We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Not at all what you expect from Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible. Not at all what you expect from Holiday Inn”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here when my flight out of Dayton airport was cancelled. I often pick Holiday Inn for budget travel, but this stay will make me rethink that. Room was smelly and dirty. These rooms really need an overhaul. My curtains were ripped but taped over with scotch tape !
Lots of noise from the freeway. This also seems to be a popular place for people to hang out so there was a lot of loud noise. Even though I was on the 4th floor I had loud people talking outside my window for a couple of hours.
Internet is free, but every ten minutes or so I got kicked out and had to log in again.
I woke up at night from the terrible smell in the room.
But the worst part was the check out. I had to leave at 5.30am to the airport. Check out took ten minutes ! The women just went back and forth between the back room and the front desk not explaining anything. When I asked after ten minutes "how the bill was coming along" she got very snippy it at me.
This hotel should really be kicked out of the Holiday Inn chain.

Room Tip: Definitely don't pick level 1 rooms. It is actually the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerbrand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    39
    19
    39
See reviews for
36
22
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My stay at this hotel was interrupted by a smoke detector thsat went off intermittently beginning at 5:15 AM, and a heating unit that could not be regulated, so the room became unbearably warm. The front desk clerk, when informed, rolled her eyes, and did not attempt to resolve the issues.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Englewood hotels

Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I read Travel Advisor's up and down reviews of this hotel and decided to stay anyway since it is medium priced and said to be under new management/ownership. Stayed Dec 27th. Outside of hotel is not really inviting. Dead summer planters etc by front door, yet once inside it was spruced up for Christmas with lovely trees etc. The staff were so friendly and honest. The restaurant at the hotel was empty when my friends and I had dinner altho the bar next to it was hopping. Really good BBQ pork special with baked potatoe, salad and drinks. Delicious! The room wasn't new, but it was clean. One of my friend's is a cleaning lady and she wasn't feeling inclined to whip out any Lysol, so I felt good about it. Everything was in working order and the shuttle bus and driver were on time and helpful/polite. I'd do it again.

Room Tip: I was on the side opporsite the freeway. Troubled sleepers might ask for it. I slept well, but I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingQuaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

On my travels i stopped in at this hotel to take a break from the long trip.the staff was so friendly, such a nice welcome.and it took no time at all to get into my room.once in the room it was very clean and cozy.I love the fact that they have a restaurant in the hotel i was on the road for 9 hours and did not feel like getting back in my car to go and find a place to eat,the food was very good and it didn`t cost me an arm and leg.i would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.i would love to say thanks to all the staff for making my stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hotel is very near to the express way easy to find , bar and restaurant is on the property, friendly staff and 24hrs shuttle service, The room was clean and had flat screen tv. Was on the second floor used the bar which is open 2:30 in the morning,

Room Tip: with kids take the room on 1st floor close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smartguy687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meinohio50364, Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We are very pleased that you were pleased with us! We do try to provide the best service and cleanliness that you, the discerning traveler, have come to expect. It's encouraging for us to hear from guest's such as yourself that we are moving things in the right direction. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Its a nice place to stay excellent bar attenders, front desk and housekeepers very friendly, but ran into a rude and unprofessional shuttle bus driver cigarette on one ear and snapping his fingers to get us loaded. guest of the hotel need treated fare. wanted to write a bad review but rest of the staff were good. The van was dirty inside and out coffee cups and all kind of trash in the van looked like van not washed for months.have pictures in my phone will upload later.I will come back and stay again due to location not ride the shuttle again if its the same driver.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geogre1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meinohio50364, Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of our staff and your noting the hospitality that we strive to offer is truly appreciated. Please know that your comments as to the one issue that you had will certainly be addressed. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Just stay one night at this Hotel and you can park your vehicle there for up to 7 days at no cost. Each day after is $3 per day. The room we had was pleasant and comfortable. And we made enough time to enjoy a really great meal their Restaurant. We were able to use the Hotel's Shuttle Service to the Airport in plenty of time for your flight. There was no charge for that either. All the Employees were friendly and helpful, which helped to have a "Stress Free" start to the beginning of our vacation. Thanks Holiday Inn, we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Families with kids who like to swim - 1st floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meinohio50364, Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for your response! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and providing our guests with the best overall experience in Northwest Dayton. Our hotel shuttle and ample parking provides an excellent service to our guests that are flying out of Dayton International Airport. We are very pleased that you were able to take advantage of this program and had such a great experience. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Airport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Northwest
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
5.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton West - Brookville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Dayton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Dayton Airport

Property: Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Address: 10 Rockridge Rd, St. Rt. 48 & I-70, Englewood, OH 45322-2710 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Englewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Dayton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to flight inventors, Wilbur & Orville Wright, discover the Birthplace of Aviation in a city where you will find much to explore! The sky is the limit at the National Aviation Hall of Fame, honoring innovators of flight. Take a history lesson at the National Museum of the United States Air Force, the oldest & largest military aviation museum in the world. View contemporary art exhibitions at the Dayton Visual Arts Center or stroll through the Dayton Art Institute for an assortment of collections & special exhibits. Other great things to do & see while in Dayton include The Schuster Performing Arts Center, the crown jewel for performing arts, The Greene shopping outside mall & the Dayton Dragons to enjoy Americas favorite past time. Wait--there is more to your visit to Dayton a great place to stay at the Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport! The Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport Englewood sits near the Cross Roads of America. Getting here is easy by land or air with Dayton International Airport (DAY) only 3 miles from the hotel & I-70 & I-75. Located in the northern suburb of Englewood our Clarion Inn is only minutes away from downtown Dayton; also conveniently located to other regional metro centers of Cincinnati, Columbus & Indianapolis. We look forward to seeing you at the Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Inn Dayton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest Hotel Englewood
Holiday Inn Englewood
Englewood Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing