We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great small town restaurant”
Review of Trax Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trax Diner
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great small town restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I live in Tuscarawas County, and come down here about every other week to go to lunch. It's a small restaurant with a pretty good sized menu for the size of the restaurant. Situated in Dennison, which was a huge railroad stop during WW2. Definitely check out their salads-I've had just about every one of them and they're not only good but HUGE portioned!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool place. My dad worked at this rr ! Now restaurant.bar.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Old depot rr turned museum/ restaurant. Nice lady runs it. Good good. Interesting setting memorabilia. Get blk blue burger. Yumm. Er tracks still there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catwamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff and cute, historic place”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We ate dinner and Sunday brunch here in June, 2012. Nice place, used to be part of a historic WW II train depot. Has a good menu, but not real extensive. Everything tasted good and our waitress was very attentive and friendly. Not crowded when we were eating there. Their brunch is very limited though. You can only order about four brunch items or from the menu. I ordered french toast and it came with fruit and bacon, which is fine, but I wanted eggs and grits too, but they said they could not add extra to the order. It was a good meal, not fantastic, but tasty enough. I'd recommend it though, especially if you want lunch or dinner after touring the historic depot. Probably aren't many other places to eat in town, it is a very small town.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank VAvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem of a find in a hardscrabble town.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Trax diner is a gem of a find. It is an upscale dining experience in a John Steinbeck hardscrabble town. I had the Friday special, British beer battered cod and shrimp with chips. It was a wonderful meal apart from the second batch of shrimp (all you can eat) being overcooked. One feature I recall was the coleslaw to which they added paprika; I mistook it for cheddar cheese spread due to the color. Once I was told what it was, I found it to be a quite tasty mayonnaise based coleslaw, although the color was a bit off-putting. The staff was hard working and very attentive and the proprietor, Sandy, both worked the floor and greeted diners. If you order from the menu, you will find a number of tasty sounding items like scrod almandine. I highly recommend the restaurant but given the limited tabletops, I suggest that you either go early or investigate whether they take reservations.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Catering great”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Great food & good people to work with. Did onsite catering for our wedding and we are very happy with the service and quality of the food and staff.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trax Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing