We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai House

Thai House
Ranked #30 of 108 Restaurants in Elyria
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Elyria, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I love the Thai House! We've eaten at Thai restaurants in places like Oakland, CA and this holds up to par with those places. The pad thai is yummy, as is the red and green curries. The dining decor is dated. When you eat in, realize that there is only one server and at times she will have all the tables full and thus the service will be a bit slower. The server is super nice, but they should have an extra set of hands on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food Around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This small restaurant in a non-nondescript strip mall is a great find. When I walked in I was warmly greeted by the hostess. The waitress was friendly and attentive and the food was fresh and delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stopped in Elyria for the night and went to the Thai House based on these reviews. Everything looked nice, and the service was very friendly (if also very slow), but the food could only be called awful. The rice noodles (pad siew) were an overcooked blob, the papaya salad had no taste at all, and the grilled chicken was overcooked and served with a bland sweet and sour sauce that clearly came out of a bottle. The worst was the tamarind catfish, which was an overcooked hockey puck of a fillet (one fillet for 12$!) in a goopy vinegary sauce that had no tamarind taste whatsoever. Everything was salty, bland and starchy, about as far from Thai food as you could possibly get.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 38Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Love the green curry chicken. Lots of fresh vegetables. Husband likes the firecracker chicken (very spicy). As others have said--just a little place in a strip mall, but service is quick and friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jules71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grilled Chicken salad best around.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I always get the grilled chicken salad and it is the bext I have ever had once in awile it will have less dressing than I like or chicken is slightly over cooked but still tastes great other items are good to.

Pon & Al are nice a little rough on there waitress though.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quietbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House also viewed

 

Been to Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing