We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Traveler's Delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Certificate of Excellence
North Street, MI
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Traveler's Delight!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

These two weary travelers were very pleased with our stay at the Country Inn and Suites in Elyria, while en route to Pennsylvania. We have stayed at a minimum of five different Country Inn and Suites in various locations and have not yet been disappointed.We love that there is a refrigerator and microwave in the room and the brand has been reliably clean with great service and a hot breakfast. I find that by calling the hotel and asking for the best rate often gets me a better deal than discount websites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 206JanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We value your loyalty and appreciate your business with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inn & Suites Elyria, Ohio we look forward to assisting you on your future travels.

Regards,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    132
    54
    11
    11
See reviews for
189
57
19
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is an old property with tired looking room furniture; however the beds (queen) were very comfortable and the bathroom was up to date. Everything was clean and everything worked. Good internet. The breakfast which is complimentary was mediocre at best and here I am being very generous. Most of the motels in the area are 1/2 to 2/3 of the price of the Country Inn and I have not stayed at any of them. I felt this place was too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. We look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in while in the Elyria/Avon Lake area of Ohio. The hotel is located by the Midway Mall, and eateries like Dennys and Bob Evans. A 10 minute drive down the highway gets you to the shopping district of Avon Lake. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is provided each morning for free with hot items such as eggs, hash browns, bacon, waffles and an array of cold items such as cereals, fruit, muffins, etc. When you get to your room to enter the living area (king suite) with fridge, micro wave, sofa bed, chair and desk. The bedroom is separated by a door which keeps in noise in the hallways away from the sleeping area. We were very happy with our stay at this hotel and I'm sure you will be as well.

Room Tip: Choose a king suite which provide the most room for the dollar (i.e. livingroon and bedroom). We pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreratCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the comforts of our King Suite and the variety of our Be Our Guest Breakfast. We look forward to your next stay.

All the best,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a quick business stop, and with very limited selection of hotels... Ended up here. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly for both check-in and check-out. The free breakfast was above normal (actually pretty good) and the eating area was kept pretty clean. The only disappointing part was the room. It was a non- smoking room, but still smelled like smoke... And the worst part was that the sheets were not changed from the previous tenant...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekendgetaway628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. In reviewing your response I noticed areas where you rated us below what I consider to be acceptable. If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would help me to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard.

I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can email me at cx_elyr@countryinns.com, or reach me at the phone number listed below. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.
Sincerely,

Michele Crooks
Front Office Manager
Country Inn & Suites-Elyria, Ohio
440-324-0099
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

of course it's a motel- and usually you'd stay one night here.. but in fact you shouldn't stay even one night at the country inn & suites in elyria. too expensive ( we arrived late at night and were so tired of searching that made the mistake of pay 134$)- room big enough. not really clean and smelled very bad ( there's a pool in the building, i think it's because of that). happy we could leave in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orianajade_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inn & Suites Elyria, Ohio we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at our hotel. We thrive on providing all of guests with a consistently quiet, clean, a comfortable stay, unfortunately, despite our best efforts the task sometimes gets away from us. Again I do apologize for any inconveniences or discomfort you experienced.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel. Everything is exceptionally clean and well taken care of. It looks like a brand-new hotel but we were told it is six years old. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The staff were super nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good and the dining area roomy. There are not many restaurants around but there is a Denny's and Wendy's nearby. We would definitely stay here again on our travels through the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inn & Suites Elyria, Ohio we thank you for your business and are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It was our pleasure to provide a clean and comfortable stay and we look forward to assisting you with any future travel needs.

All the best,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. The staff was well trained, friendly and efficient. The staff could not have gone more out of their way to accommodate their guests. The rooms were good sized and well appointed but my non-smoking room must have meant that it is no longer a smoking room as you could tell when you entered the room that it had at one time been smoked in. If not it certainly had a world class musty smell. The complimentary breakfast offered a reasonable selection and good coffee which is served all day. The hotel can use a facelift in that there are some wear spots on the carpeting and a few other cosmetic issues. I found the price to be a bit on the high side for a limited frills hotel. Overall the Country Inn in Elyria provided a safe/decent place to stay for the time I was there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are easy to reach via the back stairs - elevator is in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see our staff welcomed you with great service and the room was comfortable for you. Our breakfast host was delighted to hear our complimentary breakfast was also pleasing to help start your day off right. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you on future visits.

Regards,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
11.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Cleveland North Olmstead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Address: 645 Griswold Rd, Elyria, OH 44035-2394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located between Cleveland and Sandusky, Home to Cedar Point Amusement Park. We are less than 0.5 mile south of I-90 and less than 1 mile north of I-80 at exit 145. Also we are 18 miles west of Cleveland Hopkins Int'l Airport and Oberlin College is 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Elyria Hotel Elyria
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Elyria
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn Elyria
Elyria Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing