We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be updated a bit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cuyahoga Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I know this is in a town that has not much around it, so there's only so much to expect. When you walk in it is absolutely beautiful -- completely different from the outside.

There were a few cons with the rooms: (we stayed in a king bed suite).
CONS:
1. There was no fan in the bathroom, so as soon as someone did their business, you could tell from inside the room.
2. The light for our bathroom/shower room was OUTSIDE of the bathroom itself. Someone would accidentally turn off the light in the vanity room (when the vanity room's light was outside by the main front entry door) and leave me in the dark!
3. There was only a trash can in the vanity room. Not one in the bathroom itself -- and ladies, we dont always want to take our normal "products" out there to throw away (or that's just me). -- granted it was a move able can.
4. The ONLY outlet in the bedroom was behind the TV. We looked for places to plug our phone into by the nightstands-- and it seemed to be behind the headboard and too difficult to move. Most places have something behind the nightstand or directly on the nightstand.
5. There is a train that runs right next door every few hours, even throughout the night. It woke me up once (reminded me a scene from My Cousin Vinny), but there isn't much you can do about that. It's how the town is.


But I will leave this hotel with some pros, because there were some great things:
1. They have THE most comfortable beds. I seriously slept the entire night with no problems (except the train).
2. The river view room we stayed in was absolutely gorgeous. The Cuyahoga River view was enough to overshadow the train. Can't beat the view.
3. The staff was very friendly.
4. They have a little gift shop in case you forget your odds and ends (although most places leave a list saying they could bring those things to you complimentary). But they also had snacks in case you were hungry.
5. We ate at the restaurant... which was phenomenal, again with a river view. Later we attended a cocktail party for engaged friends and they did so well setting it up!


Overall, this is a great hotel. It would be absolutelg perfect if they fixed the minor aforementioned things-- except for the train because we know there's nothing you can do about that.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerfromOhLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

TravelerfromOhLand, thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy so many amenities of our property, from our comfortable beds to our restaurant and banquet facilities. We are always looking for ways to improve our facility to allow the most comfort and convenience for our guests and appreciate the details you provided in your review on ways we can look to improve. We hope that these discrepancies did not leave you with any disappointment in your stay and look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Northeast Ohio area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 459 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

You have rockin- on-the-river close by with great music , good food, and plenty of choices to drink. The businesses along the river are still open and you can not miss clock works, I bought my Howard miller Grandfather clock there.

Room Tip: Try to get over looking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-Renee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Mark-Renee, I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy so many wonderful attractions during your recent stay that are in walking distance from our front doors! Rockin' on the River has always been a local favorite and I am pleased you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful first time experience at the Sheraton Suites in September for a certification course. Staying 9 days in total, I have only compliments towards the staff for their friendliness and excellent service throughout my time there. Lovely dining with wonderful menu options and amazing food. Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Sarah, thank you so much for sharing such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our staff and restaurant throughout your extended stay. We look forwards to welcoming you back in the future when your travels bring you to the Northeast Ohio area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed in many Sheraton locations, this Akron Cuyahoga Falls Sheraton falls short of what is expected from their room rate. This is the worst Sheraton we have stayed in.

Before booking online, we sent the hotel emails to the email address posted on their website inquiring about a bereavement rate. The hotel never responded, so we had to call the hotel from overseas. Unfortunately, Sheraton Akron does not offer a Bereavement Rate, they do offer stays with points, although the hotel's points rate is overpriced as well.

Our family flew in from overseas for a family emergency, we were put in a room on the 5th floor facing the loud, blaring trains. During the middle of the night the trains, most noticeably at 4AM began honking obnoxiously, continuously throughout the night. We were told that the trains must honk to alert the cars on the road. However, the streets in that area are deserted in the middle of the night.

When we requested a room change we were not offered a Platinum SPG upgrade, we were offered the room across the hallway, facing away from the trains. The side of the hotel without their "river" view is much quieter, allowing an exhausted, international guest to actually get some sleep.

The condition of the rooms was also surprising considering their room rate. Wall paper was peeling, we found hair stuck in the hair dryer from the previous guest, the bathroom fixtures are in desperate need of replacement, the furniture could be updated. Overall the entire hotel appeared dated. We were very surprised and disappointed.

Unfortunately, Sheraton Akron is the only SPG property in the area. The next time we are in town, we will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Stay here only if you are desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

TravelMom, let me begin by thanking you for choosing the Sheraton Suites/Akron Cuyahoga Falls and for your loyalty as an SPG member. We do offer a bereavement rate, however, the discount is based upon availability and we regret that it was not available during your stay. Our SPG point redemption level has been set by corporate as a Category 3 so while we do offer SPG members the opportunity to redeem points for an overnight stay, we do not have control over how many points are required. By law, trains must sound their horn when passing through our city regardless of time of day, we apologize that the noise disturbed your stay but are pleased we were able to move you to an away facing room. We have passed along your comments to our Chief Engineer and Housekeeping Manager and they are disappointed in the way your room was presented to you. We always hope to provide a relaxing a restful experience for all of our guests, especially during their time of distress. If you wish to discuss this in detail, I welcome you to contact our Director of Guest Services, Elizabeth Straigis at (330) 929-3000 or estraigis@sheratonakron.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Hotel is a great place with some great views of the river. Food was good at the hotel restaurant and hotel service was great.
There is one down side to the hotel if you are on the Falls side. "The Trains" run all night across the freeway from the hotel and there is a street crossing there so you hear the train's warning horn all night. Give up the view and stay on the other side.

Room Tip: Don't stay on river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

VicNa, I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our river views, new restaurant and service. According to federal regulations, trains must sound their horns at the crossing which we are located in close proximity too. We always appreciate guest feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I've stayed in a few hotels in the Cleveland/Akron area and this is by far my favorite. The service is always top notch and responsive. The suites are spacious and clean. And having gotten used to staying in the city its nice to have free parking. Did I mention free WiFI as well?

I highly recommend a high floor/river view, you get the nice sounds of flowing water when you open your window. The room service had decent food but like all room service it is expensive.

Location is in the heart of Cuyahoga Falls which is a really nice area although you have to drive if you want to get anywhere.

I'll probably be back here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohhneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

ohhneill, I want to thank you for your loyalty to our property. I am pleased to learn that our team has exceeded your expectations and that you have been able to enjoy some of our amenities such as free WiFi and free parking. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls as your go-to hotel in the Northeast Ohio area. We look forward to welcoming you for your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. Stayed for a wedding. While the facility is beautiful the trains passing thru town at night woke us up many times each night. Seems like they should be able to have different glass in the windows or something that would help to block those nightly train whistles. Beautiful place but certainly not a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskadreamer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Alaskadreamer, thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls during the recent wedding celebration. I appreciate the candor of your review as we take all of our guest comments into consideration when improving our hotel. We are working with the federal government to make the area around our property a quiet zone. Unfortunately, this process can take time. We do have rooms on the city side of our hotel that are not as affected by the train as the river view. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Cuyahoga River facing rooms and hope that you offer us a future opportunity to serve you the next time you are in Northeast Ohio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuyahoga Falls
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#2 of 5 in Fairlawn
560 reviews
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Akron-Stow-Cuyahoga Falls
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Stow
Hampton Inn Stow
#1 of 4 in Stow
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls

Address: 1989 Front St, Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221-3867
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cuyahoga Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cuyahoga Falls
Price Range: $158 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Hotel Akron/Cuyahoga Falls is located only minutes away from northeast Ohio's most popular leisure and business attractions. We are the area's most established full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls Hotel Cuyahoga Falls
Sheraton Hotel Akron
Sheraton Cuyahoga Falls
Cuyahoga Falls Sheraton
Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing