We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average but delivers what it offers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Average but delivers what it offers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Elyria was a half way point for us on the way to Chicago, so we gave the Best Western a go.

We ordered a double room which turned out to be two queen beds. When I asked reception the next day why I had two beds she explained I should have asked for a king not a double. Traps for Aussies, where a double is just one queen bed.

Agree with an earlier reviewer, the hallway stank of smoke and was very musty. There is no ventilation to the halls or rooms.

Wifi is complimentary..

The room was clean and bed quite comfortable. They supply funny half size pillows which were a little bit too fat but we adjusted.

Shower and towels OK.

One very positive thing - there is no traffic noise from either the I80 or 90.

Two gripes - the fridge was very noisy and the clock alarm went off at midnight. I had checked it when I went to bed and no alarm light was showing, but it certainly went off very loudly.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room ($90.91) and my MM had toast and scrambled eggs and said they were OK.

I think the motel delivered just fine for the type of motel it is. A bed on the highway for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    100
    56
    35
    17
See reviews for
125
77
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This trip was great overall. The employees are excellent, and more than willing to help you with any issue. Really polite and helpful. The only let down was that the Swimming Pool was under remodeling and therefore closed. Located between I 90 & I 80 the hotel finds itself in a really good location for travelers on either route (less than a mile in either direction. The roads around the area were a little rough in spots (need repair / being repaired). Very comfortable beds and clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montour Falls, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel about 2 years ago with no problems. We were passing through Elyria and decided to stay again. This was a terrible stay. The room was very clean, and relatively comfortable. However, we were in the middle of several smoking rooms with heavy smokers in them. We do not smoke. The smoke was so strong that it was coming in our room around the door, and the hallway was so smoky you could see the smoke. When I mentioned this to the front desk upon checkout, she was very defensive and not at all understanding. The breakfast area was also messy, many things were out, and the juice dispenser was dirty. Overall, we will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a definite non-smoking room away from the smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elyria hotels

Ridgetown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was promptly greeted with a very friendly and efficient clerk. The staff were friendly amongst themselves and I like to see that. They gave me an early check in with no problem. It was an easy and again a friendly check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

You can tell this is an older Hotel, stayed 4 nights, only had 1 good nights sleep from all the noise and fighting. Police was even called..And it smells horrible when walking down the halls. The hair dryer was busted and had electrical wires showing. Took 2 days to get someone to replace it. Will not stay there ever again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were traveling to a event on 2-3-13 and did not have many choices to be close . I like to stay at Best Western and just happened to be one there . I read the reviews and was not happy about staying there , but it was close and just for one night so I gave it a shot . I WAS REALLY IMPRESSED ! Newly remodeled , nice , clean rooms, new TV's with excellant selection with no problems. Heat worked good , shower was great . property was clean , snowing so it needed attention , quiet from other guests and place was full. Next mornig breakfast was good and on time. Staff was very friendly. I would definately stay again !

Room Tip: Non Smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was an overnight stay while traveling to NY. I would certainly stay here again for more days if the need arose. This was a better stay than most stops I have made in the past. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CAROLYN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
23.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#19 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
11.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Cleveland North Olmstead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn
Address: 636 West Griswold Road, Elyria, OH 44035-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elyria
Elyria Best Western
Best Western Hotel Elyria
BEST WESTERN Inn Elyria, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing