We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is new, (built in 2012), and the quality shows. Staff is friendly and accomodating. If there is one complaint, it's that the pool and whirlpool are freezing. Excellent value and super clean with nice amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungerquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreciate your business as well as your feedback. It looks like you had a great time at our hotel except the issue with the indoor pool & hot tub. We apologize for your inconvenience, and we can assure you we are following up with our maintenance department to ensure it is kept at the appropriate temperatures. We hope that you will stay with us again when in the area and we thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    50
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
188
123
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'm always looking for a Country Inn & Suites when I travel as I feel they provide a comfortable room at good value. This stay confirmed my view and I had no complaints whatsoever. The check in was easy and the front desk person very helpful, she also recommended a pizza restaurant that delivered and it too, was very good.
Everything was very satisfactory and I recommend this this hotel if you're in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad to hear that our staff was able to give you recommendations. We have an abundance of great restaurants in our area! We at the Country Inn & Suites look forward to your return trip to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Everything is very friendly, and clean. Kids loved the cookies at the desk, and the people at the front were very nice. Breakfast was awesome- and goes on until 10am (for late sleepers like myself, this is great.) I've stayed at places where you have to pay for breakfast, and it was better than some of those places. It's very cute, beds are comfortable and the bathroom is large. I also LOVE the fact that they provide make-up remover wipes as part of the toiletries. The comforters are nice and heavy, and the internet is so easy to use. Also as a side-note, I loved the wall art. Interesting photography pieces- not boring old or outdated paintings.

Hotel is also in a great location. Loved touring the area.

The walls are pretty thin, but that didn't bother us too bad. (Not like they were being obnoxious in any way, you can just hear tvs and voices.) That's the only negative thing I have to say. It's quaint, it's comfortable, and it should be great for a few night's stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our hotel and all of our amenities. Adults and children alike seem to love our freshly baked cookies! We look forward to seeing you and your family again. Happy Holidays from all of us at the Country Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I were really impressed with this Country Inn and Suites. Some of their facilities are dated and service is questionable at times. However, this facility is fairly new, opened in June 2012, and the girls at the front desk were very congenial and helpful. We were recognized as Club Carlson member. Our room was a suite with a living area w/TV, comp internet, sofa, lounge chair, microwave, refrigerator and wet bar. There was a separate bedroom with King bed and a large bath. Very clean room! Will recommend this facility to anyone and stay in this facility again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
On behalf of Country Inn & Suites I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that hear that our staff left an impression with you that will influence your decision to not only stay with us again but the Country Inn & Suites as a brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getzville, Ny
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is such a beautiful, new hotel in a great location, but the walls were paper thin. We could hear the TV and conversations next door and you must be prepared to hear the early morning train whistle that blows around 6:30 am and again an hour later. We would stay there again because the good points far outweigh these negative ones. The staff is amazingly hardworking to make your stay pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful with many healthy selections available.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor on the end of the hall since the noise carries through the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments and we’re happy you chose to stay with us. We greatly appreciate the recognition for our staff and are happy to pass on the great feedback for their hard work. Please accept our apologies for your noise issues. We hope to see you soon and to get the chance to make your next stay even better. Thanks again - we’re thankful you enjoyed our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We were really impressed by this hotel. Our suite was great with a large living area and two soft double beds in the bedroom. There is a nice looking pool, free WiFi, friendly staff and a great full breakfast with eggs, cereal, breads, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samiam7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementDover, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review on Trip Advisor we appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete Beach FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Brand New, inexpensive, clean and friendly. Full and complimentary breakfast. Wired internet for security. Stayed 3 nights. Enjoyed it. Room way more than adequate. Room for two in shower. Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Did not use pool.Restaurant for complimentary breakfast only (Excellent)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobytheDoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Dover
Comfort Inn Dover
#2 of 3 in Dover
114 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
279 reviews
17.3 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
239 reviews
16.0 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
15.8 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Address: 1120 Gateway Pl, Dover, OH 44622-7352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amish Country's newest gem - newly built and opened June 1, 2012, we welcome you to our 75 room property. Featuring the newest amenities including flat-screen televisions and high speed wireless internet as well as old world charms such as Amish-crafted hardwood furniture, the Country Inn & Suites offers the comforts, convenience, and beauty to make for a perfect Amish Country get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing