We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite the worst experience with a hotel....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Akron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Akron
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Copley
Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite the worst experience with a hotel....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Do not stay here. We booked a king nonsmoking and they gave us a two double bed room. I wish we had gone elsewhere. There was:
- dog or cat hair all over the air conditioner
- a huge divot and stains in the carpet
- broken chest of drawers
- a filthy sink
- what looked like either a poop stain or a blood stain on the sheets
- cigarette burns in the bedding
- the bed did not fit the frame and consequently one side was an inch and a half higher than the other
- carpet pulling away from the wall
- the clothes rack was rusted out and bent
- it smelled
And that was just the room. The exterior looks like there were cracks on the underside of the second floor balcony.
This is a $10 a night room, and I paid waaaaayyyyy too much.

Room Tip: Don't come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildlycurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    8
    5
    17
See reviews for
7
5
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This Hotel is the worst place to stay ever..if it had not been for driving all day and evening and being so tired..my Husband and I would have left..all we did was sleep..shower and leave..that is all this Hotel is good for. We had to change rooms because the first one was unbearable..filthy sheets and bedspreads..used Q tips behind night stand. Second room not much better. Stains on walls TV did not work..trash all along the outside of the Hotel..and on top of that People standing around outside doing drugs...I do not recommend this hotel to anyone !!!!!!!! Horrible Filthy Place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Chose this motel because the Econolodge next door was sooo bad the last time I was in Akron. Upon entering the room the stench hit you in the face. It looked like they threw some furniture into a bare room. No pictures on the wall. The clothes rack was falling off of the wall. There were two TINY towels hanging loosely in the bathroom and the light didn't work. The top of the desk had been moved next to the bed to serve as a night stand. The bed spread was worn and my wife and I decided to use our own blankets. Then we found the pubic hairs in the bed and cigarette burns on the lower blankets. That's when we went to the office for another room. The one they sent us too was worse with a heavy smell of urine hitting us in the face as we entered. We cancelled our reservations for our return trip and got a refund. They did that very well as if they were experienced with this. This place was creepy and reminded us as a flop house for hookers and very tired construction workers. Maybe the worse excuse for a motel I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Oh wow... if you bought a Chevy and it's didn't have a Ferrari engine would you complain?

This place is what it is. It's a motel for the cheap. Everything is cheap - pillows, beds, etc. It's a place to shower, shave, sleep, and leave.

Yeah, it smelled a little bit weird. Did you know you get used to smells within 7-9 minutes? You know what, forget it. Take an extra $40 and go across the street to Holiday Inn. While you're smelling your room I'll take that $40 and buy breakfast and gas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Smack dab in the middle of the shopping district. Surrounded by big box stores of every description. Nice room, good price. Management wants you happy, makes you feel like they're glad you came. Movie theater across the parking lot. Next door to Cracker Barrel and Bob Evans Restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice rooms. Staff is nice. Only one housekeeper spoke English and she worked the other rooms so it was kinda tough trying to tell my housekeepers what I needed each day though they were nice. Having to mime to them got kinda old though. One day I heard one of the housekeepers that doesn't speak English slip up and actually speak English to the other housekeeper, but I just didn't say anything about it cause I could have been mistaken. The location was nice, right beside a movie theater, home depot, and toys r us. Sometimes the internet would mess up and I would have to walk my laptop down to the office to get connection then go back to my room. No real problems though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in a room on the second floor a month back with my boyfriend. Our general impression was that it was a decent sized room with what you expected for the price but we felt very nervous about the shady characters who were staying in the motel on the first floor. There were people hanging outside of the motel rooms with doors opened and always eyeballing us as we walked by - which made us feel very insecure about our belongings and car. The security latch on the door was also broken, like the door had been forced open.

Although the staff seemed friendly enough and the room was clean, I would not stay here again and risk my safety (and we have not since booked a Motel 6).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copley
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Copley Akron
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Copley Akron
Super 8 Copley Akron
#2 of 11 in Copley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Copley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Akron Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Akron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Akron

Property: Motel 6 Akron
Address: 99 Rothrock Road, Copley, OH 44321 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > Ohio > Copley
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Copley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Akron 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Akron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Akron
Akron Motel Six
Akron Motel 6
Motel 6 Akron Copley, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing