We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had better, Had worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
Owensburg, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Had better, Had worse”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hotel is very easy to find. Right off the interstate. Booked the room online, and when I checked in, everything was fine. Went to my, turn around and walked back out. I had booked a king Leisure, Non-smoking. Walked into a double room. Went back down stairs and spoke with the staff. They advised me that they did not have anymore King, non-smoking rooms available. I got a free upgrade to a Jacuzzi suite. Staff was very professional and curtious.. Was satisfied with the room upgrade. Bed was comfy and shower had plenty of water pressure. All in All was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I apologize about the room confusion but am happy you were able to get a free upgrade to one of our jacuzzi rooms. Unfortunately, when a room is booked online through a third party we don't always see the details of the booking until time of arrival if at all. I am glad that staff was good and accomodating and you found your room comfortable. Thank you again for your comments.

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    37
    19
    39
See reviews for
34
22
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
551 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

By the reviews, I was concern to stay in this hotel, but figured one night was not going to be that bad.

The rooms are definitely dated, I had to be a towel over the chair to sit down because it was really worn out and dirty.

Typically the pillows are soft and firm, all if my pillows were firm. My back hurt in the morning.
I found a bug close to the phone.

The one thing that upset me the most was the fact that two housekeeping staff were talking in the hallway. They apparently were not close to each other because the female kept yelling at the male. They were discussing some personal staff and how many rooms they had. Around 8:59am they stopped, but the vacuum replaced them!!!

The people at the front desk were nice.
The hotel was one restaurant onsite. Perkins and other chili place were within walking distance but there is not much else except for other hotel and motels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear CecilbelB,
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. I am sorry your stay with us fell short of your expectations. It is my goal that all guest have an excellent experience with us. I take all reviews seriously and will address the noise issues with housekeeping. I am glad you liked the restuarant. We get many compliments on our food quality and price value. Thank you again for your comments.

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had a 1am arrival at the Dayton airport. When I called the front desk to ask about the shuttle to the hotel, I was told to call when I arrived. When I called from the airport, I was told the shuttle was already waiting outside for me. The driver was friendly and welcoming- had my name and was ready for me.
The hotel was 11 minutes away, and the desk staff was also welcoming and waiting for me.

The room was clean and comfortable, a continental breakfast minimal but the coffee was good.

Although I read other reviews about the hotel being run down, the lobby, first floor corridor and my room were not Maybe they have been renovated by now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbrecken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear sbrecken1,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I am pleased to read your stay with us was a great experience. We strive to have the best customer service in the industry and when all our departments work like they did with you then we accomplish our goal. We are still doing renovations and will make it an even better place for our guest. Thank you again for your comments.

Tim McDonald
General manager
Holiday Inn NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I did not choose the Holiday Inn, but had to stay because of a cancelled flight and this was the comp hotel. The hotel is supposedly being renovated. This is no excuse for some of the shortcomings. The non-smoking room had a funny smell which meant I had to leave the air conditioning unit on and this was extremely noisy waking me during the night. The staff though was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Skip coffee at breakfast - worst ever!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, don't stay on the second floor which has the noise of the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Donna C

Thank you for your candid review. I am sorry you did not have a great stay with us. I take all comments serious and follow up with the appropriate departments. The hotel is being renovated. We just completed a new roof, the pool and its surroundings have been redone. We completed the new business center and will be starting on the hallways and guest room doors next. I will check on the funny smell and the noisey A/C unit and act accordingly. I am glad to read that our staff was pleasant and helpful. We strive for perfection with customer service. My apologies about the coffee. I hope you will give us another chance someday, come see me, I will get you a fresh cup of coffee. Thank you again for your review.

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Holiday Inn NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Englewood hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited this hotel and the staff was wonderful. The location of this hotel is great near both interstates 70 and 75. The bar area is great with a person name "Fox" and he displays the best in customer service and service. The housekeeping staff was attentive and respect my need of rest and relaxation due to my extensive travel. The hotel was dated but mostly quiet and my check in was great with a new employee that shows the skills of a check in expert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
WorldTraveler19999,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I appreciate when my guest share their experience with me. I am glad you had a great experience and that Fox serviced you well. We take pride in our customer service and always put the guest first. Thank you again for your review.

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Holiday Inn NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is very convenient to anything you could need. It appears to be under some renovations but it still looks pretty dated. The hotel is clean. The staff was friendly. The room was spacious and clean. Overall for a place to spend the weekend it does the job.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Lydia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was a great experience. We are in the midst of updating and renovating. We want to offer our guest the best experience possible and we take pride in our customer service. Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Holiday Inn NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is a little dated and need of updating, but this hotel has character! Also, they let you spin the wheel as a Priority Club Member! I have stayed in this hotel on two occasions and the rooms have been clean and quiet.

There are no good restaurants in walking distance, but the hotel bar has good chicken wings and they normally give you good coupons at the front desk for drinks. Locals seem to frequent the bar, so you will not be there all alone and you may get to hear some karaoke as well (actually, hope you don't go on karaoke night).

I am sure you could find a nicer hotel in the Dayton area, but this is the kind of hotel I love as a business traveler. You feel like you have been somewhere instead of just another airport/chain hotel as you will be surrounded by colorful people that you will remember.

I am making my third stay this year at this hotel this week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0mp0ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Composter,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am please to read your stay was great and that you enjoy staying with us. We are upgrading the hotel a little at a time, so you will start seeing some updates. Humpty's, our bar does do good business and attracts many local people because of our food and music. It is our goal to make all gust feel at home and to be themselves. I look forward to your next visit with us and thank you again for writing your review.

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Holiday Inn NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Northwest
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
4.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Dayton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Dayton Airport

Property: Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Address: 10 Rockridge Rd, St. Rt. 48 & I-70, Englewood, OH 45322-2710 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Englewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Dayton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to flight inventors, Wilbur & Orville Wright, discover the Birthplace of Aviation in a city where you will find much to explore! The sky is the limit at the National Aviation Hall of Fame, honoring innovators of flight. Take a history lesson at the National Museum of the United States Air Force, the oldest & largest military aviation museum in the world. View contemporary art exhibitions at the Dayton Visual Arts Center or stroll through the Dayton Art Institute for an assortment of collections & special exhibits. Other great things to do & see while in Dayton include The Schuster Performing Arts Center, the crown jewel for performing arts, The Greene shopping outside mall & the Dayton Dragons to enjoy Americas favorite past time. Wait--there is more to your visit to Dayton a great place to stay at the Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport! The Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport Englewood sits near the Cross Roads of America. Getting here is easy by land or air with Dayton International Airport (DAY) only 3 miles from the hotel & I-70 & I-75. Located in the northern suburb of Englewood our Clarion Inn is only minutes away from downtown Dayton; also conveniently located to other regional metro centers of Cincinnati, Columbus & Indianapolis. We look forward to seeing you at the Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Inn Dayton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest Hotel Englewood
Holiday Inn Englewood
Englewood Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing