We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rest Stop...”
Review of Best Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Got to the hotel very late due to trip detours. The room was very clean and comfortable and we slept very soundly until morning. The breakfast area needs some work - like chairs to sit in. While there was a sign apologizing for any inconvenience during renovations, the sign looks like it has been there for some time and these 'renovations' really need to move forward as there is nothing more frustrating than not being able to sit down and eat breakfast first thing in the morning. The staff was all very professional and courteous and friendly - way to go staff! Great place and i would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We are currently waiting for our new furniture and carpet to arrive. I am sorry the breakfast area wasn't completely done while you were here. I hope you come back and see us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 340 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Clean enough and comfortable enough for our one night stop over. The lobby stinks from cigarettes leaving a bad first impression but our non smoking room was odor free. I asked if they charge people who smoke in non smoking rooms and they said they do charge $200. I have found that this makes all the difference in finding a truly smoke free room in a hotel. Went to a Motel 6 once and had to leave after trying several "smoke free" rooms that all wreaked of smoke. They did not charge if someone smoked in a non smoking room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boopnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were exhausted when we pulled in about 9, on a family road trip. This is just a convenient location off two highways and very industrial, but the hotel inside is updated, clean and the staff are very friendly. Think we paid $89 for two queen beds, perfect for a family of 4, we really appreciate queen beds instead of doubles! The breakfast was fine, our kids enjoyed the automatic pancake machine, and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope you choose us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The first floor hall smells like an old smokey bowling alley-darker motel feel. The room (non smoking) was better- no smoking odors. Our bed (out of 2) had a few ants IN it. Tucked the bed skirt up so it could not touch floor for them to travel on, did not notice more. Carpet was very dark so could not tell where the ants were if there were more.Soft beds, not firm. The lobby showing in the photos must have been new pix then- it no longer looks new at all. Same furniture. The free breakfast is NOT worth it. Maybe a doughnut or coffee/juice if you like. There was not enough seating for all- only 14 chairs total. Eat and move. The only smile I saw was on the night clerk- she helped reprogram our tv remote- it did not work. The day clerk must have a dual role with breakfast-she was not there for check out. Did not venture toward pool area. Good internet access with our own laptop. Worst hotel out of 4 we stayed at in our 8 days of travel.

Room Tip: Noisey A/C, poor breakfast, old smokey hallway odors. Too much $$ for the atmosphere, compared to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrseavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

This is the first time I have heard about ants in the rooms. We expanded the breakfast area and we are waiting for the furniture to arrive. The breakfast has more than donuts and coffee. We have pancakes everyday, eggs hard boiled or scrambled, sausage gravy, biscuits, or sausage patties and hashbrowns. I will take suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed in this hotel for a few nights for leisure clean hotel, bed very comfortable, rooms and decor new breakfast in morning, coffee and hot water available throughout the day micro and fridge in room close to interstate, easy to get to and go travelling from

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do our best to keep it clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We came here after having a terrible experience at the Best Western in Sandusky, Ohio. The first thing you notice is that the neighborhood is questionable. The building is a bit run down and upon entering the lobby you notice it is small and very unappealing. Everything is decorated in beige and dark brown and looks like it belonged in the 1970's.
However almost every person at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. There was no elevator so we had to walk the stairs to our room, not a big deal unless you have a lot of luggage.
The rooms are small, no sofa or chairs, just two beds a dresser and a desk. The beds were pretty comfortable the wifi worked great and the shower although small was nice. I didn't like that the sink is outside of the bathroom as I find that rather unsanitary. The room did have a bit of a musty smell but after putting on the air conditioner it seemed to go away.

The swimming pool is okay, nothing fancy and again the decorations are awful but it is good enough to have a nice swim. The front desk will give you towels but they are tiny. Definitely bring your own beach towels for the pool.
The breakfast was not great but sometimes you get what you pay for. My son loved the pancake machine. They offered cereal, eggs, sausage, donuts, pancakes, toast, bagels, apples, oranges and juice. It was a quick breakfast and it fills your belly. If you want higher quality food I suggest the Bob Evens not too far away.
To sum it up, if they redecorate this hotel and get rid of the musty smell it would be okay for a few nights.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

I am sorry for the must smell in your room. We are still remodeling the breakfast area. Thank you for the review and staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is very convenient off the highway and near Cedar Point in Sandusky. It has been updated and the rooms are very nice. Beds are extremely comfortable. Staff was friendly and took good care of us. Location is right down the street from restaurants for breakfast and dinner. The hotel breakfast is nothing to rave about. Food is not worth the price, "free", so I would recommend the Denny's down the street. Other than breakfast this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue R, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

I am glad you chose to stay with us. As far as are free breakfast, not being worth it I am not sure what to say. You have a choice of three cereals, oatmeal, scrambled eggs or omelets, sausage gravy or sausage patties. We rotate the breakfast so people are not eating the same thing every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria
1 mi away
Super 8 Elyria
Super 8 Elyria
#5 of 11 in Elyria
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn

Address: 636 Griswold Rd, Elyria, OH 44035-2392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elyria
Elyria Best Western
Best Western Hotel Elyria
Best Western Inn Elyria, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing