We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of The Second Story

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Defiance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Second Story
Ranked #1 of 3 Defiance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Being away from home while on business is always a trifling matter considering all of the extra inconveniences that have to be dealt with to perform as normal on any given day. The Second Story has eliminated almost all of those inconveniences and I feel almost as if I am pampering myself during my stay. The owners have paid extreme attention to detail and truly wish you ensure that your trip is excellent from your arrival to departure.

The Second Story brings not just a touch of class but a whole handful to make your stay more enjoyable for any occasion. It has far surpassed my expectations for great housing accommodations and customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 167jeremym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

I booked the entire space at The Second Story for a "girls night in" get away for 8 ladies. We were very impressed with the accommodations that The Second Story provided. The kitchen was amazing and large and fully equipped with whatever you needed. The common areas (there are several) were spacious and comfortable and plenty of things to do (pool table, Foosball table, poker table, outside deck area). The bedrooms were roomy and comfortable as well as the bathrooms. This is an excellent space to use for any gathering or get together with plenty of room for everyone! It is absolutely beautiful! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alisa0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We rent the Second Story for business partner meetings and out of town sales executives. This is the perfect solution for hosting a business meeting and housing any out of town employees. We have multiple business locations outside the state of Ohio. The Second Story allows us to utilize our investment dollars and receive maximum results..
We have always been greeted with a suburb welcome greeting, beginning with the management, and extending that welcome with four star conditions and cleanliness throughout the Second Story, every time. Everything is updated and it is equipped with a "dream kitchen". The space and layout is perfect for meetings. The multiple bedrooms and baths are beautifully decorated. The Second Story allow you to successfully arrange overnight planning with multiple number of people. Everything is at your fingertips. The management team will help you plan a successful meeting from beginning to end. They really understand the concept of service with a smile! The location is within walking distance of downtown restaurants, coffee shops and small town ambiance charm. This would also make an awesome couples getaway. We love working with the second story. Their management team thinks of everything and anything you may need, long before your stay begins. It really is the "perfect solution" in our plan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank plynott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Second Story exceeded our expectations! It is clean, upscale, spacious, inviting and the decor is beautiful! It was the perfect venue for a small graduation party. Thank you for making our event a memorable one! We are already looking forward to booking another event there sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BGSUGIRLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our husbands surprised us with an overnight @ Second Story. When we arrived we had appetizers and a massage. An awesome Dinner was prepared for us and we enjoyed much needed time together with girlfriends! The next day we had a delicious brunch and then went to a yoga class. I will definitely return to Second Story as we were treated like queens!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesecondstoryjoycer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I rented the property for a small wedding reception. The property could not have been more perfect! First of all it's absolutely beautiful, spacious, well equipped with just about everything you can think of! The property has an elegant open kitchen/bar, pool table, poker table and outdoor deck which my guests enjoyed as we had a gorgeous sunny day. The owner made us feel special by leaving sparkling wine and flowers for us in the master suite for our big day. I would definetly return!! The Second Story is a total 10:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We used The Second Story as a location for a friends nights. As parents of young children, we wanted a location that was close to home but still nice and elegant. The Second Story exceeded all expectations. It is fantastically decorated, and has a variety of activities including a pool table, fuzz ball table and poker table. We had a wonderful time, and hope that this is something that we can do again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Defiance
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Defiance
Hampton Inn Defiance
#1 of 4 in Defiance
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Defiance
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Napoleon
60 reviews
15.8 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#2 of 2 in Bryan
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Defiance
Super 8 Defiance
#4 of 4 in Defiance
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Second Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Second Story

Address: 210 Clinton St Ste A, Defiance, OH 43512-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Defiance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Defiance
Price Range: $129 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Second Story is an incredible 4,000 square-foot loft with space to gather and privacy to retreat. It features two guest suites that provide luxurious accommodations that outshine area hotels and motels, along with a common area that's perfect for relaxing or entertaining. The king suite is quiet, private, and includes a Jacuzzi tub and its own TV. The queen suite features adjoining rooms that sleep four total and share a Jack and Jill style bath. The Second Story common area includes beautiful cherry hardwood floors, a dining table, game tables, pool table, stereo, 50" HD TV, fireplace and a fabulous kitchen. The back deck has comfortable space and a propane grill for guest use. Guests find our space roomy and tastefully decorated, and they truly appreciate the kitchen and dining areas. Kick back and enjoy a game of pool, relax on the deck, grill out and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Second Story Defiance, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing