paid around 6 dollars for the two of us for tea. (each got one refill)

The sushi was TREMENDOUS though. Very good sushi and the sushi prices weren't bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank achanso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New owners, horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

It appears the place sold and the new owners mucked with even the signature rolls. The JH roll had less zing, and had a sweet eel sauce drizzled on it, the salad dressing has lost its taste, and the big mouth roll had stale shrimp tempura inside and the white house roll was off the menu. The sushi bar salad was unchanged, and the miso was still OK.

Every time I go by it is empty, without the return of the old owners, it will be dead in a short order. Very sad.

For the best Korean around, Go down the street to a dive looking place called Yongs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maczj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Its not the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We use to love waiting here. Ur gasnr been the same since they changed chefs. The quality, presentation and quantity of food is much less than before.

Its a shame. This use to be the best Korean restaurant in town. I hope they fix there issues. Until then u can only rate this place average

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saya Korean & Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saya Korean & Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing