We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icky and smokey!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Elyria
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Second bad choice of the trip. They do take dogs which is a positive, but the place is dirty, smokey, and in a less than desirable location. I've stayed in worse, especialy in this area, but i would never come back here. I Would not recomend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGMElyriaOH, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

I hope you will give us another chance to show we are better than your review. We have in fact converted another wing from smoking to non smoking. We are continually trying to improve our inn and have made significant changes to both the exterior and interior. Also, we have added full cable and upgraded our WiFi throughout the entire building as well. Please stop and see us again. I know you'll enjoy it!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 304 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was very nice. Very clean. Comfortable beds, good air conditioner (late August stay). All in all a very nice room.

The one con: The bathroom was very small. When sitting on the toilet, your legs are in front of the door. To close the door while your in the bathroom, you have to lean behind the toilet. If your taking a shower and someone else is on the toilet, you have to wait until they are done to get out... The bathroom needs some space added to it. It was clean though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memmom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a miserable town. if you must stop, i guess this place will do. i am familiar with the area since my oberlin days but elyria is a crud hole. the highlights of our room included the lack of a lock on our room window. no problem though, as we were rewarded with great views of the traffic on the overpass, and the neon arby's sign. staff was friendly and were helpful in relocating some annoying guests. cheap hotel means lousy neighbors. the hotel allows animals so expect a faint odor and some barking. breakfast was underwhelming but we all survived and you wont do any better in this town. try harry buffalos for dinner at the midway mall-fun and kid friendly. couples will undoubtedly enjoy the adult shop right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: probably better to ask for a room facing the front of the hotel unless your dreams include arbys san...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endlesslyrocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We chose a smaller room but it was still spacious. The bathroom was tiny but we got used to it. I think it is nice that they allow dogs as they are such a integral part of family life. However, we left our two dogs with a dog sitter and still got woken up in the mornings by dogs next to us whining to go out or by dogs barking in the parking lot. We didn't eat breakfast there as there was not much of a choice, but I guess that's what a continental breakfast is.

The pool was nice and I liked the eating area that overlooked the pool- airy and spacious with glass walls and high ceilings. If you were staying with several rooms of family members, this would be a good place to congregate after breakfast hours to visit or play a game of cards.

The best part of the stay was the staff- they were excellent and very friendly. Everyone from the maids to the maintenance person to the front desk was very helpful and always said hello, have a good day, thank you for staying with us. We stayed for 5 days and it was overall a very nice hotel and a good value.

Room Tip: If you don't have a dog, ask for a room that is not near someone with a dog. Perhaps the hotel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickycust0mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGMElyriaOH, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate them very much and will pass them onto my staff. Come see us again soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a typical Red Roof Inn. Nothing great, nothing bad. Just kind of middle of the road. Nice glassed in pool area, which is where the complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning. Very typical breakfast - bagels, English muffins, 3 types of cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, carb city! It served us well as we were traveling with two little princesses who totally enjoyed the cereal and hard boil eggs. They were disappointed though because everyone likes their orange juice in the morning, and it wasn't offered. They had grapefruit juice and apple juice though. Rooms were clean.

The facility allows pets. Some consider that a plus, some don't.

All in all, I only paid something like $70 for the night, after my AAA discount - and that's quite a deal for this area. The staff was very kind and helpful too. Would I stay there again? Yes. As a matter of fact, this is my third trip to this area in the last year, and I've stayed here each time. Just don't expect anything fancy and you won't have a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momtomitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGMElyriaOH, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. My staff and I are continually working to produce an ever better product. Hopefully your next stay you will be able to review us even higher as we have jsut expanded our cable selection, breakfast selection and are very soon going to be adding flat screen T.V.'s with HD. Come see us again soon. Thank You. -Mike, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a perfectly serviceable motel off I-80. Nice sized, clean rooms--we fit 4 bicycles easy. Very nice staff. Lousy breakfast, but Starbucks is only a few miles away on I-80. That is really all I have to say about it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theaquitaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were a little dissapointed with our choice of this hotel. The second floor had a strong smoke odor and of course that is where our room was. We couldn't take a different room because their were only a few suite rooms and ours was the last avail. Our tub didn't drain and the toilet had very little flush power. You could use it for #1 but we had to use the main floor restroom for #2. We liked the area because it was convenient to both Cleveland and Sandusky, which were our destinations on different days. However next time I would just change hotels and sacrifice the convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGMElyriaOH, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of converting another wing to non-smoking. This should be done very shortly. Come stay with us again, you will be impressed when conversion is completed. Thank you again for your comments. -MIKE G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 12 in Elyria
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Elyria, OH
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
9 mi away
The Hotel at Oberlin
The Hotel at Oberlin
#1 of 2 in Oberlin
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria

Address: 621 Midway Blvd, Elyria, OH 44035-2443
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range: $56 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Northern Ohio between Ohio Turnpike I-80 and Ohio I-90. We are located between Geauga Lake and Cedar Point Amuzement Park. We are 25 minutes from downtown Cleveland which is home to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Quicken Loans Arena (home to the Cleveland Cavaliers), Progressive Field (home to the Cleveland Indians). Cleveland is also home to the Horseshoe Casino and the Cleveland Aquarium. We are also only 15 minutes from Oberlin College. While at our exit there are many sit-down style restaurants, shopping mall and movie theater. Hotel offers: indoor swimming pool, fitness room and continental breakfast. Hotel also has WiFi, 24-hr coffee station and a computer for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Cleveland - Elyria
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria Hotel Elyria
Red Roof Inn Elyria
Elyria Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing