We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay at this hotel!”
Review of Knights Inn Elyria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn Elyria
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Reviewed September 6, 2009

First, had to change rooms due to smokers having been in the "non"smoking room. BAD list follows:
Wet carpet due to leaking tub faucet
Drip,drip all night from leaky tub
Close office at 9pm - no internet
All ice machines broken
All soda machines empty
Door to room stuck and very hard to open
AC worked about 20%
Coffee maker never cleaned in 3 days
Small refrigerator had NO shelves
NO SERVICE OF ANY KIND
4:30 AM Spanish speaking group arrived and tried to break in through connecting locked door between rooms, smoking talking very loud.
Called office after 25 rings finally answered to complain about the mexican group.
Called police, said it was a domestic matter.
3 NIGHTS of little sleep, dry rot under the floor, thread bare sheets, leaky faucets.
Whoever manages this hotel, does NOTHING, in the entire hotel maybe 15 rooms were occupied.
Breakfast stale, coffee BAD
NEVER STAY in THIS HOTEL, you will regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylosmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

We had Decided to go to Cedar Point for the weekend, but we Lived in North Caroilna, so we Didn't know a lot about the Area. We saw several hotels, but they were all booked. We were a bit Hesitant to go to Econo Lodge because we have has trouble with them before, but we deicded tro take a chance. When we entered the lobbyand sterted to check in, the Front Desk Clerk noticed we were from NC and informed us about the area. The People at the Hotel were soooo polite and curteous. The rooms, just recently rennovated, were Clean and cozy. Although the pool was a bit cold, it was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BahnFrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This is basicially a no frills place.I stayed here on May 22nd,2009. Typical Econo Lodge. Room was clean and bedding ok. Motel consists of 4 seperate buildings. Bob Evans restaurant in front of motel. Wendys within walking distance. All rooms on one level with exterior room doos. Area seemd safe, no problems. $59.00 rate includes free simple breakfast too. I would have no problem staying here again when passing thru.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Booked through Southwest over Memorial Day weekend for a college graduation. Room had not been vacuumed and smelled. Plumbing fixtures were old and toilet barely flushed. No HBO or coffee maker in room, as advertised. Room not cleaned after first night even though guest away for 12 hours during the day. When these problems were brought to attention of front desk, staff were friendly but otherwise not accommodating. There are many other places to stay in immediate area...wish I had done so.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algroth54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Stayed here this summer on the way from Cedar Point to New York. A good basic hotel. Quiet, despite being by the freeway. Very clean and well-run. Not a real good neighbourhood, but good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jayemwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

A classmate and I were visiting Elyria from the southeastern part of the state in order to attend a convention at a local college. The motel is located in a convenient area with several restaurants and a shopping center near by. The sign-in process was lengthy because they have to make a copy of your driver's license and the staff was not all that pleasant. Upon signing in, we drove over to room 405. I was VERY disappointed after doing a quick visual inspection of the room. There was a large stain on one of the chairs, stains on the comforter, cigarette burn marks in the sheets, a hair on the pillow, and a tub/shower that I could not use because of the poor condition of the bathtub floor (it looked as bad as the floor in the slower room at the local YMCA!). To be honest, it looked as if housekeeping spent only five minutes before we arrived making the beds, running the vacuum, and dusting.

On the upside, the air conditioner/heater and TV were in workign condition (though the TV was a bit small - probably a 15 inch). Also, the continental breakfast the next morning was acceptable

I have always had much better experiences with Days Inn locations across the country. I would not recommend the Econo Lodge to anyone. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere where the rooms are cleaner!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Had a two day stay to visit friends and the weather got very bad (snow). Pulled into the hotel having never stayed there before. The people were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and neat. Even larger than I expected with the double beds. The parking lot was kept clear of snow during my stay. I would recommend the Elyria EconoLodge to anyone and plan on staying there my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vsp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
7.1 mi away
Motel 6 Cleveland Intl Airport - N Ridgeville
Motel 6 Cleveland Intl Airport -...
#1 of 2 in North Ridgeville
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Elyria

Address: 523 Griswold Rd, Elyria, OH 44035-2306 (Formerly Carefree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range: $47 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Elyria 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Elyria
Elyria Econo Lodge
Knights Inn Elyria Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing