We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Second Story is a hidden gem!”
Review of The Second Story

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Defiance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Second Story
Ranked #1 of 3 Defiance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
BGSUGIRLIE
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Second Story is a hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Second Story exceeded our expectations! It is clean, upscale, spacious, inviting and the decor is beautiful! It was the perfect venue for a small graduation party. Thank you for making our event a memorable one! We are already looking forward to booking another event there sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BGSUGIRLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
9
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napoleon, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our husbands surprised us with an overnight @ Second Story. When we arrived we had appetizers and a massage. An awesome Dinner was prepared for us and we enjoyed much needed time together with girlfriends! The next day we had a delicious brunch and then went to a yoga class. I will definitely return to Second Story as we were treated like queens!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesecondstoryjoycer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I rented the property for a small wedding reception. The property could not have been more perfect! First of all it's absolutely beautiful, spacious, well equipped with just about everything you can think of! The property has an elegant open kitchen/bar, pool table, poker table and outdoor deck which my guests enjoyed as we had a gorgeous sunny day. The owner made us feel special by leaving sparkling wine and flowers for us in the master suite for our big day. I would definetly return!! The Second Story is a total 10:)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We used The Second Story as a location for a friends nights. As parents of young children, we wanted a location that was close to home but still nice and elegant. The Second Story exceeded all expectations. It is fantastically decorated, and has a variety of activities including a pool table, fuzz ball table and poker table. We had a wonderful time, and hope that this is something that we can do again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a great and relaxing time! Drinks and appetizers when we arrived, followed by massages, dinner delivered and served which was delicious. In the morning breakfast was served also delicious then off to a yoga class. I give this place 6 stars...gorgeous!'

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Second Story was the perfect venue to host my bridal shower and bachelorette party!! The large open space accomodated all of my guests. Every room was fully stocked with everything we might need during our stay. The staff was very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We used the Second Story for a place to stay the night before my wedding. All of my bridesmaids were from out of town so having somewhere for everyone to stay that had a bed was wonderful! The space was exactly what we needed for that evening as well as the morning of my wedding! We had somewhere to have breakfast as well as for everyone to get ready and there was no stress at all! Thank you so much Sylvia for this experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirstie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Defiance
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Defiance
Hampton Inn Defiance
#1 of 4 in Defiance
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Defiance
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Plaza Motel Bryan
Plaza Motel Bryan
#1 of 2 in Bryan
101 reviews
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Napoleon
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Defiance
Super 8 Defiance
#4 of 4 in Defiance
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Second Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Second Story

Property: The Second Story
Address: 210 Clinton St Ste A, Defiance, OH 43512-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Defiance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Defiance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Second Story is an incredible 4,000 square-foot loft with space to gather and privacy to retreat. It features two guest suites that provide luxurious accommodations that outshine area hotels and motels, along with a common area that's perfect for relaxing or entertaining. The king suite is quiet, private, and includes a Jacuzzi tub and its own TV. The queen suite features adjoining rooms that sleep four total and share a Jack and Jill style bath. The Second Story common area includes beautiful cherry hardwood floors, a dining table, game tables, pool table, stereo, 50" HD TV, fireplace and a fabulous kitchen. The back deck has comfortable space and a propane grill for guest use. Guests find our space roomy and tastefully decorated, and they truly appreciate the kitchen and dining areas. Kick back and enjoy a game of pool, relax on the deck, grill out and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Second Story Defiance, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing