We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Delaware
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were actually looking for something in the north west corner of Columbus, for our visit to the Columbus Zoo the next day, but I really hated to into all that "loop" traffic. I found this hotel in Delaware, just north of Columbus, and it was perfect. Minimal traffic, a nice clean hotel with pool and jacuzzi. Who could ask for more. I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold B, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear DigitalDon,

Thanks so much for you review . We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , and we will share your comments with our team.

Thanks so much for staying with us and hurry back !

Until then keep on travelling !

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Delaware Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 332 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a nice stay, visiting family in area. The cleanliness and staff were good, free breakfast. Thought the price could be a little lower for the area though. Would stay again. Nice comfortable bed. that is one thing I always look for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold B, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Jennifer M,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back very soon . Thanks so much for review and we will make sure that we are addressing the issues with rates that you noticed while visiting us.

We appreciate you staying with us.

Safe Travels

Best Western Plus Delaware Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived at 5 am, were greeted by a friendly woman at the front desk. Check in went very smoothly. Once we arrived to our rooms, it was very hot and not as clean as we would have expected. There was hair in the tub, and spots on the toilet that had not been cleaned.The air condition did not work, but once we reported it, it was fixed right away. Breakfast was probably the best part, as they have a great selection, great staff, and food was excellent. Check out was very easy as well. All in all it was alright as far as the staff, but housekeeping could have definitely done a better job!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold B, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Miriah E,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our hotel and for posting a review. I am very sorry that your stay with us was less than perfect and we will address these issues with our Housekeeping Department. Every guest comments is taken into consideration and we use them as opportunity for training our staff members.

Once again thanks for staying us and we hope to see you back soon

Safe Travels

Best Western Plus Delaware Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We read the most recent review before checking in, but hoped we'd have a better experience. Unfortunately, it was just as bad, and we have to agree totally that the front desk personnel is unbelievably surly. Like the previous reviewer, our reservation was mixed up, and in addition after returning to our room after a long day away, we found our room untouched by housekeeping. Dirty towels, unmade bed - and after calling the front desk about it, received no apology, just an abrupt "I'll get there later, I have customers here". The front desk also does the housekeeping!?! We checked out immediately and moved elsewhere. Like the previous reviewer, in all our years of travel staying at hotels ranging from simple to luxurious, this was the worst experience ever. Now we understand why Ohio Wesleyan University does not include them in their list of places to stay!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank traveller2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold B, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Traveller2022,

Thanks so much for your review . We are deeply sorry that your stay with us was less than perfect . We will address the issues to our staff as part of their training . Please contact our General Manager ( Mr. Nick Arora) directly so we can discuss your stay so we can try to resolve your situation.

Kind regards,

Best Western Plus Delaware Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

With a Freshman daughter at Ohio Wesleyan, we have stayed at this Best Western several times over the past year. Except for its relatively close proximity to the OWU campus, there is nothing remarkable about this hotel. We found it to be very average when we first stayed there a year ago.

However, whether due to staff changes or cost-cutting measures, this very average hotel has gone even further downhill just in the past year, most notably in terms of customer service. The front desk personnel are surly and, in a couple of cases, downright incompetent, having mixed up our reservations on two separate occasions.

On another visit, we returned to our room early one evening to find our door propped open with the interior lights off. Shocked and alarmed, we weren't sure it was safe to enter. The dispassionate front desk clerk simply shrugged and said she guessed that Housekeeping must have "forgotten" to close our door earlier that afternoon. She gave no sign of being shocked herself, nor did she offer even a hint of an apology. Perhaps she is used to this sort of thing happening in her hotel, but in all our travels over the years, we've never had anything remotely like it happen to us. We were just glad we had taken all our valuables WITH us that day.

To make matters worse, this Best Western has a 24-Hour cancellation policy. If you are forced to cancel your trip due to sudden illness, death in the family, or unsafe driving due to poor weather, it doesn't matter how swiftly you call to notify the hotel you can't make the trip. Even if you notify them first thing that morning, if it's within the 24 hour period prior to check-in, you will get NO sympathy from the hotel, and you WILL be charged for the room you reserved -- even if their website shows they have plenty of vacancy.

This Best Western is NOT recommended by Ohio Wesleyan University, as per the "Where To Stay" section of their catalog. Now we know why. Fortunately, there are much better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chickadee700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold B, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear chickadee700 ,

Thanks so much for your review . We do take our comments very serious and we are deeply sorry that your stay with us was not what you were expecting during your booking. We have many guests from Ohio Wesleyan University that stay with us daily and I can assure that they did not experience the same stay that you had recently.

Please contact the our General Manager( Mr. Nick Arora) directly at the hotel as we would like further discuss this situation and make sure that you are being treated as all guests that walk trough our doors.

Hope your hear back from you very soon .

Thanks for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Best Western Plus Delaware Inn .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've stayed at this property several times during trips to nearby Ohio Wesleyan University.

First, the good. Beds are comfortable, pillows great. WiFi signal is strong. Rooms are clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Special kudos to the breakfast staff. The meal is top-notch with a clean, well-kept dining area, good variety, full trays and food served at the proper temperature.

The not-so-good. Management needs to be a little more on top of some basic maintenance/replacement/updating.

The first room I was given had only one bath towel, and a fridge that gave off the most amazing, rhythmic, tick-tock noise. I debated staying, but then imagined trying to get to sleep later. No problem changing rooms. In the second room, the tv remote did not work. I am a seasoned enough, or perhaps quirky enough, traveller that I carry AA and AAA batteries in my overnight bag. The new batteries got most functions working, but not the +/- channel button. The poor thing was just worn out. The heating/cooling unit took some jiggering to get it working correctly.

A suggestion on room choice. Even though there is no elevator, try to get a second floor room if you can handle luggage up the stairs. It can be noisy on the first floor if you have active or heavy footed folks above you. Also, try to be away from the entry doors, as they can slam noisily.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank dosriveras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold B, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear dosriveras,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back very soon . Thanks so much for review and we will make sure that we are addressing the issues that you noticed while visiting the property with our maintenance department.

We appreciate you staying with us.

Safe Travels

Best Western Plus Delaware Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in the past 3 months. The first night I stayed there was Perfection. The bed was comfortable, the pillows great...no noise (and it was the weekend) and the breakfast hostess was amazing. Fast forward to last week. Here is what I learned (after staying 5 consecutive nights in a row). This hotel says Pet Friendly. It is not. I have a 8 month puppy who doesn't bark and is harmless. Even though housekeeping skipped my room entirely ONE day (and the dog wasn't at the hotel for 2 1/2 days)...including that one...Housekeeping used my DOG as an excuse NOT to come in and make my beds. (Also...tip to management...don't send the ONE housekeeper that is DEATHLY afraid of ALL dogs).

Also...My mattress after one night had a dip in the middle...I was told by the woman manager on duty THAT "It is too much of a pain for us to switch mattresses...You have to switch rooms." I have 3 kids and was working out of the room. Really?????? The customer has to ACOMMODATE the management when the mattress was CLEARLY not in good shape? NOT COOL. They ended up switching the mattress...but it might have been the box springs because we still rolled to the middle. (This was one reason I chose this hotel because I had a good nights sleep the first time I stayed there).

The breakfast hosts each day did a great job with the buffet and nothing was ever empty. Overall, we were satisfied but thought due to the length of our stay and the money paid, we were due a little more respect and appreciation....Just sayin'

Room Tip: Always try for a bottom room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenewellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold B, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Serenewellness,

Thank you so much for your review . We do apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect. We strive daily to ensure that our guests are welcomed well and we are providing exceptional guest services.

We will address these issues with our housekeeping department for future guests and we will get corrected.

We hope that you will consider us for your future stay and thank you so much for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Best Western Plus Delaware Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delaware
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/Delaware
10.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
8.3 mi away
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
12.7 mi away
Ramada Columbus Polaris
Ramada Columbus Polaris
#81 of 143 in Columbus
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware

Address: 1720 Columbus Pike, Delaware, OH 43015-2726 (Formerly Best Western Delaware Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Delaware
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Delaware
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware hotel located off of Rt. 23 near Delaware Municipal Airport (DLZ) and within driving range of I-71, I-270, and Port Columbus International Airport (CMH). Our non-smoking and pet-friendly location is convenient for families of students attending Ohio Wesleyan University or Methodist Theological School in Ohio. If you are traveling on business, we are also within driving range of Domtar Corporation, PPG Industries, and a number of other local companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delaware Best Western
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing