We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased! We will look for this chain in the future!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very pleased! We will look for this chain in the future!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We came in late and were very tired and a bit nervous as we had never stayed or heard of this chain before. It was about 11:30 p.m. when we got in and there were fresh cookies which was really appreciated. The hotel was very nice, tastefully decorated and very spacious and very well maintained. We loved, loved our room, and the pool area. The breakfast buffet was typical but better than most and the staff was lovely and very welcoming. The only negative was that we asked for a listing of their hotels and they did not have one in stock. I know that everything is on the web but sometimes when planning a travel route it is easier to check options out with a book, and believe it or not a time saver. I am hoping that when we try this brand again that it will be as nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicatred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our fresh baked cookies and that you loved your room. We look forward to your next stay with us next time you are in the area.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    48
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
177
116
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Customer Service were great, the rooms are nice, clean and fresh. Good breakfast choices. All around just a great hotel! We'll for sure return next trip to Ohio! I know it's newly built about a year or so but it still seems like staying in a brand new hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taber33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A year old now, but seems still brand new. Stayed here one night and was happy with the choice. The hotel has a nice outdoor eating, sitting, sipping area, although since the hotel itself is non smoking, the smokers ended up here and that diminished the experience for non smokers just trying to relax or eat breakfast. We did like that the doubles were actually queens and that there is plenty of parking since we were pulling a trailer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was nice and clean. The pool and hot tub were wonderful with an outdoor patio. This was especially true since I had them all to myself even though the hotel was fairly full. The breakfast in the morning was more than adequate and much better than most.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdsews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the pool and hot tub all to yourself. Thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Country Inn as we were passing through the area. The hotel was very nice overall and we had no issues. All staff that we encountered were friendly and welcoming. Plenty of options were available for breakfast; breakfast was in a good-sized dining area. If in the area, I would definitely recommend staying here. The hotel is right next to the interstate but can be slightly hard to find as it sets back from the main road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed reading that our breakfast has pleanty of options for guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Rooms were new & clean. Decor was modern and less 'country' probably due to recent rebranding. Much more to my taste. Was impressed with breakfast: served on real plates with silverware. They had a variety of hot and cold items. Mixed fruit was good the pineapple was fresh not canned and the melon was actually ripe. Will return if we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next stay with us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband is originally from the area. We started staying here since the summer of 2012. Bruce at the front desk is always soooo welcoming and friendly!! As a matter of fact everyone that we encounter has always been friendly. We were upgraded to a suite the last time we were there (due to high occupancy). It was beautiful! When you come in there is a large sitting area with a pull out sofa bed, two comfy chairs, desk, mini fridge, micro wave, coffee maker, nice counter area, and closet. The bathroom was a nice size and it had a lot of counter space. Then you go into a separate room for the bedroom. We had a room with two queen beds. The bedroom was a very nice size and the beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean!! We did not get to enjoy the pool this time, but we have in the past and we love that it opens early and stays open late! (This is the main reason that we started going to this hotel, because another hotel in the area that we used to stay at, did not open their pool until late in the am and we have not been back to the other hotel since) My kids LOVE the cookies that are in the lobby at all hours of the day. They have a very nice breakfast! Cereal, eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, waffles, yogurt, fruit, danish, and different types of breads. The hotel sits away from the main road and is right next to 77, but we have not had any noise problems. They have books that you can borrow and I believe you can return to another Carlson property? We would definitely recommend this hotel. Love it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
12.3 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
17.3 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Dover
Comfort Inn Dover
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
16.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
15.8 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Address: 1120 Gateway Pl, Dover, OH 44622-7352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amish Country's newest gem - newly built and opened June 1, 2012, we welcome you to our 75 room property. Featuring the newest amenities including flat-screen televisions and high speed wireless internet as well as old world charms such as Amish-crafted hardwood furniture, the Country Inn & Suites offers the comforts, convenience, and beauty to make for a perfect Amish Country get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing