We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff - Needs Some Cosmetic Upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Staff - Needs Some Cosmetic Upgrades”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. The staff was well trained, friendly and efficient. The staff could not have gone more out of their way to accommodate their guests. The rooms were good sized and well appointed but my non-smoking room must have meant that it is no longer a smoking room as you could tell when you entered the room that it had at one time been smoked in. If not it certainly had a world class musty smell. The complimentary breakfast offered a reasonable selection and good coffee which is served all day. The hotel can use a facelift in that there are some wear spots on the carpeting and a few other cosmetic issues. I found the price to be a bit on the high side for a limited frills hotel. Overall the Country Inn in Elyria provided a safe/decent place to stay for the time I was there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are easy to reach via the back stairs - elevator is in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see our staff welcomed you with great service and the room was comfortable for you. Our breakfast host was delighted to hear our complimentary breakfast was also pleasing to help start your day off right. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you on future visits.

Regards,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    138
    59
    11
    11
See reviews for
201
63
19
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On a cross-country trip my family needed a hotel close to Oberlin (where the visitors' lodging options seem quite limited) but also handy to Cleveland western suburbs and the Interstates. The location (a ca. 12 mile pleasant drive from Oberlin) suited us very well, and the hotel more than fulfilled our expectations of the Country Inn and Suite chain. Free cookies in the lobby and books (characteristic of these Inns), very spacious and attractive room that was well-appointed (in shades of tan and red), really quiet and with comfortable beds. We were impressed with the selection and tastiness of breakfast (and the nice breakfast room)--most pleased that we were given ceramic plates, cups, etc. and utensils in place of the usual styrofoam and plastic at many chains. The hotel seems to make an effort to be "green."

A couple of drawbacks: we found it a little hard to get to from the south due to its location off a divided local highway and the lobby smelled very strongly of chlorine from the pool when we arrived about 6 p.m. -- less so later in the evening and morning. The microwave and fridge were good amenities, but the latter had no freezer compartment. The biggest issue in the room was that the desk was located in a way that blocked easy passage into and around our room: when someone was seated at the desk, no one else could get past the nearby bed. That definitely needs to be moved within the room. Hopefully that problem can get corrected and that of the chlorine smell, which management reported had been taken care of. In all other ways, this property is really an all-around excellent choice worth the extra (we paid ca. $100 plus tax) it costs compared to other nearby chain hotels.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor (of 3) away from the elevator and, even though on the street side, heard NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank college_prof_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your travel needs and are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share thoughts about our amenities and your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again on future visits.

Regards,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our trip was to holylove.org and this hotel was about 30 minutes away. Hotel is not to far from the highway. Breakfast consisted of hot waffles, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, pastries/bread/bagel, hot meat and some type of hot eggs, and cold hard boiled eggs. Organic tea was great! Hotel is located in an area that seems to be economically depressed. Mall nearby has very few stores. Also, there are not a lot of places to eat nearby. Cookies in the afternoon was a nice touch. Front desk personnel were very helpful in directing us to locations. Rooms were clean. Beds were comfortable. Pool and hot tub were clean. Great for kids to use a little energy. The availability of a washer/dryer was beneficial. Could not hear other guests in other rooms, which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all our ammenities. I will be should to pass your compliments to our front desk staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Regards,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family (teenage kids), wife and I stayed here to visit Cedar Point (about 40 minutes).

Pluses:
Complimentary breakfast - includes eggs, protein, potatoes, various breads, muffins, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, coffee, juice and milk.
Free parking and wi-fi.
Relatively close to Cedar Point Amusement park and Cleveland. Much more cost effective than staying in Sandusky to visit the amusement park.
Relatively clean and rooms were large.

Minuses:
Neighborhood is spotty. Located next door to the parole office.
Running kids through the hallways. I found it to be a little loud. But with the air conditioner running, that provided a "white noise" that negated the sounds of running feet.
Only mediocre chain food restaurants available in the vicinity.

Because of its neighborhood and lack of decent restaurants nearby, I would find another place to stay if I were visiting Cedar Point again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sapamire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. Your bussiness is greatly appreciated and we look forward to assisting you with any future travel needs that bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel was close to Cleveland (30 min drive). Hotel was clean. Staff was very nice. The breakfast area was big enough to hold a large crowd (which was good considering a Starr Tour bus pulled up to stay at the hotel). Loved the fresh cookies available every day. In a area that is close to restaurants and shopping (a mall + Target).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank num1mmfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff here at Country Inn & Suites, Elyria we thank you for your business and for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rooms were nicely set up with the suite. Breakfast of good. Very Friendly staff at front desk as well as breakfast time. The rooms were very sound proof which was appreciated as I am a light sleeper. It was a bit tricky to get there off the turnpike for me but I would do it again. Very clean and updated

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to right a review about your recent stay with us. We thank you for your business and look forward to assisting you on future visits.

Sincerely,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family and I were recently traveling through Northern Ohio and needed a place to stay along the way. I had gotten an e-mail offer from Country Inn & Suites for discounted rates at selected locations, and the Elyria hotel was one of the options. We have stayed at many Country Inn & Suites through the years, and they are generally good places. This one seemed to be a step above the rest. The service was great from all staff members. I did not catch the name of the young woman who was working the front desk both Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning, but she went out of her way to make sure our stay was great. Our room was clean and quiet. We used the pool and the exercise room, and both were in good repair, clean, and enjoyable. The complimentary breakfast buffet was extensive, offering more options than most meals of that genre. All in all, if we are ever passing through the area again, we will be staying at the Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMFIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISElyria, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and our indoor pool. I am also pleased to hear you received quality service from our staff, and we look forward to your next stay.

Thanks again,

Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
9.1 mi away
The Hotel at Oberlin
The Hotel at Oberlin
#1 of 2 in Oberlin
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Address: 645 Griswold Rd, Elyria, OH 44035-2394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located between Cleveland and Sandusky, Home to Cedar Point Amusement Park. We are less than 0.5 mile south of I-90 and less than 1 mile north of I-80 at exit 145. Also we are 18 miles west of Cleveland Hopkins Int'l Airport and Oberlin College is 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Elyria Hotel Elyria
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Elyria
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn Elyria
Elyria Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing