We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a quiet and relaxing get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Venice
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Always a quiet and relaxing get away”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This was our third time to stay at the Inn. I read some of the previous reviews and was shocked by a few of the grumpy reviews. We are very picky world travelers, who expect superior food and extreme cleanliness. Whether we have eaten dinner at the Inn or had a special meal delivered to our cabin; the meal has been absolutely delicious. The Inn and cabins are extremely clean. A big MUST for us! Each time we have stayed in the intimate cabins a short walk from the main Inn. We are very thankful this lovely hidden treasure does not allow children. We stay here because we need to get away from the world. The owners, Ian and Yvonne have always been extremely accommodating and personable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We treasure our repeat guests and appreciate when they take the time to share their experiences with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
58
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west central Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our weekend stay at the White Oak Inn included a comfortable bed, delicious meals, and friendly hosts - just what we needed to make an otherwise gray December weekend a memorable get-away.

While not a modern facility, the inn has charm galore. It's a renovated old home complete with overstuffed chairs and a sofa in the parlor and oak woodwork throughout. It does, however, show its age in the smallness of the bathroom we had in our room, but it is what you would expect for a place that has tried (and succeeded) to maintain the old style with a nod toward modern amenities - one of which was a perfectly comfortable king-size bed.

But as nice as the home was, the meals were that much better. Our breakfasts were gourmet and, while not huge, were more than adequate to get us through till lunch. And if you're so inclined, I would highly recommend you arrange to eat an evening meal there as well. Although a bit more expensive than an average restaurant meal, it far outshines anything you could get nearby. Soup, salad, entre, and dessert - all specially prepared with fresh ingredients right in the kitchen, just steps away. The aroma fills the house each afternoon, and we could not wait to dive in. And if you're lucky enough to enjoy the wonderfuil company of other guests, as we were, it makes the meal all the more enjoyable. We wanted it to go on far longer than it did, and, although we sat and ate and visited for over two hours, it seemed like a much shorter time. (Thanks to our other guests for being such interesting dining companions.)

Although not directly in the heart of the so-called Amish Country, The White Oak Inn area does not lack for things to do. Ian proudly pulls out his lists of directions for driving tours that will take you to whatever you want to do - wine, cheese, crafts, shopping. And don't be fearful if you find yourself on a narrow dirt country road. It's all part of the experience, and the winery you'll find at the end of it is well worth the few potholes you might encounter.

All in all, our weekend at The White Oak Inn was a great way to recharge our internal batteries before the hubbub of the holidays. Thank you, Ian and Yvonne, for making us feel so welcome (and well-fed) during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meschers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll join us again for another adventure in Ohio's Amish country. We're excited about the newly opened "Harvest at the Woodward", a local co-operative store opened in downtown Mount Vernon, offering locally produced goods, including farm-fresh produce, maple syrup, cheeses, fudge and candy, baked goods, organic meats and many other locally grown and made foods and handmade items,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our first visit to the inn. We actually stayed in one of the properties two Log Cabins. It was lovely, except for the terrible odor of the water. It had a little kitchenette, two person jacuzzi, king size bed and a lovely wood burning fireplace. But I found it difficult to get past the odor of the water, hence the lower rating. Inn owners said the odor "comes and goes". Other than that, breakfast both mornings was wonderful and the setting lovely. We took day trips to Longaberger Homestead & Roscoe Village.
I would recommend staying in the main Inn or the "chicken coop".

Room Tip: Choose the main Inn or the Chicken Coop versus the log cabin to avoid water odor issue unless it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlharrah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The White Oak Inn.
I apologize that you found the odor from the water unpleasant. We are working with our well company to try to identify the cause and correct it. As noted, it is not consistently there, which makes the task more challenging.
The log cabins are otherwise our most comfortable and luxurious accommodations, offering a relaxing experience with a very spacious living room and bedroom, fine linens, a stocked snack center, woodburning fireplace and two-person whirlpool tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Rooms, cousine, service and ombiance far exceeded expectations. The Inn keepers were friendly and see that every effort is made so that their guests feel welcome and comfortable. I will most certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our third time back and to say we enjoyed our selves is an under statement. The hosts and guest are always friendly. The food is more like a high end restaurant than an Inn. It was a relaxing three days that recharged our batteries. I wish I could go more often. They won't let you down.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deweyshootem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Even though we stated upon arrival that my husband is very allergic to cats, the car roamed the halls and common rooms. They did remove it, upon a second request, but it was back roaming shortly thereafter. Ian told my husband that 'the cat lives here, too.' There was no mention of cats in the house in the onlilne information. This is the first bed and breakfast we have stayed in where we were made to feel that they were doing us a favor allowing our group to stay there. We were very disappointed with the lack of hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am so very sorry that this guest felt less than fully welcome at our inn. Although it happens infrequently it's always a disappointment to us when somebody's stay fails to meet their expectations.

The Inn is our personal home and that of our pets. We understand that some people have allergies or don't like pets, so we take special care to mention their presence in several places on our website, and as part of our reservation process, so that guests are making an informed decision about whether to stay here with pets in residence. Although we will try to remove the pets on request, keeping them restrained is a very difficult task, and as these particular guests discovered, you can't explain allergies to a cat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I wish there was some way to give less than a 1 dot review because the owner of this place couldn't have been more heartless and inhospitable. When we arrived to check in after a very long day of traveling at 8:40 pm the owner lead me to the cabin I'd booked for one night's stay. All properties remotely near the amish country were booked and this place was the only available that seemed decent (although for $240/night wouldn't normally book) When my husband brought our groggy, tired, 16 month son out of the car to the cabin, the owner said "this is a problem" we don't allow children; MUCH to my surprise. She threw us out. When I asked to see the inn policy she said I had to look on my computer, so I did. It says "the INN is NOT SUITABLE for children under 12" NOT the "private" cabins which are apart from the inn/house. AND, by the way, when you agree to the terms on checkout it does not say "NO CHILDREN." When I asked how she could be so heartless and discriminate against kids, she smugly replied "children aren't protected under the law" so DO NOT patronize this place, they advertise it's close-it's not- it's at least a half hour drive from amish country and the "private" cabins are right next to each other. parking stinks too. I have never been so disgusted with a place in my entire life and I've traveled the world.

Room Tip: do not stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I'd like to thank this guest for pointing out that our inn is not suitable for families with young children. Many of our guests come here to enjoy quiet time alone together without children around. I make no apology for our policy of no children at the inn or for enforcing that policy consistently.

Although our policy about children is stated on the policies page of our website, as these guests have pointed out, it was not reiterated on our online reservation request form. I do apologize for that and will change the form to avoid future misunderstandings.

In this particular situation the guests were not forthcoming with the information that they were traveling with a toddler. When asked how many guests they answered TWO. When asked for the names of all guests they gave their own names. There was no mention of a third person or a third name, so it was a surprise to us when they arrived with a young child.

At that time we did the best we could with a difficult situation. Although the child couldn't stay here, I did offer to find them alternative accommodations and called a nearby hotel and booked them a room suitable for a family.

I'm sorry if the guest felt I was being smug when I answered her question.

I hope they enjoyed the rest of their stay in Amish country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville Knox County
23.9 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
679 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
71 reviews
13.0 mi away
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Landoll's Mohican Castle
#1 of 1 in Loudonville
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
20.7 mi away
The Inn at Dresden
The Inn at Dresden
#1 of 4 in Dresden
281 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29683 Walhonding Rd, Danville Knox County, OH 43014-9681
Location: United States > Ohio > Danville Knox County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danville Knox County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a wooded valley in Ohio's Amish area, The White Oak Inn bed and breakfast offers a comfortable secluded retreat. Ten comfortable guest rooms and two luxurious log-cabin cottages are offered. Some rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. A full country breakfast is included in the room rate, and dinners and romantic dinner baskets for two can be ordered in advance. Our meals are carefully crafted using fresh local products whenever possible. Gluten-free, vegetarian and other special diets are cheerfully accommodated. There are plenty of recreational activities nearby, whether it's shopping in Ohio's Amish area, doing wine-tastings at local wineries, outdoor activities like canoeing, hiking or zip-lining, or just enjoying the beautiful scenery. During winter months we offer special events such as murder mysteries and dinner theater. The inn is not recommended for children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Danville Knox County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing