We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Night Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1148 Hotel Drive, US 24 & ST RD 66 ON Junction, Defiance, OH 43512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Defiance
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Night Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Convenient, quiet location but still close to everything. Check in was speedy and pleasant. Small problem with room was repaired quickly. Room was very clean. Generally a nice stay. My only desire would have been a softer bed. We both thought the mattress was a bit too hard. Breakfast offering was hot and cold items and, of course, the warm Cinnamon Rolls.

Room Tip: This motel is set back from the highway and is a good distance away from other buildings. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommeontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
3
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
292 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was a nice place with comfy beds and new tv's. Plenty of parking and nice breakfast. Fun sports bar wings place real close. Yes I will stay again when in historic Defiance. The staff was very nice too.

Room Tip: Away from the conference room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfarmer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Found this to be a "4-C" hotel: clean, comfortable, convenient and cool. Sufficient updates to be in step with the times, along with the simple pluses like fridge and microwave that I appreciate. There was also a small, but suitable fitness center, featuring not only the standard treadmill but also weight equipment to do lat pulls, bicep curls, etc. Free breakfast buffet was decent - basic eggs, bacon, breads, pancake maker and yogurt, plus coffee and tea. Would have preferred more fresh fruit options than bananas, since I don't eat heavy stuff in the mornings. And herbal tea would have been nice.

As for staff, everyone was courteous and friendly. Checked in late at night. Lady at front desk was not in uniform and dressed as if she just finished painting somewhere, so my first thought was: If she is a reflection of the rooms, do I really want to stay here? I hope management will mandate professional attire at all times.

This hotel is among a cluster of "inns" on Hotel Drive. I've stayed also at the Hampton Inn among them, but think I like HIE better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyinMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and didn't expect this property to be as nice. Front desk, housekeeping and breakfast staff so nice- even gave us early check-in. Our teen girls enjoyed pool and hot tub. Restaurant walking distance.Clean rooms. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonstream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My daugher and I stayed here for 3 nights for a softball tournament this past weekend. The pictures of this HIE do not do it justice. The entire hotel has been renovated with new walls, new flat screen TV's, and all new refrigerators and microwaves. Very modern and upgraded! The entire hotel is spotless! The staff was abosolutey awesome. Brock the manager, was super accomodating to our needs and went above and beyond to make our stay was more than nice. Hospitality is definitely this hotel's number one priority!

The location is good also. It is right across the street from a Meijers and WalMart is down the road. And there are several restuarants right in the area.

This is definitely worth the stay!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights, just this last weekend... rooms very clean, staff very helpful, typical breakfast, but all in all great place to stay would do so again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamCooper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Clean hotel with very nice and competent staff. Breakfast was quite good and consisted of pancakes, bacon, biscuits, cereal, yogurt, assortment of juices, coffee, etc. BW's restaurant within walking distance to hotel. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manymiles2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Defiance
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Defiance
Hampton Inn Defiance
#1 of 4 in Defiance
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Defiance
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
22.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Napoleon Inn & Suites
22.9 mi away
Quality Inn Bryan/Montpelier
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bryan-Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance
Address: 1148 Hotel Drive, US 24 & ST RD 66 ON Junction, Defiance, OH 43512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Defiance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Defiance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance is a 62 room, interior corridor hotel. Additionally, we offer 20 suites with 25 TV-HBO/ESPN. All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, a two line speaker phone with data port, refrigerator, microwave, iron, ironing board, coffeemaker and hair dryer. Our indoor pool with hot tub are open 8 am -10 pm and the exercise room is open 5 am-10 pm. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel also offers a conference room for small business meetings, as well as a business center. We offer free local phone calls as well as our famous, complimentary Express Start breakfast bar where you can sample our own world's best cinnamon roll between 6:00 am- 9:30 am . We are located close to many area attractions. Historic Sauder Village, Candycane Christmas Shop, Independence Dam just to name a few. General Motors, Johns Manville and Defiance Metal Products facilities are located nearby. The hotel is within 1 mile of many local restaurants, as well as Northtown Shopping Mall. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our professional, friendly staff looks forward to the opportunity to make your overnight accommodations satisfying and enjoyable. We go out of our way to meet and exceed each of our guest's expectations of service. Just one visit at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Defiance and you will leave with an 'at home' feeling! We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Defiance
Holiday Inn Defiance
Defiance Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing