We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish this were there...”

Old Bag of Nails Pub
Ranked #14 of 100 Restaurants in Delaware
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Wish this were there...”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

...when I was in college! Just a great place to go, with a variety of beers, seating areas, and TVs to watch all the games.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TORAM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    53
    22
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Food was good - service was appalling!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

When our group arrived, there were only a few other tables occupied. The waiter quickly brought the menus then disappeared until one of us flagged him down to order beer and wine. That came quickly and then he disappeared again. When he finally appeared he seemed annoyed that we had questions about items on the menu - almost like we were keeping him from something!

Our meals took a very long time to arrive and the waiter never came back to ask about drink refills and never brought the water we requested. Shortly after bringing our meals, the waiter came back with the checks. Too bad - we would have ordered dessert but apparently he didn't care.

One of the guys in our group asked if the tee shirts that the waiters wore were for sale and the waiter said yes and started to walk away. The guy said "can i get one?!" and he said yes and brought it to the table. If the guy had not opened it up to check the size he would not have realized that it was NOT the same shirt that the waiters were wearing. When asked, the waiter said "oh we don't have any of those kind in your size". Really?!

From reading the other reviews, i see that we weren't just there on an off night. Apparently this place has consistently poor service and inattentive wait staff. How do they stay in business?? Although the food was good, i would not recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service, atrocious management and disgusting food.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went there with my wife and two young children on a Sunday evening. The first thing we noticed was the manager duck away and hide to avoid dealing with the patrons waiting to be seated.

After ordering, we waited 45 minutes for our food. The server didn't return once during this time. No apologies or explanations were made when the food arrived. I received a plate of soggy quesadillas. My wife's parmesan chicken was so tough she couldn't even cut it. They served my son a room temperature glass of milk that tasted spoiled.

The problem with this restaurant clearly starts with the manager and trickles on down. Don't waste your money on this dump. Go to Bunn's Restaurant down the street and you'll have a far better experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stop in. You'll enjoy it!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped by for dinner on a weekday. Right on the main drag in Delaware. Enjoyed dining on the set back patio with live music. Large varied food and beer menu. Chose the mussels and shrimp app as my entree - plenty and tasty. Of course the fish and chips dinner was the best around. Much better choice Bag of Nails than the closer Westerville Pub, their patio is a joke.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PegCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We used TripAdvisor to find a nice restaurant in Delaware, and it lead us here. A nice quiet atmosphere (good for being able to talk) and excellent food. I would note that, due to it being a bar, I'm sure on weekend nights it probably gets quite noisy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DigitalDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bag of Nails Pub also viewed

 

Been to Old Bag of Nails Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing