We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVED it.”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have been to the White Oak Inn on a couple of occasions. Let's get the negative out of the way first. The upstairs was too warm for sleeping well and too many blankets on the bed. No way to easily crack a window for ventilation. The Maple room is quite small. BUT, we went back again because the positives far outweigh the negatives.
The Ash room is very spacious and quite comfortable. Other rooms we peeked into seemed large enough to be comfortable as well.
Our first visit was Thanksgiving weekend 2010. Guests were invited to bring a potluck dish and wine to share for Wednesday night. This allowed the guests to get to know each other in a friendly fashion and made it easier for the kitchen staff to concentrate on making the most bountiful buffett for Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday. EXCELLENT. This is on top of the spectacular breakfast. Do not plan a diet for this visit.
Another trip was for a Murder Mystery weekend. Guests are given a character description before and the chance to dress the part. Actors come to move the story along and it's a fun evening.
Another visit was for Nature weekend. Guests were taught about mushroom hunting and learned about the local wildlife.
Your hosts are Yvonne and Ian and they are friendly and interesting and interested in lots of things. Yvonne is an excellent chef and she's got a nice staff to assist.
I think we'll go back!

Room Tip: Maple room inconveniently small. Not easy to put your open luggage where you can get at it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
57
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great B&B, very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful location, visited surrounding areas and had a wonderful time based on Ian and Yvonne's recommendations. Delicious breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbwager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Whitoak Inn recently and were very disappointed. We came because we needed a rest, we left more stressed than ever.
We asked Ian, the Innkeeper for help on how the coffee machine worked and were very abruptly told the directions are on the side of the machine, they were not. We finally got our coffee being told by Ian to get out of his road while he sorted it out for us. We took our coffee and went out and sat on the front verandah, we couldn't get back in so Ian the Innkeeper had to let us, he was again so rude. Unfortunately we then one hour later had to go to our car and again couldn't work out the code on the front door so had to ring the doorbell again and were further admonished by Ian. Later that evening we tried to put all what had happened behind us and try to engage Ian, this was without any success. We simply did not want to stay any longer. He was not welcoming at all on our arrival either, he never introduced himself or in anyway made us comfortable, his attitude was his guests were the nuisance part of his job. We met some people in the carpark and were talking about our experience and they were able to tell us a similar story about what happened to them, they said they would never be back

The house even though its early American is tired and needs work, the bathroom was very old 60's and in serious need of an upgrade, it didn't look or feel clean, the grounds were pleasant. We didn't find the breakfast anything special in fact very ordinary just like the breakfast room itself. Some reviews said Yvonne was a good cook perhaps the dinners are better. We won't be back and hope Ian will realise he is self destructing his business by treating his guests this way. Yvonne, Ian's wife was not friendly even though we tried to get her to help us with suggestions she only gave the minimum response to us, again very disappointing. We will never recommend this B&B to anyone, it was our worst experience ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ola32070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspirational1, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
We are truly surprised and puzzled by this review. As you can see in other reviews, most of our guests comment positively on their experience at the inn and how friendly and helpful we and our staff are. Ian has no recollection of an incident where he treated a guest rudely. We wonder if these guests took remarks made in a joking manner as being serious. We sincerely apologize that they did not enjoy their experience here. We agree with their comments about the dated bathrooms in some of the inn rooms. We have been doing a number of upgrades this year and the rest of the bathrooms are on the schedule to be completed soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had purchased this package thru a living social deal and my husband and I went for our first anniversary. We stayed in a room off of the main house, which had a fireplace, cozy bed and bath. We received a welcome cheese, fruit and cracker plate and sparkling cider (dry county) apon arrival- which was delicious, as we were famished. Then the package included a dinner prepared by the host! Delicious-choice of shrimp pasta or stuffed chicken, cream of asparagus soup to start and a spinach strawberry salad, entree choice and a yummy chocolate cake. The two breakfasts were again prepared by the host, there was a spicy or sweet or you can have a little of both, which I did every day. They had things to do typed on papers with directions- we did the "eat your way through amish country" self driven tour. Good stuff! Even though it was cold and rainy the whole time, we had a wonderful time. Highly recommended if you want to be away from it all and eat well!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooner15317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My Husband and I don't typically stay at B&B's but had found a nice package deal on LivingSocial.com so decided to give it a try. Overall we had a very nice stay, and would have to say this was our third time trying a B&B and this was the first time we actually enjoyed ourselves. The inn itself is very nice, relaxing, and comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The food was good. This inn also served Dinner which was very nice. We met some wonderful people and had great conversations with other guests.

If you don't like to socialize with strangers then I would not suggest this B&B. You are placed at tables with other guests for Breakfasts and Dinners. We've stayed at other B&B's where you are able to sit away from other guests.

We did not care for the location of the Inn. It was not conveniently located to area attractions. We had to drive almost and hour to visit the well established town of Berlin to do any shopping and sight seeing. Most everything was at least 30min from the Inn. We could not get cell phone coverage at the Inn. We had to travel 30min away from the Inn to use our phones.

In addition, the Inn-keepers were very reserved and we felt uncomfortable at times asking for something or asking a question. I felt this was very strange given the type of business they are running.

Overall the location would be the reason for us not to visit again. I think we did most of what we could in the area and don't see a reason to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspirational1, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
I'm sorry that these guests felt that we were too far away from the attractions they wished to visit. Our beautiful secluded location is the reason many of our guests choose The White Oak Inn. We have many suggestions for our guests for things to see and do that are less than 30 minutes drive from the inn, including hiking trails, a canoe livery, a zip line, Amish bakeries and bulk food stores, wineries, cheese stores, Amish furniture stores, antique malls, art galleries, potteries and other artisans' studios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I decided to spend the weekend of our 40th anniversary pretty close to home. I'd heard of the White Oak Inn and, after talking to Yvonne (owner/chef), realized it would be a good option, being only about 1.5 hours from our home in Ohio.

It was perfect. The country setting was in Amish Country and Ian (Yvonne's husband), provided all kinds of driving maps and restaurant ideas. The room we chose (Cherry room) was clean and cosy. I would recommend you bring a reading/book light if you wish to read in bed, however, the lighting was not great. They keep a little fridge in the hallway outside the rooms with coke and water, as well as a basket with salty treats (chips, Frito's, etc.). In the living room there were always home-made cookies and wonderful coffees on hand.

The best part was the food, which I hadn't given much thought to beforehand. Turns our Yvonne is a registered chef and the meals were unbelievable. We spent a lot of time overseas--particularly Paris--and I would put her food up against any of that we've enjoyed anywhere.

Our vacation package included 2 nights, 2 breakfasts and one 4-course dinner. All the meals were fabulous! Oh, and on the night that didn't include dinner we were given a fruit/meat/cheese plate. A lovely plate of chocolates was delivered to our room at night, as well.

We will most likely make this an annual event. Maybe next time we'll try one of the guest cottages or the log cabin...

Room Tip: Call directly and speak to Ian or Yvonne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPJ515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This was a lovely bed & breakfast in a very private setting. This is close enough to Amish Country but yet not close to the hustle and bustle. The food was excellent and the innkeepers were able to help with anything you needed

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angieflu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville Knox County
23.9 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
615 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
281 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
109 reviews
24.1 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 10 in Berlin
302 reviews
13.0 mi away
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Landoll's Mohican Castle
#1 of 1 in Loudonville
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29683 Walhonding Rd, Danville Knox County, OH 43014-9681
Location: United States > Ohio > Danville Knox County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danville Knox County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a wooded valley in Ohio's Amish area, The White Oak Inn bed and breakfast offers a comfortable secluded retreat. Ten comfortable guest rooms and two luxurious log-cabin cottages are offered. Some rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. A full country breakfast is included in the room rate, and dinners and romantic dinner baskets for two can be ordered in advance. Our meals are carefully crafted using fresh local products whenever possible. Gluten-free, vegetarian and other special diets are cheerfully accommodated. There are plenty of recreational activities nearby, whether it's shopping in Ohio's Amish area, doing wine-tastings at local wineries, outdoor activities like canoeing, hiking or zip-lining, or just enjoying the beautiful scenery. During winter months we offer special events such as murder mysteries and dinner theater. The inn is not recommended for children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Danville Knox County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing