We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay, very peaceful, great food, wonderful hosts.”

Welcome Home Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welcome Home Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Delaware B&B and Inns
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay, very peaceful, great food, wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed in Feb. staying again in August. Just loved everything about the Inn. I plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishopmom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I chose this bed and breakfast over a host of Columbus hotels and bed and breakfasts for my first night with my new wife on our honeymoon. We stayed in the Red Bud Room, which was perfect, warm, secluded, and spacious for our first night together. Forrest and Brenda were so gracious, hospitable, and fun. Even though we were a couple minutes late for breakfast, they kindly accomodated us and made us feel at home. We loved the room, the gardens, the quiet location, and the breakfast we had at Welcome Home Inn! Thanks so much for a memorable stay!

  • Liked — Quiet location, lovely room, warm hospitality, and beautiful grounds!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEVELAND
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

I travel to Columbus frequently on business. My choice of lodging is at the Welcome Home Inn. I have always found the Inn to be quiet, comfortable, friendly and convenient. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing. The Inn Keepers are friendly and kind. The food is always good and I found no problems with the portion size. I like that it is healthy and fresh. The beds are comfortable and the Inn is exceptionally clean. Yes Forrest expresses his religious nature and also prays before breakfast, but I don't find him to be pushy or arrogant with it. If you aren't interested, simply say so. I find him generally to be a very good conversationalist.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lisalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

The property is just beatiful, but if you are looking for a B+B that will make you feel at home, this is not the place to stay! The inn keepers are very religious, which I have no problem with, but they impose their religion on you so that you do not feel that you can be yourself if you happen to have different beliefs than them - each morning you must be at breakfast at exactly 9AM or you will be made to feel uncomfortable. In addition, you will be subject to a sermon from the former preacher who owns the inn before you are allowed to eat! On Sunday, a bible quiz!

If you have any dietary restrictions, don't think that you will be made comfortable about that fact - they will make something special for you. The cook, although she did accomodate, acted awkward and made me feel like an outsider for yet another reason. The food portions are also very small.

In addition, if you enjoy a glass of beer or wine, you are relegated to your room! Nowhere on the property, including the wonderful porch outside, are you allowed to enjoy your alcoholic drink in peace.

I think that if folks want to run a B+B they need to make you feel at home in their home, and these folks do not. It's really a shame, because I would have loved to stay here again based on the property itself, but too many things have driven me away from this thought.

  • Liked — property
  • Disliked — owners
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnisky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda43, Owner at Welcome Home Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Response to negative points:
1. "impose their religion on you" -- This is not true. We can give dozens of persons from many different backgrounds including atheist who disagree with this.
2. "be at breakfast at exactly 9:00 PM" -- Not true. Guests select the time they wish to be served with a suggested time, if possible. Served between 8:00-9:00 for years at guests request.
3. "subject to sermon by former pastor" -- This is a lie -- never happened, and never will. Ask hundreds of guests who have stayed here.
4. "On Sunday, a bible quiz" -- This is humorous and funny and no one is put on the spot. Four quick questions are asked that takes about three minutes, and only occasionally is this done.
5. "dietary restructions disregarded" -- Almost every week for 18 years dietary restrictions are honored and every guest is asked about these at their reservation time
6. "enjoy glass of beer" -- It is confined to rooms due to fact we do not want occasional drunkenness public
7. All one needs to do is read the Journals in the rooms of hundreds of guests who love this place and have stayed here year after year with NOT ONE COMPLAINT, BUT LOTS OF COMPLIMENTS. As far as we know we have had 5 complaints lodged in 18 years of business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

We stayed at the Welcome Home Inn for an overnight stay. Although it was clean, there are many reasons I would not stay again. They seemed to have a fee attached to several things. Example if you wanted a TV it was $3.00. If you receive a phone call there was a fee for that, I think .25 cents a minute. If you made a phone call there was a fee for that. Also included on this same list was "Don't lay on the sham, if you want to use this pillow remove the sham." Don't lay on the bed spread etc. The list continues but I can't remember everything. At breakfast he tells you "We pray before we eat" prays for you, and then he walked away. How does he know we didn't already pray? We just didn't feel comfortable.

Helpful?
8 Thank AnOhioBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeHomeInn, Owner at Welcome Home Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2007
Owner Response to Review:
1. "many reasons would not stay again" -- Only gave 2
2. "fee attached to several things" -- 60% of guests do not want TV, mostly women, therefore we were going to raise room rates $5 per room, but decided to let guests who wanted TV to pay $3 per night and save $2 per night. Rest paid 0. What's wrong with saving people money and making TVless wives happy?
3. "phone calls 25 cents" -- No charge for incoming calls and 25 cents only after 5 minutes for outgoing. This is a business and we have outgoing and incoming calls.
We could have had policy of no outgoing phone calls, but we considered this going extra mile.
4. High speed wireless is free and always has been
5. Full breakfast is free and always has been
6. Free treats in rooms, free storage refrigerators, free ironing sources, free ice, free maps, etc.
We can provide hundreds of referrals of repeat customers who do not mind 2 fees. Compare the 6 acres of trees and walking trails and gazebo for the room prices we have? Unequaled! Plus we give discounts to numbers of groups, sometimes giving away free rooms to serving people groups.
Forrest Williams, Owner Welcome Home Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delaware
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
10.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
7.9 mi away
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Dublin
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
6.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Home Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Home Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Welcome Home Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6640 Home Rd, Delaware, OH 43015-7918
Location: United States > Ohio > Delaware
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delaware
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Welcome Home Inn Bed And Breakfast Delaware, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing