We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Theme Chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Max & Erma's

Max & Erma's
Ranked #16 of 224 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1972, Max & Erma created a fun, unique restaurant so friends and family can gather for good times and a great meal, and decorated it with eclectic artifacts and local paraphernalia. Since that day, we've been committed to providing our guests with irresistible heartland classics and friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere the whole neighborhood can enjoy. We've grown over the years, but always remain true to what makes us successful - delivering a great memorable experience so that every guest leaves with a smile. After all, Max & Erma wouldn't have it any other way.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
265 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Quirky Theme Chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place is relaxed and casual. I would not have guessed it was a chain, but I suppose it is a small local and regional one. There was a table of about 20 loud, drunk golfers who were singing "American Pie" when I came in. They could not agree on the correct lyrics, but that did not stop them from lifting their voices in song. The black bean burger was better than I expected. Wait staff was quick and efficient, but a bit inattentive, abrupt and scattered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bb_organic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    66
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We hadn't been to Max & Erma's for a long time [after mediocre experiences at the Sawmill and Monroeville PA locations] and decided to give this pleasant & convenient location a try. We used to really enjoy this restaurant, and as a long-time central Ohio resident, I have many pleasant memories of both the Dublin and German Village locations. I know there have been financial problems with this chain and unfortunately it seems that they're cutting back on quality. There were four in our party; two of us were very disappointed with the quality and taste of our food [note to other non-beef-eaters: avoid that veggie burger!]. The table was sticky with lingering crumbs when we sat down and I wish I had asked the cheerful and efficient server to clean it off, because it bothered me throughout the meal. I want this restaurant to be successful so will probably give it another try after the memory of this visit fades a bit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Max & Erma's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had a blackberry & peach sangria to start...it was delicious. The tortilla soup was also delicious. My husband had a club sandwich and I had an Apple, Pecan, & chicken salad. Both were excellent. Our waitress, Donna, was attentive & very pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

First time at this Restaurant and was very happy. They had a wide variety of items to choose from. The waitress was very fast and friendly. reasonably priced. Would go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VistanaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited Max and Erma's in Dublin St. Patrick's day weekend and they were staffed very well to take care of the crowds. Very timely with drinks and our food. The food was excellent. They had the Basketball games on and it made for such a great atmoshere. We've been there several times and they still yet to disappoint us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeSpike2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Max & Erma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing