We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Stayed here in August. I paid a AAA rate of @$96.00. This place is clean and well maintained. The pool was is really nice shape. The breakfast was better than average(which is only faint praise). The carpets are a little worn. Make sure you get a room facing away from the McDonald's drive-thru! The kids loved the free, hot cookies. There are many restaurants within a few minutes drive, as well as a large shopping mall that looks like it's on its last legs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 405 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2008

The hotel staff were welcoming, warm cookies and coffee were available all day, the rooms were clean and updated and a hot breakfast was provided. All in all the, our expectations were exceeded.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gailnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed here on our way back home on vacation. There is not much of a selection in Elyria and this looked the best even if the surrounding area was questionable. The lobby is very clean and the front desk friendly and nice. The carpeting down the halls is worn and coming up in places. There were ripples in it. The stair well which we used to instead of the elevator had the same problem with the carpet and the walls could have used a new coat of paint. Our room was clean, Our window overlooked the dumpster of McDonalds so we avoided looking out. Pillows were terrible and my husband called down to get some extras which they brought up right away. The Pool area was very nice. The breakfast in the morning was more than the usual cold breads, cereals, and fruit. Again the lady here was very friendly and kept the food well stocked. Overall, I would say if you have to stay in Elyria, this place would be alright.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mom1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We have stayed here several times, but we have noticed a decline in the condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Everything was great, except the carpet is dirty (not stained) and needs a steam cleaning. My socks were black within minutes of arriving. The is the only reason I didn't give this hotel a "5 rating". The pool was great, free cookies were tasty, and the breakfast was awesome. The staff was very friendly, also.

Travelers--If you have a skin disease, please stay out of the pool for other people's sake. I know the pool have chlorine, but still...

Stayed: July 2008
Thank kleikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Our softball team stayed at this hotel this past weekend. The service we received was top notch. Although we had some problems with double bookings on some rooms , the stay was exceptional. Our team had an early game on Saturday and the hotel had the person running the breakfast buffet come in an hour early just to accommodate us. She was very helpful and went over the top to get us whatever we needed.

As far as the double booked rooms was concerned, I was told by a manager at another hotel that this happens with blocked rooms because when people call the hotel to book a room, they don't mention that they are part of a group block. This causes double bookings. If this happens, make sure that you cancel the room that wasn't booked under the group rate, or you'll end up paying the standard rate which is a higher rate.

In addition, if you need help, speak to a female manager because the guy working the front desk at night wasn't as accommodating with our requests.

Overall, I would say you can't go wrong staying at this hotel. We enjoyed our stay and our team will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Softballmom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed here for two nights for parent's weekend at nearby Oberlin College. This was a good find, as it is about 10-15 from the college. We reserved a smoking room and a non smoking, as that was all that was available, but asked for non smoking for both if possible in the special requests. They really do read those b/c when we checked in, the person ahead of us asked to be switched to non smoking, and they didn't have any available. I had resigned myself to a smoky room, but when I went to check in, they mentioned that they had read my request, and assigned two nonsmoking rooms. We had reserved a king suite, and a standard room, and they gave us adjoining rooms, so we could open the connecting door, and have a huge 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. If you plan on going for food or to the mall, be sure to ask for directions from the front desk. We tried to attempt it on our own once, and ended up turned around and backwards, with the directions from the front desk, everything was very easy to find. There is a Wal-mart close by if you need to pick up some supplies inexpensively, and plenty of places to eat nearby including a McDonalds next door and an Arby's across the street. This is a good choice if you have a student at Oberlin, or if you are just in the area.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank ponchogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
9.1 mi away
The Hotel at Oberlin
The Hotel at Oberlin
#1 of 2 in Oberlin
77 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria

Address: 645 Griswold Rd, Elyria, OH 44035-2394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located between Cleveland and Sandusky, Home to Cedar Point Amusement Park. We are less than 0.5 mile south of I-90 and less than 1 mile north of I-80 at exit 145. Also we are 18 miles west of Cleveland Hopkins Int'l Airport and Oberlin College is 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Elyria Hotel Elyria
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Elyria
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn Elyria
Elyria Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing