We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To Fagopotion, unforgettable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of To Fagopotion

To Fagopotion
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The most accomplished of the waterside tavernas here, Fagopotion has an enviable reputation for its traditional recipes, fresh wild fish caught around the Diapóndia islets and fair prices given a location in the heart of posh ‘Kensington-on-Sea’. Signature dishes include fluffy, non-greasy three-cheese saganáki, succulent, pork-based bekrí mezé, baby squid in late spring, rabbit stew, chard-based tsigarélli (versus the usual wild greens) and melt-in-the-mouth octopus (Christos secret is blanching prior to grilling). Orange cake on the house for dessert.As recommended by Telegraph Travel in 2012....
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“To Fagopotion, unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My Husband and I are lucky enough to go to San Stefanos on the NE Coast of Corfu twice every year. We have done this for about 6 years now and we have made a lot of lovely friends who live in the village and/or are owners of one of the Tavernas (5 in total). Our dear friend Christos is a marvellous host and his food is delicious, especially his slow cooked lamb and his Sunday Lunch is a must. Such a beautiful setting for a long leisurely lunch or a gorgeous evening meal, late into the night. Christos and his team work very hard but it seems so effortless and everything right down to the dips are fresh fresh fresh. Christos we salute you and look forward to seeing them all in May. To Fagopotion here we come !!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meerkatchef007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    46
    20
    16
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely relaxing meal here late October been coming to San stephanos for many many years but never this late in the season so nice to see the quality and the service remains the same here beautiful home cooked food and friendly as always

Helpful?
Thank 2how
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, v. good experience at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had been to every restaurant in Ag Steph and almost didn't go here after some lukewarm reviews. So glad we did, the food was really tasty, well priced and waiters went out of their way to be helpful. They also gave us extra red wine and brill orange pie on the house! Great cheese pie and pork dishes as well. Really appreciated the good coffee as well. The menu was not as clear as other restaurants, and we had to ask a bit more what things were. But it was a really good experience and very enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cityexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The ONE place to be at in Corfu - Greek food at its very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We first visited "To Fagopotion" in 2012 and went back this year in May 2013. Christos and his team provide outstanding food for any taste to those who want to experience real Greek speciality cuisine - home cooked like no other restaurant we visited on the island.
Realise you must not be in a hurry! Just soak up the atmosphere and let Christos guide you through what will always be to us an amazing experience.

Our first meal was tastings of many dishes prepared around a theme; food from the land - or food from the sea. Once the many small dishes arrived and completely filled the table - all that was left was to enjoy. This accompanied with local wines was so enjoyable and satisfying we returned on 4 occasions during our first short stay in 2012.

Each visit we were welcomed as part of his wider family of guests that have first eaten in his Tavernas, coming back again and again. This of course added to the atmosphere and made for such a pleasant experience that had to be repeated.

The staff were well used to look after people and we found that even though there were many eating - all tables full the food came cooked to a very high standard and just delicious.

When we came for our visit this year, the greeting was so genuine and friendly with everyone remembering us right from the moment we walked in.

The fish and meat menu is all so good and great to enjoy we don't really have many preferences - but to try to decide on something to recommend we would probably say have the special slow roast dish with all the trimmings is certainly is a treat not to miss.

However once the puddings are to be chosen then the only one for us is the speciality Home made Greek yoghurt drizzled with honey and downed with a glass or two of Limoncello. Magic moments!

As the Daily Telegraph food critics found in 2012 and the Guardian food critics found back in 2008 - we endorse their opinion: this is without doubt the best restaurant on the island of Corfu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterandRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service and location are great and food matches it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon Taverna To Fagoption on our first day of a two week holiday. The waiter (Nicos) was great and recommended a few home cooked favourites- they were all superb! The location is lovely and prices very reasonable. We will definitely recommend to other and visit again. Great meal all round!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Fagopotion also viewed

Agios Stefanos, Kassiopi
Agios Stefanos, Kassiopi
 
Agios Stefanos, Kassiopi
Agios Stefanos, Kassiopi
 
Agios Stefanos, Kassiopi
 

Been to To Fagopotion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing