We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malfunction Junction”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Malfunction Junction”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel is difficult to get to from I-90, poor signage.

Exterior of hotel not well lit.

Staff are not professional. When a guest approaches they ignore the guest and keep talking. Front Desk staff especially guilty of this, they even talk about internal company problems in front of the guest.

Lobby is nice. There is no elevator in the hotel.

Hallways have a bad odor. There are stained & moldy ceiling tiles in the hallway.

Rooms have a moldy smell.

I had a room change due to a broken pipe in the ceiling.

Second room was missing light cover in bathroom with exposed wires showing which is a huge safety issue. Room has a broken smoke detector so instead of being replaced the staff just installed another one.

Bathroom is missing the caulk around all plumbing fixtures, which means nothing to most people but to someone in the Hospitality Industry its a clear signal that the maintenance staff is NOT doing their job.

HSKP needs to clean rooms better.

Bedding has stains.

Hotel is advertised as 100% smoke free building but the FD Staff inform guests that there are smoking rooms available.

Had to change rooms a third time due to Bed Bugs.

Wrote this review the night of my check-in.
Rooms are overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hospitality_maint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    11
    23
    28
See reviews for
24
13
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My stay in early June 2012 was a mistake driven by location/cost rather than personal good management. A quick check of tripadvisor reviews should have been made before staying here - my bad! Quality Inns are generally pretty good - maybe basic in some respects and seemingly never "new" but can be a good choice. I was disappointed with this one, and could not recommend it to anyone really. However, I must say that the front desk personnel did a very good job.The bed was poor quality, though the bedding felt clean and the pillows were OK. The room had a microwave and small fridge (both clean) which were convenient features. The bathroom felt clean enough, but repairs over the years were just not tidy. The carpet had some weird stains also - perhaps attempts to remove other stains? The worst thing was the hidden "features" I inadvertently found later that made me cringe; behind the chest of drawers that supported the TV was a collection of misdeeds from previous occupants. Cigarette packet, butts and an aerosol cap (ashtray?) in a non-smoking room (no smoke smell in the room though). A couple of advertising flyers, 6-pack ring and general crap, and that was just what I could see without moving the unit for a better look. Also, between a night stand and the wall there was various debris - obviously thorough cleaning is not a normal thing. It was just a good thing it was late and I was tired when I arrived. I admit I did not mention any of this while checking out, but I just didn't have the time for the usual excuses. There are other choices in the immediate vicinity - consider them!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel - across the parking lot or across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michiglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elyria hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Moldy room, no one at the Desk, waited 10 minutes for owner? To come back.
Sheets on inside out ( did they even change them ? Or just turn them over.
No value for money. Lists a telephone and a tv as "amenities". Last night for $50.00 we had heated pool, fitness room etc. we've been ripped off!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gegegoodlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Unbelieveable in a bad way. The carpet has really creepy stains. The bedding is ancient and of very low quality. The ceiling of the bath was literally covered with mold. If it wasn't so late my wife and I would have gone looking elsewhere.

The staff was not engaged of even sorry for the condition of the room.

I'm done with all Quality Inn properties.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredVP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed here with my pre-teen daughter for 1 night in January 2012. We were just needed a good night's rest for a night while traveling. We certainly did not get that. LOUD people were checked into the room with an adjoining door to our room at 3:15am on a Sunday morning. After complaining to the desk, WE were made to move! We moved to another room at 3:30am which was very cold. We never received so much as an apology from this lousy establishment. There seem to be overwhelmingly bad reviews of this hotel. It's my opinion Choice Hotels should remove the Quality Inn name from them. Sleep in your car before you sleep here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The evening we arrived we discovered the HBO was not working. Went to the front desk, where they were all playing cards. They checked the lobby TV and said, oh yes it isn't working, then they went back to their card game. The next morning we arrived at the breakfast bar at 8:00. It was very sparse, she seemed to have trouble keeping up with demand. She also seemed more interested in serving her friends or homeless people who were taking up a couple of tables. We will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This Hotel is HORRIBLE!!!....When I checked in, I had to go back to the Front Desk and get switched to another room!!..The Comforter had a BIG YELLOW stain on it...It looked like a big urine stain!...And the bathtub was old and dirty, so was the carpet.

The room I was switched to, was not much better. The toilet seat was dismantled, the TV did not get local channels (only a fuzzy screen with lines through it), the blow dryer didn't work properly, the hot water didnt regulate, and again the bathtub and carpet were old, dirty and worn.

The staff was great, except for the one female who didn't honor my Choice Membership, and the Manager who never called me or never came to the Front Desk--despite my repeated attempts to meet with him.

The Breakfast Buffet was scarce, and the food--sausage and eggs were cold. The coffee was cold, and the Waffle Batter contained way too much water.

I took pictures of everything, including the dismanted toilet seat, dirty bathtubs, stained Comforter, etc. and forwarded them to Choice Hotels Guest Relations.

In this age of Social Media, poor service, bad food, unconcern of the management, and unacceptable rooms will not be tolerated by the informed public.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandCavalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Amherst
Days Inn Amherst
#1 of 2 in Amherst
314 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 739 Leona St, Elyria, OH 44035-2350 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Elyria
Elyria Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Elyria, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing