We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
East Bethany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently stayed here when we were picking up a new puppy from a nearby breader. We were very excited about the pup so we did not get to spend much time here, but we loved the place and Ian and Yvonne (and their dog) so much that we really want to come back in the Summer time or Fall. The location is outstanding if you want country/rural with great scenery. The room was very nice, the food was great and the owners are awesome. Wish we spent more time with them. Will definitely try to get back there again!

Room Tip: Avoid the Oak Room if you are plus size like me. The shower is very tiny (like a phone booth). Every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you! Congratulations on the new addition to your home. Next time you come visit, check out one of our pet-friendly rooms in the guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
57
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Spent a night at the White oak recently while touring through central Ohio. Our room was in the guest house in the back of the property. A clean specious room, very comfortable with a REAL wood-burning fireplace. No gas, just the real thing, all set up with wood and ready to light. Big king and super comfy. Breakfast was delicious, with home made muffins, an egg souffle, and some of the best peppered bacon I've had. Yvonne and Ian are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Cell service in the area is spotty, not such a bad thing for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burger42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently spent a girls getaway weekend with 2 friends at the White Oak Inn. We had a weekend package that included 2 breakfasts and a dinner one evening. We stayed in one of the 2 newer cabins on the property, which had 1 bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room. The cabin was very clean and spacious and was stocked with water, soda and some snacks. We were told to bring our own wine, since it was a dry county and they supplied us with wine glasses and corkscrew. The cabin had a small fridge, microwave and coffeemakers. We went to the main house for the meals. The breakfasts were buffet style that weekend, with a different selection of breakfast casseroles, pastries and fruit each day along with cereal, oatmeal and muffins, etc. For dinner we had an appetizer, salad, choice of entree and dessert. We brought our own wine.
The owners were friendly and gave us several options for touring the area, depending on what we were interested in doing. The only drawback, was that there was no cell coverage on the property, actually not much in the area at all. This would not have been a problem, however, one of my friends was waiting to hear about a family member who was hospitalized and could only communicate with email or text when we were into one of the larger cities.
All in all, he grounds were lovely and the Inn's secluded location perfect to get away from "it all"!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are frequent travelers and always try to stay in local B&B's and Inn's. Our daughter is a freshman at nearby Kenyon so we found the White Oak. I am pleased to report everything was great. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfasts are amazing and the hosts cordial. Yvonne and Ian made us feel very welcome, gave us directions to avoid local construction, and helped us with future reservations. A home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browndoggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the White Oak Inn. The Innkeepers are most gracious and helpful and the place is charming, friendly, rooms are spotless and confortable and the food is delicious. I've read some unfriendly reviews here and I can't imagine how people could complain about this place. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet retreat.

Margie & Rob Thompson

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghBritlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had stayed at the inn many years ago and had always wanted to return. Ian and Yvonne (the owners) do a wonderful job running the place and go out of there way to make sure you feel welcome and have what you need. My wife and I stayed in one of their cabins last night with the two-person jacuzzi tub. We enjoyed the cabin and then the breakfast was great. The food was great and we enjoyed a really nice conversation with another couple as well as Ian and Yvonne. I was a bit surprised by the lack of cell coverage (not their fault) because I had fished and kayaked the Kokosing River close by a few months ago and I had good service while on the river. The WiFi works fine in the house if that's important to you. We talked about trying to get back there soon.

The cabin was really nice. I loved the bedding -- the sheets were ultra soft; they have a nicely stocked refrigerator with drinks and also provide other snacks in the room. There's nothing quite like splitting a bag of fresh popcorn while soaking in the jacuzzi tub!

Room Tip: IF you want a lot of privacy, go with one of the cabins. The rooms inside each have their own bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomahawk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After reading negative reviews about the Inn, I would have assumed the worst. Not the case. It was everything I had expected from the descriptions on their website. Quiet, comfortable, and in the middle of nowhere for relaxation. I travel to places such as this to get away from my mobile devices. Limited wifi? Who cares. No cell service? Who cares. My stay was most relaxing, which is why I went. Rooms cleaned daily unless you mention otherwise. My recent visit found us staying with a gentleman who had difficulty walking post surgery. His meals were brought to his room for his convenience. Now that's service! I didn't expect a tour guide for my adventures. I'm an adult and can entertain myself. Staff were friendly, and Yvonne and Ian are great with socializing and giving small history lessons on the area. My wife, and mother both enjoyed their stay similarly. Don't leave the city if you can't handle country!

Room Tip: The cottages are the quiet getaway you are looking for! Guest house also a quieter option. Main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville Knox County
23.9 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
671 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
144 reviews
24.1 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 10 in Berlin
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Landoll's Mohican Castle
#1 of 1 in Loudonville
341 reviews
22.5 mi away
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
18.8 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29683 Walhonding Rd, Danville Knox County, OH 43014-9681
Location: United States > Ohio > Danville Knox County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danville Knox County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a wooded valley in Ohio's Amish area, The White Oak Inn bed and breakfast offers a comfortable secluded retreat. Ten comfortable guest rooms and two luxurious log-cabin cottages are offered. Some rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. A full country breakfast is included in the room rate, and dinners and romantic dinner baskets for two can be ordered in advance. Our meals are carefully crafted using fresh local products whenever possible. Gluten-free, vegetarian and other special diets are cheerfully accommodated. There are plenty of recreational activities nearby, whether it's shopping in Ohio's Amish area, doing wine-tastings at local wineries, outdoor activities like canoeing, hiking or zip-lining, or just enjoying the beautiful scenery. During winter months we offer special events such as murder mysteries and dinner theater. The inn is not recommended for children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Danville Knox County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing