We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Meal Ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veritas Tavern

Veritas Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Veritas Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 99 Restaurants in Delaware
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Meal Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

You won't believe the exceptional creations that come out of this small college town restaurant. This is by far the best food in central Ohio, it is certainly the best meals I have ever had in a restaurant. Emphasis on "Meals"! My wife and I have eaten here several times and each time the meal gets better and better. The ever changing menu and cocktail list keeps us coming back for more. The service is impeccable and is always accompanied by a short narrative on how the food and drinks were prepared and what ingredients were used. This is a great meeting place for friends and can also be a romantic spot for couples.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAUL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dublin,ohio
Level Contributor
187 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Amazingly creative!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The only reason I didn't give them an Excellent is the atmosphere. It lacks soul but the food and hand-crafted drinks more than make up for it.Four of us sat for over 2 hours and shared nine small plate entrees and nine different hand-crafted drinks. It helped that our server was also the bartender so she could explain the drinks in detail and had an extensive knowledge of the food menu.Top-shelf cocktails surrounded by wonderfully creative dishes made for a really fun evening.Bacon risotto , multi-spiced Brussels sprouts pork belly , ultra tender lamb , duck nuggets(yes I said that),flatiron beef(melts in your mouth)! All prepared to perfection.We ordered dishes 4 at a time but they were spaced so that we could share the plate around the table before the next dish came out. Wonderful timing! Go and don't be afraid to try something different , especially the exotic drink creations by Nicole.I do suggest going during the week though because the place only holds 36 people and DO make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
510 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Perfectionist preparation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

As it says on the front of the menu, we do not make changes to our food or drink, because they are intentionally and intricately prepared. My wife and I sat at the end of the bar by the kitchen and really enjoyed seeing the detail and care that went into every small plate and every drink. The quality and attention to detail were amazing. That said, the uncompromising standards were just very slightly off-putting. The customer is not always right because the restaurant is. Still, we had a very nice time, and the college kid behind the bar was sweet and talked to all his clients. I would definitely recommend this place and we will try to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Blown away by their creations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Please, please, please do not come here without an open mind and ready to have your taste buds confused, bewildered and ultimately deeply satisfied. Take a look at the menu to get a good idea of what goes on here - the flavors, cooking techniques and presentation are all very cutting edge and original. That said, this place is not for everyone. If seafood, popcorn, avocado, citrus and quinoa sounds too weird as a combined flavor, this probably isn't the place for you. If you like having your palate challenged and enjoy unique mixes of flavors you've never had before, then this is where you need to be. Even the drink menu is purposefully innovative. We had what I can honestly say was a combination of smokey, creamy, alcohol I've never tasted before. Every dish was like that, as well. We'd end each bite with, "Have you ever tasted anything like this before?" In short, Veritas Tavern is the place you go to have your conceptions about food stretched and rearranged. Personally, I plan to go as often as possible!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth it for a special evening...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a wonderful place in Delaware, Ohio worthy, I think of being in a neighborhood on the upper east side in Manhattan... Wonderfully prepared small plates, for sharing, is the suggested way to go and after enjoying their wonderful Feta dip Bread Plate we were anxious for more. Everything pleased beautifully. With a wonderful selection behind the bar, heavy on whiskeys, not complaining... ask for suggestions, they are more than gracious. You'll be on the high end for Delaware but it is a unique feeling place, worth it for certain for any special event! Don't expect a big meal, but DO expect some fabulous food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritas Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Veritas Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing