We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transitioning to a Clarion Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed one night there. The hotel is getting fixed up with new paint and carpet. Our room (349)was small , but adequate. When we first turned on the tv, it didn't work. The hdmi cable was removed from the wall plug. The cable was short, so I moved the tv close enough to the wall plug to insert. It worked fine after that, but as a customer shouldn't have to do that. The pool area and fitness area is really nice. The pool is one if the nicer ones you can have at a hotel. The provided breakfast was very minimal, and not equivalent to most Comfort Inns. There is a restaurant with a optional paying breakfast, but with Bob Evans and Perkins close by, I would think most customers would opt for them. I give it a average rating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to complete our on line survey. I am sorry we didn't exceed your expectations during your stay with us. It is unfortunate your TV cable was not plugged in and your right, the customer should not have to do that.

I am happy however that you found our pool and fitness area really nice. We have the largest heated indoor pool of all Dayton hotels. I hope you will stop in again and give us another try. I look forward to your next visit.

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 162 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Once again my stay was exactly as expected. Arrived late but still got food and although the breakfast choice was limited, the waitress managed to get me what I wanted. The hotel is about to get a much needed makeover and I look forward to visiting again when it's been completed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to do our online review. Your imput is appreciated and I will pass on your feed back to my staff. I am glad we were able to live up to your expectation and we made your stay a positive experience.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
937/832-1234

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is definitely showing its age but reportedly there are improvements coming in the future.
The breakfasts were very good both mornings though not included in the hotel price. For some reason all the TVs in the public areas were tuned to Fox "News" and the default channel on the TV was, guess what, Fox "News" as well. I felt as though I was in a right wing indoctrination camp. Not sure if that is a Holiday Inn corporate mandate or a local decision.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Paul L,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad you found our location to be convenient. You are correct; we are making improvements all around the hotel. We are painting the exterior and all the interior corridors and doors will get a fresh look. All the guest rooms will have new wall coverings, bedding, art work, lighting and the bathrooms will all be redone. And yes, we do have Fox News as the default station on the televisions only because it falls in the middle of the channel guide. You can go either direction and find the station you like. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused. I hope to meet you on your next stay. Again, thank you for your review.
Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a pretty old H.I. but the operators are trying to do a good job updating it and freshing up the place. The room carpets were clean and bedding was too. The basic hotel seems to be 50 years old but many improvements are in process. The restaurant has been redone and all of the staff was very helpful. This is not my first choice at this intersection, but I would definitely stay there again since the price fit and the hotel's room cleanliness certainly helped.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onceinawhile31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Onceinawhile31,
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. I am glad your stay with us was good and we met your expectations. You are right, we are updating and refreshing the property. By the end of November we will have new carpet and wall finishing’s throughout all the corridors. Half of our guest room bathrooms will be totally updated with new granite vanities, granite tub surrounds, lights and mirrors. The guest room will have new lights, wall finishes and linens. The lobby will have a fresh look along with the elevators. The other half will be completed by May of 2014. Thank you again for your review.
Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Based on Reviews I was a little concerned with staying here. But the Hotel Exceeded my expectations. I drove with my son out to his college a flew back home from Dayton after spending a night at the Hotel. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The front desk was friendly and professional. There are a number of restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the Hotel and I ate at an excellent BBQ recommended by the front desk. I had an early morning flight and, after a good nights sleep, the "free" shuttle was on time and I arrived at the airport with plenty of time to make my flight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Chubbe,
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a review. I am very pleased when we exceed our guest expectations. That is always our goal and we strive to have the best customer service in the industry. I am glad you took advantage of our free shuttle to the airport and that the front desk was able to steer you to a restaurant you liked. Thank you for staying with us and again thank you for the review.
Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here once a month for six months for business. Sometimes things were good, sometimes not so good. The bar crowd at times got rowdy and the karaoke crowd was less than hospitable. Most occasions my room was fine, but the desk staff it was a toss up. If it was a female, they were great. Every male I dealt with at the front desk seemed quite arrogant and rude.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tehilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Tahilla,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you weren’t completely satisfied with your stay. We go to great lengths to provide the best customer service to our guest. I am surprised to hear that about our bar crowd, we have many regulars that come here because of the nice crowd and good food. Our front desk staff is always getting compliments and raving reviews. I hope you give us another try and if you do, please ask for me and I’ll see to it that all your expectations are met and exceeded. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Tim McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We pulled up to this Holiday Inn and were very worried about what we were about to find. The area is not very nice, looks run down and some shady people hanging around the complex. Not appealing to the eye whatsoever, on the exterior and the halls/corridors. Feels very doldrumish as you walk to find the elevators.

However, once you get into your room, I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were very clean and smelled fresh. The bathroom was spotless. The towels were soft. The mini-fridge was plenty big. The AC worked perfectly and didn't make any annoying sounds through the night.

I was very impressed with the overall cleanliness of the rooms, as to what I was expecting.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkep11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear kkep11,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to read that your stay was pleasant and met your expectations. You might not have noticed the signs posted around the property but we have begun renovations. We will be addressing those issues you mentioned and more. By mid 2014 we will be complete with the renovations and have a fresh look. So next time your in the area please stop in again and stay with us. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Tim McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Northwest
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton North Airport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Dayton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Dayton Airport

Address: 10 Rockridge Rd, St. Rt. 48 & I-70, Englewood, OH 45322-2710 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Englewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range: $70 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Dayton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to flight inventors, Wilbur & Orville Wright, discover the Birthplace of Aviation in a city where you will find much to explore! The sky is the limit at the National Aviation Hall of Fame, honoring innovators of flight. Take a history lesson at the National Museum of the United States Air Force, the oldest & largest military aviation museum in the world. View contemporary art exhibitions at the Dayton Visual Arts Center or stroll through the Dayton Art Institute for an assortment of collections & special exhibits. Other great things to do & see while in Dayton include The Schuster Performing Arts Center, the crown jewel for performing arts, The Greene shopping outside mall & the Dayton Dragons to enjoy Americas favorite past time. Wait--there is more to your visit to Dayton a great place to stay at the Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport! The Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport Englewood sits near the Cross Roads of America. Getting here is easy by land or air with Dayton International Airport (DAY) only 3 miles from the hotel & I-70 & I-75. Located in the northern suburb of Englewood our Clarion Inn is only minutes away from downtown Dayton; also conveniently located to other regional metro centers of Cincinnati, Columbus & Indianapolis. We look forward to seeing you at the Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Inn Dayton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest Hotel Englewood
Holiday Inn Englewood
Englewood Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing